We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take it from a local, one of the best places to eat in Frascati”

San Martino al Vicolo
Ranked #24 of 205 Restaurants in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
rome italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Take it from a local, one of the best places to eat in Frascati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been to San Martino al Vicolo many times, but just went two nights ago and was inspired to write this review. San Martino al Vicolo is an intimate, family run trattoria/restaurant on a side street next to the Cathedral. The pastas are homemade, the ingredients are fresh, and many of the menu items are typical of local cuisine (i.e. from the Castelli Romani) or are variations of more standard menu items that have some inspiration from local cooking. The lowest-priced bottles on the wine list (€8-10) change from time to time but are from well-known, better quality local vineyards. The primi are generally around €8 and the secondi generally under €15, so you really can have a genuine, well-thought out and well-prepared two-course meal with wine for around €25/person. The server is sometimes a little gruff or formal but is always very attentive. The inside is pleasant, but the two or three tables outside under the pergolato in the alley are perfect in the summertime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    70
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

High quality ingredients, fair prices and marvellous atmosphere.
Calm and discreet, in the heart of Frascati, we found tasty meats and delicate main courses.
You must try different pastas and appetizers.
Courtesy and comfortable place. We will return here for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuiginhoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frascati
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This little, cosy restaurant in the shadow of Frascati's cathedral has been a very reliable address for many years now. The menu changes regularly, which keeps it interesting too. All dishes are traditional for the area, but they bear the signature of the ever friendly, gentle owner/cook.
I gladly advise this place to friends coming to visit the Castelli and none have been disappointed. So I also gladly recommend it here on these pages. Very good quality, excellent price/quality level, friendly and good service... what more can one want?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pallavicina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited with an Italian friend who demands high standards, and he too was impressed. We sat outside but inside looked very inviting too. We all had pasta (which was so good that it has encouraged me to experiment with more pasta dishes at home). My husband then had a starter as his second course (parma ham, bruschetta and mozzarella with parmesan) while I had roast lamb shank with delicious roast potatoes, and our friend had steak with mushrooms. We finished with espresso. We drank a bottle of Frascati (8 euros) with our meal, and all said we would go there again when in the area. A real find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreacleWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a place you want to come back to.
Very good food for a reasonable price.
hidden ion a small street but close to the church.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_S100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Martino al Vicolo also viewed

Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 

Been to San Martino al Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing