We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views from room!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goldene Sonne
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Landshut
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Views from room!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We received one of the last rooms. It was on the 3rd floor. Beautiful! : ) Decor was fantastic! The bed clean and comfortable. Everyone very nice to me even though I don't speak hardly any of their language. My sweetheart does, so he got the room. Just an incredible place. The breakfast/brunch in the morning was so amazing with fruits, juices, eggs, fish, cheeses, sausages, breads and pastries. I wish they had a pub area that stayed open late, but we walked to one not too far away. Great town also. We enjoyed every minute here.

Room Tip: It was very quiet at night. Even with the cobblestone roads below. we had a room facing the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
51
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great hotel, rooms a little small but comfortable enough. Great staff and a good menu with amazing Bavarian food. A great buffet at breakfast too.
Located in the centre of town so a good base with lots of local things to see and do. Highly recommended if visiting this area.
Only minus for me was no gym or pool, but easy safe running on the roads.
Nice fast Internet.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose to stay in Landshut as its the home town of friends of ours and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to see the area around Munich as well as Munich. It is a quaint town with the most amazing buildings, really well preserved. There is a castle on the hill which makes for a lovely back drop and its nice to look around.

The Goldene Sonne is an excellent hotel in the centre of town near all the shops and restaurants. The hotel is an ancient building but has been very well maintained and has good quality furnishings and well appointed bathrooms. The cleanliness was perfect, the bathrooms looked brand new they were kept so clean. We had a junior suite so there was a bed and sofa area so there was lots of room, which was good for us travelling with a cot. We used a double room when we first arrived and it was quite small, there wouldn't have been room for a cot in that room. On that subject we arrived at 8am and they let us use the double room until we could get into our suite, we were able to shower and use the beds which would have been a lot of work for them in terms of re cleaning the room. We were very grateful having got off of a long overseas flight. The staff all spoke very good English and were very friendly. The breakfast is amazing, one of the best spreads I've ever seen. There is a restaurant out the back and that was very atmospheric.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Service very friendly at check in.
Small elevator to the rooms.
No ceiling fan or airconditioner. Asked for fan which was brought to room immediately.
Room faced the front of the hotel which has a cobbled stone road.
Very noisy when cars travel past even with window closed.
Windows wide open and still too little air.
Very small rooms. Would not be comfortable with two people.
Two single beds pushed together.
Mattress very soft.
Safe in room.
Curtains do not block out the light from the street, so room very light at night.
Bathroom tight. Shower stall only for the not too large person otherwise could be difficult to fit in. Shower head can be removed from cradle and used as handshower. Hand soap dispenser. Shower gel dispenser in shower.
Not enough light in room. No light on ceiling. You need to utilize all standing lamps to create sufficient light.
Spotlessly clean.
Conveniently situated in city centre and within easy access of Altstadt street which has plenty of cafes, restaurants etc.
At the back of the hotel you can find a courtyard where they serve food and drink. Very pleasant, surrounded by trees and very tranquil.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard. Very quiet there and much darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location. With good service from people who care.
Just off the street 500 metres from the old town with off road parking, a terrace deck area for eating and drinking
Well maintained and clean hotel with pleasant but not large bedrooms. Lovely comfortable bed

three minors in my room.
empty soft stuffing less pillow
thin towels
No air con

Would stay again
Would ask for better pillows, and air con

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good food - good breakfast. Decent rooms and bathrooms. Awesome location - right near Christmas Market, restaurants, and shopping. Helpful staff. Has elevators. Highly recommend it. Very historic hotel with lots of antiques. Christmas Market was VERY crowded!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyNurseElPaso_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is situated in the center off the old city and in walking distance from the cities main attractions. Landshut is a very nice city in a real old fashion Bavarian style. I would recommend it.
You have a excellent Italian restaurant not far and also a nice kaffeehaus with kaffee und kuchen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Landshut hotels
0.3 mi away
Michel Hotel Landshut
Michel Hotel Landshut
#14 of 17 in Landshut
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Fuerstenhof
Romantik Hotel Fuerstenhof
#2 of 17 in Landshut
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Isar-Residenz
City Hotel Isar-Residenz
#4 of 17 in Landshut
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altstadthotel Marktschlosschen
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Weihenstephaner-Stuben
9.8 mi away
Hotel Worth
Hotel Worth
#7 of 17 in Landshut
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Sonne

Property: Hotel Goldene Sonne
Address: Neustadt 520, 84028 Landshut, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Landshut
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Landshut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldene Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldene Sonne is situated in Landhut's traditional historic centre, and with its proximity to Munich and Regensburg it offers the perfect base for your holiday or business trip to Bavaria. Enjoy the unique combination of Bavarian atmosphere and modern comforts in our classic hotel. The Baier family, who have cordially dedicated themselves to the management of our hotel for over 90 years, look forward to welcoming you, and with Bavarian hospitality and personal insider tips, will ensure that you have a perfect stay. Indulge yourself in the Bavarian delicacies of the stylish restaurant's gourmet cuisine, and enjoy the idyllic beer garden in the courtyard during the summer months. The Hotel Goldene Sonne, with its 60 rooms and suites, and with its four function rooms, can also offer you the perfect setting for all manner of events - for meetings, family celebrations, or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Goldene Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Goldene Sonne Landshut, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing