We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and Close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldene Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Sonne
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Landshut
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and Close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wow !!! I felt like a Queen at this place ! It is so beautiful, clean and everything was just so wonderful here ! I Loved It !!!! We toured the castle during the day. Then walked around the town at night and even went to a pub just down the street for a nightcap. The Brunch the next day was the most amazing spread I have ever seen anywhere! It felt like a honeymoon trip for me here at this Hotel. I wish the Dinner had been served later though. The restaurant was closing when we finally got ready to eat.

Room Tip: I liked our room facing the street where I could still see the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    67
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
51
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is as close as you can get to the Christmas Market. The only problem we had was that our non smoking room smelled strongly of smoke. The housekeeper did her best to mitigate the odor. But for the smoking problem, I would definitely have given the Goldene Sonne an excellent rating. It is in old town and about a five minute walk from the bus stop on Alstadt. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent English is spoken by most of the staff. The room was extremely quiet with no street noise or adjacent room noise. Our room (the cheapest available) was large and spotless clean. Our double bed was two twins jammed together with separate covers. Unlike many hotels in historic buildings, this one had an elevator. The room was well lit with a movable standing lamp which made reading in bed or at the desk easy. The bathroom was large and well lit. The bathroom was perfectly designed for grooming. I think a frequent traveler must have designed the bathroom' There was a large tv with many channels, however none were in English. The breakfast was very good with a huge bread selection, cold cuts, salads, weiss wurst, and scrambled eggs or with ham. The eggs were the best I've had in a restaurant. There was not a large quantity food brought at one time, however it was replenished frequently ensuring freshness. They had very good coffee and brought you a whole pot. Decaf coffee was available on request. There was a 15 Euro charge a week (daily rate was cheaper) for the wifi which was fast and with a good signal. There was an internet terminal in the lobby which was free. If in Landshut again (likely), I will book this hotel if available.

Room Tip: A room away from the street is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huaschalocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

It was my first experience with german hotel. And the first expression, thanks to goldenne sonne was just great! Nice rooms, very good and pleasant staff, delicious kitchen (have never seen so many kinds of bread at one place and each of them were amazing! Consider the fact that I have no comparison with other german hotels I evaluated it as "very good". I'm going there soon again so I could have better opportunity to compare the hotel with others but anyway, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Babur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, great town and nice people. We spent a night in the Golden Sonne and it was just lovely. Nice choice of restaurants nearby, and a nice historic town to walk around. We only spent a night there but we had a nice memory.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenofrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

For €140 per night my single bedded room was hot noisy and small with low ceiling! Bathroom too small for a big guy. Window looked out onto a roof 3 m away so no view. Woken at 3.30am by hotel guests singing outside in bar area.
Both days breakfast buffet was devastated and only replaced after many requests.
Front desk response to every enquiry was it's not possible. Only after lot of persuasion did we get solutions.
Unfriendly staff who didn't want to help.
Location is good if we want to be in centre of town.
Expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We received one of the last rooms. It was on the 3rd floor. Beautiful! : ) Decor was fantastic! The bed clean and comfortable. Everyone very nice to me even though I don't speak hardly any of their language. My sweetheart does, so he got the room. Just an incredible place. The breakfast/brunch in the morning was so amazing with fruits, juices, eggs, fish, cheeses, sausages, breads and pastries. I wish they had a pub area that stayed open late, but we walked to one not too far away. Great town also. We enjoyed every minute here.

Room Tip: It was very quiet at night. Even with the cobblestone roads below. we had a room facing the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great hotel, rooms a little small but comfortable enough. Great staff and a good menu with amazing Bavarian food. A great buffet at breakfast too.
Located in the centre of town so a good base with lots of local things to see and do. Highly recommended if visiting this area.
Only minus for me was no gym or pool, but easy safe running on the roads.
Nice fast Internet.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 200William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Landshut hotels
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Marktschlosschen
0.3 mi away
Michel Hotel Landshut
Michel Hotel Landshut
#16 of 17 in Landshut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Fuerstenhof
Romantik Hotel Fuerstenhof
#3 of 17 in Landshut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stadthotel Herzog Ludwig
Stadthotel Herzog Ludwig
#6 of 17 in Landshut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lifestyle
Hotel Lifestyle
#5 of 17 in Landshut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Meridian
Hotel Meridian
#11 of 17 in Landshut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Sonne

Property: Hotel Goldene Sonne
Address: Neustadt 520, 84028 Landshut, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Landshut
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Landshut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldene Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldene Sonne is situated in Landhut's traditional historic centre, and with its proximity to Munich and Regensburg it offers the perfect base for your holiday or business trip to Bavaria. Enjoy the unique combination of Bavarian atmosphere and modern comforts in our classic hotel. The Baier family, who have cordially dedicated themselves to the management of our hotel for over 90 years, look forward to welcoming you, and with Bavarian hospitality and personal insider tips, will ensure that you have a perfect stay. Indulge yourself in the Bavarian delicacies of the stylish restaurant's gourmet cuisine, and enjoy the idyllic beer garden in the courtyard during the summer months. The Hotel Goldene Sonne, with its 60 rooms and suites, and with its four function rooms, can also offer you the perfect setting for all manner of events - for meetings, family celebrations, or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldene Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldene Sonne Landshut, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing