We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as 31 years ago”
Review of Der Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Furstenhof
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

31 years ago I used to travel to Kempten for business and always stayed at the Der Furstenhof. I thought it was a great hotel then, I thought it was great this time around as well. The customer service was warm and welcoming and the hotel location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 4 rooms booked during our road trip of Europe and we just chose this hotel as this was on the way and had secure parking, arriving in a car to the town was easy but this hotel is in middle of the town and we had to ask the locals for direction, the town is very charming and the hotel is housed in a very old historic building which is beautiful to look at. The car parking is in the basement and though a bit tight to drive in has got space for few cars. The rooms are the biggest we have ever stayed in and our children could run around which they normally don't tend to get in most hotels. The breakfast was good and the town had few restaurants to dine in. overall it was an good choice in a nice town.

Room Tip: the room on the top floor is teh biggest and is spread over 2 floors, it is the size of a 3 bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fira31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found it after a drive around town after a long drive from Venice. What a contrast! Kempten is a charming and welcoming place and the welcome from the hotel staff was in keeping. The room was big and well appointed. With a bath - oh joy! Very quiet and overlooking a pedestrianised area. The lift noise was a bit obtrusive but not troubling. While on the downside, there was a problem with the bath draining away - water came up through the drain thingy in the bathroom floor. Not good, but can happen in an old(er) building. On the upside, the breakfast room is beautiful and the food itself is splendid and more than adequate. Overall, we'd be very happy to stay there again and in fact we're keen to explore the town and the whole area knowing we'd have somewhere comfortable to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Fuerstenhof for my 25th college reunion. Loved being in the center of the city. My room was very large, the size of a nice size NYC studio and the bathroom very spacious. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. For American travellers: There is no ice machine on the property, but staff will fetch you some for your room upon request. The breakfast is excellent and the on-site restaurant is a good choice for dinner. Some rooms are located above the outdoor seating area of the restaurant, so if you are travelling in the warmer months and prefer a quiet room, ask for a room facing another direction. Definately recommend this property to any Kempten traveller and hope I will get to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We made a mistake on our reservation date so arrived without one. Hotel staff was very nice and found us a room, which was large and comfortable, with extremely high ceilings and a large bathroom. Underground parking is available. The breakfast was good, with a classic selection of European as well as American items. Staff spoke English as well as German. Everything was clean and comfortable. As the location is on the central square, it is an easy walk to shopping and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! After reading some mediocre reviews of this middle-class hotel, I was in for a very pleasant surprise. My room was beautifully furnished in classic furniture, large by European standards and spotlessly clean. The tiles of the large bathroom were less stylish, but who can change tiles anyway each time the fashion changes? What counts is that they respected my wish for a quiet room and that all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is beautiful and the buffet was excellent, way above average with all my favorite foods and brands.
We had dinner at the Altstadtwirtschaft, which is in the basement, but has tables set up on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. The steak was delicious and the Mediterranean vegetables and Rosemary potatoes cooked to perfection. The choice was beverages was very good, yet the price level a little high for middle-class.
The only draw-back of this hotel seems to be its immediate proximity to a supermarket, which gets its deliveries at 6.30 a.m.. Make sure you get a quiet room (e.g. 209) which is directed the other way but expect to hear the noise of the delivery truck anyway. Get yourself some ear plus and perhaps an eye shade as the thick curtains cannot guarantee complete darkness in the room. But this is a historic building and we will have to live with the fact that no modern shutters can be installed. If you can live with that this hotel makes for great place to spend a nighjt or two in the historic center of Kempten.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On our long drive from Austria to Zurich we decided to spend one night in Kempten. The hotel is located in the center of Kempten, very easy to reach by car and also to get back on the main highway. Its an old renovated building. Large rooms and very spacious, with big beds and a large bathroom. The room was spotless, the reception staff is tremendously helpful. The breakfast was good with a large selection of things to eat. We paid 82 euros for the room, and an extra 4.5 euros for the garage which is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Although the huge windows face the pedestrian area it was nice and quiet. Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempten hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peterhof
Hotel Peterhof
#2 of 9 in Kempten
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
BigBOX Hotel
BigBOX Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kempten
179 reviews
1 mi away
Landhotel Hirsch
Landhotel Hirsch
#6 of 9 in Kempten
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 9 in Kempten
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
myParkhotel Kempten
myParkhotel Kempten
#9 of 9 in Kempten
47 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#5 of 9 in Kempten
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Furstenhof

Address: Rathausplatz 8, 87435 Kempten, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Kempten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kempten
Price Range: $62 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Der Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Furstenhof Kempten, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing