We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a night stop-over”
Review of Villa Mercede

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mercede
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We only had one night in Frascati, so whilst we love old, traditional, quirky accommodation, we wanted something very "easy". We'd been travelling and so wanted a good. powerful shower and a very comfortable bed in a room that was spotless. Hotel Villa Mercede, about 1km down the hill from Frascati historical centre, ticked all the boxes - and more. If you want something with a bit of character, first impressions as you pull into the car park can be a bit disappointing. It looks very new (a plus point of you want modern) & does look as if it might lack character. However, once we checked in, we were delighted. Perfect for an overnight stay. Everything we had wanted was there - including a very big shower. The bed definitely stands out as one of the most comfortable on our current trip - and havng travelled a lot in Italy over the last few weeks, we've slept in a lot of Italian beds.The hotel has a pool and an outside terrace - it was a hot afternoon in late September & we took advantage of the pool still being open, followed by an ice-cream & a vino from the bar located right next to the hotel. The gelateri had an extensive choice and is clearly a destination for locals, because as we sat relaxing, there was a steady stream of families & couples arriving, buying ice-cream & driving off. The hotel is about 1km from the centre of town - although it is uphill on the way there, it's not steep and the compensation is that it's downhill on the way back. All in all, a great find for a short stop over in a beautiful city in the hills above Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 520 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good position outside town and perfect for visits to Rome; get the train and see the amazing ancient viaduct on the approach to Rome. On the other hand, the platform at 'Centrale' for the return journey is like that one in Hogwarts - you have to be in the know to find it, and you need to be fit too, as it is a good quarter of a mile walk along the platform before you get to the train.
The hotel is attractive, set back from the road, and has comfortable lounge areas with plenty of seating. The staff generally (with one exception!) are lovely and can't do enough for you. Superior rooms are small, clean and modern, the bed very, very, very comfortable, bathroom fine and toiletries OK but bring your own shampoo. Great views from rooms at the back - across the pool to Rome in the misty (smoggy!) distance... BUT apart from the very few (3 or 4) rooms with terraces there are no balconies, so a secluded read in the sunshine is impossible. The pool area is lovely, they provide towels and have a tiny ice bucket of a bar, but ... and this is an even bigger 'BUT!!!' the musak is terrible and so loud we used our beach towels to cover the speakers - which just about made it irritating rather than exasperating. This musak is everywhere outside and in, with the blessed exception of the room. A huge let down in such a lovely hotel.
Be prepared for a pool party or other event several times a week, this may affect your enjoyment if you have a room near the pool.
Breakfast is very good, with a large range of different foods, fresh pastries and home-made cakes, several different breads, at least 4 different juices, fresh fruit, a choice of milk, incuding soya milk. Hot breakfast is always scrambled egg and "bacon", boiled eggs are usually hard boiled and cold. Coffee absolutely delicious! If you love cereal you may want to bring your own as the choice and quality wasn't that good.
The attached gelateria is good, the ice cream better than anything in town. There were small and very tasty, freshly made pasta and pizza snacks as well as sandwiches. We often bought lunch and water as well as coffee and ice cream - the prices are surprisingly reasonable for Italy let alone for an Italian hotel.
However (another big 'but', I'm afraid), the restaurant for dinner is dreadful. The regular menu is uninspired, it is expensive and it is cooked poorly. If you must go to the restaurant, try to go on fish night and have the fresh fish. And if you are a Brit and book a window table expect to be bumped off if any locals walk in - this happened to us without a word of apology.
Eat in town as the restaurants are good. Try the little open air trattoria set up every evening in squares and on the walls outside the main town centre, you will be served large portions of food of excellent quality and meet some truly wonderful people.The shuttle service from the hotel to town was a real boon and the walk back is downhill. If you have children or are a bit wobbly on your feet then get a taxi back as the surface is cobbled and broken and the roads are dangerous to cross.
We would go back, Frascati is lovely and the hotel overall is good, but we hope the musak stops!

Room Tip: Ask for 'Rome' view. Absolutely beautiful - especially late at night.If you want a terrace b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anni27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night before a morning flight from Ciampino airport. (allow 30 mins to get there in a car) The hotel is modern, attractive and clean with parking and an ice cream bar, which went down well with our children! Great breakfast in a dining room with an amazing view out over Rome. What made our stay lovely was the staff who were all so kind to our children (3 and 10 months.) They have a shuttle bus into Frascati town centre and sent it to come and collect us too. A great spot for a pre Ciampino flight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberatedlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Do not let depression get you once you get in front of the hotel and see the casino advertisement on the left, the hotel is actually quite functional, neat and with friendly staff. The restaurant is excellent with an amazing view of Rome in the distance, the rooms are spacious and with very modern bathroom fixtures, and value for money is quite excellent. It's only 10 minutes walk downhill from the train station, so unless you have heavy luggage you can actually manage

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A clean, modern hotel. Spacious air conditioned room with large comfortable bed. If you have a mind there's a pool, casino, restaurant and coffee bar. Very professionally run with helpful staff and good English.
Overall there is nothing to dislike about the hotel. It ticks all the boxes and has a shuttle bus (running a limited service) for visiting the town or getting to the station.
The only downside is its location at the bottom of a longish hill with cobbled pavements. Not so bad going down but could be tricky for the less mobile.
Will use again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffWLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a first trip to Frascati and I initially chose this hotel due to its local--it is a 40 min train ride to Rome and a wonderful spot away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel was beyond my expectations! My room was lovely, and immaculately maintained each day of my 7 day stay! It was quiet and everything was maintained exceptionally well. The staff was fantastic--from the ladies that maintained the rooms, to the reception desk (especially Stefano Roberto) and the gelateria (especially Claudia)which adjoins the hotel and has great coffee,fantastic gelato, early morning delicious pastries, fast service, and lots of smiles. From needing to borrow an electrical adapter, to helping me find my way both in the community and elsewhere, all requests were met with a smile, professionalism and always solutions. It was very impressive that their service was so personal that even after a couple days, I was addressed by name and room number; in a busy world, many do not take the time or interest to make it a personal experience--Villa Mercede is an exception. The pool is lovely, the restaurant filled with luscious food. My stay was a huge contribution to a great experience in Italy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Augifurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a recent wedding in Frascati for a weekend. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk (up a hill!) to the town centre and rail station.

Its apparently a fairly new hotel and the room we received was clean and seemed new. It was a small room though, as well as a tiny bathroom, but as we were not there much, it suited us. We were based on the bottom floor so it perhaps felt somewhat like a basement at times, especially with bars on the windows! We were close to the pool area as well which was noisy throughout the night.

We were able to checkin early which we were impressed with (although the bedsheets were wet when we first got to the room so they may have been put on the bed in haste!). There is the option of breakfast for 9euro per person - I really wouldn't bother. There wasn't much choice, the queues were long and the food average. Instead, go to the adjoining coffee and gelato bar where you can have wonderful coffee and pastries for a total of 4 euros for two people! Also worth noting is that the rooms do not have an iron and no ironing room in the hotel, so you have to rely on the hotels laundry service to iron a shirt etc...a tad annoying if you have a wedding/event to go to!

Hotel staff were friendly and happy to arrange taxis for you or offer directions. My main issue was the noise at night. It may have been just that weekend, or the hotel staff were not aware, but the noise of other guests coming in drunk (dont get me wrong, I'd had plenty myself but managed not to screech!), shouting down the coridoors, messing by the pool, was awful and really meant that we had no decent nights sleep - that combined with the air conditioning not being very good, didn't leave us very rested at all. That said, perhaps hotel management did not notice. Another very tiny point and more as a word to the hotel then anything else - we couldnt work out how to phone reception from our room! There were no numbers on anything so we ended up walking down if we needed anything!

Overall, this is a nice modern hotel with friendly staff at reasonable prices. Ideal if you want to be close to the city centre but far enough out to enjoy the scenery (the views from the pool area really are amazing). I think it was perhaps just the noisy guests that ruined it slightly for me but do not let that put you off this hotel as we enjoyed our stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area if you like a quiet nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLH425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
1.0 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonna
Hotel Colonna
#3 of 14 in Frascati
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cacciani
Hotel Cacciani
#6 of 14 in Frascati
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mercede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercede

Address: Via Tuscolana 20, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Frascati
#1 Business Hotel in Frascati
#7 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: $71 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mercede 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heated outdoor pool and an elegant restaurant are on offer at Villa Mercede, set on the slopes of the Castelli Romani area. It is just 10 km from Rome's GRA ring road and a 15-minute drive from Ciampino Airport. Parking is free.All rooms at Hotel Villa Mercede are equipped with air conditioning, and a private bathroom with bath or shower. Rooms offer free Wi-Fi and an LCD TV with satellite channels.The entire hotel was refurbished in October 2011.Guests can relax in the sun terrace with outdoor swimming pool, open all year long. A free shuttle to Frascati Train Station and the city centre is available upon request.Breakfast is a sweet and savoury buffet, including homemade pastries. Restaurant Là cucina con vista is open every day for lunch and dinner, and specialises in high-quality cuisine. Meals are served in the panoramic veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Mercede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercede Hotel Frascati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing