We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

San Martino al Vicolo
Ranked #44 of 208 Restaurants in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

High quality ingredients, fair prices and marvellous atmosphere.
Calm and discreet, in the heart of Frascati, we found tasty meats and delicate main courses.
You must try different pastas and appetizers.
Courtesy and comfortable place. We will return here for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetTrotterTerrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    70
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frascati
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure...”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This little, cosy restaurant in the shadow of Frascati's cathedral has been a very reliable address for many years now. The menu changes regularly, which keeps it interesting too. All dishes are traditional for the area, but they bear the signature of the ever friendly, gentle owner/cook.
I gladly advise this place to friends coming to visit the Castelli and none have been disappointed. So I also gladly recommend it here on these pages. Very good quality, excellent price/quality level, friendly and good service... what more can one want?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pallavicina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited with an Italian friend who demands high standards, and he too was impressed. We sat outside but inside looked very inviting too. We all had pasta (which was so good that it has encouraged me to experiment with more pasta dishes at home). My husband then had a starter as his second course (parma ham, bruschetta and mozzarella with parmesan) while I had roast lamb shank with delicious roast potatoes, and our friend had steak with mushrooms. We finished with espresso. We drank a bottle of Frascati (8 euros) with our meal, and all said we would go there again when in the area. A real find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreacleWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good small restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a place you want to come back to.
Very good food for a reasonable price.
hidden ion a small street but close to the church.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_S100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frascati, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“And yet another great Frascati restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sorry TripAdvisor, but here is another great Frascati restaurant -- San Martino al Vicolo. For one reason or another, had not eaten here for several years but decided to give them our business for lunch today. Oh, what joy! Service starts with a drink, olives and chips presented on the house. As primi, my husband had homemade Tuscan pici dressed with Roman cacio e pepe, I had a wild mushroom lasagna in a besciamella sauce. Our secondi were braised beef with Barolo and roast pork shank; both accompanied by potato cheese puree. We split a salad of local wild greens. All of the above with a half litre of decent house red and a bottle of fizzy water came to €52. Everything was simply and attractively presneted. Every bite (and calorie) a pleasure. Unfortunately, not a centimeter of space for dessert. As it was, just about rolled the three blocks home. Service prompt and professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloraPapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Martino al Vicolo also viewed

Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 

Been to San Martino al Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing