We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
232
270
63
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
270
63
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee bar train station open hours recommend this hotel superior room pool area nice pool pool closes big balcony hotel cafe business stay lunch buffet very friendly front desk staff cannot comment local frascati half mile on foot
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 594 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a first trip to Frascati and I initially chose this hotel due to its local--it is a 40 min train ride to Rome and a wonderful spot away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel was beyond my expectations! My room was lovely, and immaculately maintained each day of my 7 day stay! It was quiet and everything was maintained exceptionally well. The staff was fantastic--from the ladies that maintained the rooms, to the reception desk (especially Stefano Roberto) and the gelateria (especially Claudia)which adjoins the hotel and has great coffee,fantastic gelato, early morning delicious pastries, fast service, and lots of smiles. From needing to borrow an electrical adapter, to helping me find my way both in the community and elsewhere, all requests were met with a smile, professionalism and always solutions. It was very impressive that their service was so personal that even after a couple days, I was addressed by name and room number; in a busy world, many do not take the time or interest to make it a personal experience--Villa Mercede is an exception. The pool is lovely, the restaurant filled with luscious food. My stay was a huge contribution to a great experience in Italy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Augifurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a recent wedding in Frascati for a weekend. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk (up a hill!) to the town centre and rail station.

Its apparently a fairly new hotel and the room we received was clean and seemed new. It was a small room though, as well as a tiny bathroom, but as we were not there much, it suited us. We were based on the bottom floor so it perhaps felt somewhat like a basement at times, especially with bars on the windows! We were close to the pool area as well which was noisy throughout the night.

We were able to checkin early which we were impressed with (although the bedsheets were wet when we first got to the room so they may have been put on the bed in haste!). There is the option of breakfast for 9euro per person - I really wouldn't bother. There wasn't much choice, the queues were long and the food average. Instead, go to the adjoining coffee and gelato bar where you can have wonderful coffee and pastries for a total of 4 euros for two people! Also worth noting is that the rooms do not have an iron and no ironing room in the hotel, so you have to rely on the hotels laundry service to iron a shirt etc...a tad annoying if you have a wedding/event to go to!

Hotel staff were friendly and happy to arrange taxis for you or offer directions. My main issue was the noise at night. It may have been just that weekend, or the hotel staff were not aware, but the noise of other guests coming in drunk (dont get me wrong, I'd had plenty myself but managed not to screech!), shouting down the coridoors, messing by the pool, was awful and really meant that we had no decent nights sleep - that combined with the air conditioning not being very good, didn't leave us very rested at all. That said, perhaps hotel management did not notice. Another very tiny point and more as a word to the hotel then anything else - we couldnt work out how to phone reception from our room! There were no numbers on anything so we ended up walking down if we needed anything!

Overall, this is a nice modern hotel with friendly staff at reasonable prices. Ideal if you want to be close to the city centre but far enough out to enjoy the scenery (the views from the pool area really are amazing). I think it was perhaps just the noisy guests that ruined it slightly for me but do not let that put you off this hotel as we enjoyed our stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area if you like a quiet nights sleep!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLH425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Frascati and we chose this hotel for its location and easy access to Rome. We booked a Superior room, which although not a big room, it was very newly refurbished and nicely decorated with a well fitted bathroom. The air conditioning could have been cooler though. The room was 405, which we recommend as it has a large terrace with a good panoramic view over the valley below.

The staff at Reception we efficient. However, when I enquired about the use of an iron, I was told that one could not be provided!

The breakfast is a typical Italian continental breakfast. On the first two mornings, despite there still being one hour before the buffet closed, many items either were not replenished or further supplies were slow to materialise. The Restaurant Manager appeared to be on his own, so no tables were being cleared.

The pool is very nice, but unfortunately, after a busy day in Rome, we arrived at the pool hoping for a swim, but were told that we would not be allowed as it was almost 6pm – the time which the pool closes. This seemed to be a real shame as it was still 30 degrees with bright sun and there were still many guests around the pool. The main reason, it would appear, was that staff were setting up for a private ‘Pool Party’ therefore, hotel guests were asked to leave. There appeared to be functions, inside and out on most evenings, but I am pleased to report, that although they go on quite late, we could not hear any noise if the windows/patio door were closed.

The rail station is a 15 minute walk and the hotel can provide a shuttle bus ride. The train into Rome costs €2.50 each way and takes approximately 20 minutes. In Frascati itself, you do have to pay to park before about 8pm., so we would advise walking into the centre, where there are plenty of places to eat, all are good value. However, do note that restaurants do not open before 8pm and do get very busy with many locals eating out.

Overall, the hotel is good and we would stay there again, however, the staff are not as attentive as they could be and seem more interested in the entertainment of their evening, visiting guests, rather than their resident ones unfortunately.

Room Tip: Select a Superior room, 401 to 405 have nice terraces.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twoscompany96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We got married in frascati recently and booked a number of rooms for our guests in villa mercede. The service we received was absolutely amazing. The best we have ever had from any hotel around the world. The pool is perfect, the rooms are cleaned impeccably and the staff are simply amazing! We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. All of our wedding guests had a fantastic time and will certainly be returning again. As will we, as often as we can! If you are looking for a hotel in frascati you do not need to look any further!! Quite simply the best in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronanstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta-MKTG, Direttore at Villa Mercede, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Hello Ronan
we were all happy to be at your best all allegra company. Kudos to you for the nice group of friends and family that you are.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over the Easter holiday 2013. The hotel was very modern and the staff were helpful We had a superior room, which was a nice size, had plenty of storage space and was spotless. The pool looked lovely, unfortunately the weather was a little chilly for us to use it during our stay.The breakfast was great - good selection of pastries, fruit, yogurt, juices, cereal etc .and eggs and bacon everyday too (it is served until 10am, which means you don't have to have such an early start). We had dinner in the restaurant on our final evening, the food was amazing and the service was great - quite pricey, but you get what you pay for. The snack bar/ cockail bar was handy too for a drink or snack.

It is really easy to get into Rome from Frascati. The station is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel (most of it is uphill though) and there are regular trains to Rome (about one every 30 mins, the last train back is at about 9/10 p.m.) It is perfect if you want to explore the city (which is beautiful) but then come back and relax in the evenings.

Only negative was a taxi man trying to rip us off getting from the airport to the hotel (we had a late flight) - I would advise a train if you get to the airport during the day!
All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews