We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the center of Frascati”
Review of Hotel Colonna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonna
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Frascati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was really a business trip, but I'm putting it under "couples" because my girlfriend came along, and this is quite a lovely hotel for a romantic getaway. To be honest, I think that all the charm of the hotel and downtown Frascati would would be wasted on a solo business traveler.

The hotel is located in the picturesque downtown area, near the cathedral (don't worry, the bells *do* stop ringing around 10PM). We arrived by cab, and the driver had a heck of a time navigating the downtown area even with a GPS. If you come by train, it's just a short walk from the station, but there are stairs that would be a real pain if you have a lot of luggage (that would be true of any Frascati hotel). The decor is tasteful and charming. There are very nice paintings, murals, and furniture, as well as little antique collections (mostly cameras) on display. Even the lobby computer has been turned into an objet d'art, but setting the disc drives and media sockets into a wooden facade and hiding the computer itself.

The room was nice, if a bit small, and the bed was comfortable. In contrast, the bathroom was on the large side. I would rather they had traded that space for a bigger closet, since storage was limited. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking the Piazza del Gesu. It gets a bit noisy in the evening, but if you close the window, the soundproofing is remarkable.

WiFi was free and the speed was pretty good.

Breakfast is included in a lovely little basement dining room. It's Italian style, mostly bread and pastries, without the meat or cheese you would find in other parts of Europe. There's some good fruit, however, if you start to get a carb overload.

They don't have a restaurant of their own, but there are numerous wonderful restaurants within a short walk.

The staff is very friendly, but it's hit or miss whether they speak English, so if you don't speak Italian, be ready to do a lot of pantomiming and and consulting of phrase books.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cirejcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I visit Frascati a lot, since there are a number of scientific research institutes in the area. I recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it completely satisfactory. The room was large (for this class of hotel), well decorated and well equipped. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. Parking was included in the price: my car was taken away and was waiting for me outside again in the morning at a pre-agreed time. The area around the hotel is lively with lots of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have used this hotel for short stays in Frascati on business trips. The rooms are good, the service is good. The breakfast was reasonable - although it is served in the basement in a small restaurant without windows. The hotel is really good for a short stay, but for holiday purposes I would chose another one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoltán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We needed a room not too far from Ciampiano. This was a very reasonably priced hotel in a central location. It surpassed our expectations for the room rate. Very friendly staff, warm reception on arrival, good airconditioning, room typical size (i.e. verging on small but was adequate, bathroom was good) They took care of parking and delivered car to the front door in time for our departure which was very convenient considering parking in Frascati. Dining options within a short stroll and views over Rome from some of the street side restaurants. Breakfast in fresco lined (slightly naive style) room was ok, at this price it was actually better than we'd expected. I'd certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdBibesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good value hotel, centrally located in Frascati. Parking is tight in Frascati, so we were attracted by the free parking. This is a gracious old hotel that is well maintained. We had a really large bathroom and comfortable room. Breakfast is basic but

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here a few days while attending a conference in Frascati. The hotel is clean and very centrally located -- I enjoyed each evening walking back to the hotel through the "piazza" and seeing the social activities of the town. Be aware that you need to be fairly fit though -- there's no elevator, so you'll be dragging your bags up multiple flights of stairs to your room. Plus you're heading down another flight to get to the breakfast area. It's a definite hike if you're coming in by train, too, since there's a steep flight of stairs from the train station to the main square. The bathroom is good sized, but with a very slippery tile floor, and the bathtub is tiny tiny and a bit difficult to navigate if you're trying to wash your hair or something. No shower curtain, so the floor gets wet (and slippery) quickly. Wi-fi was free, but keeps timing out so you have re-login with the password every time you want to re-connect, which gets a bit old. All in all though, a good economical choice, in a great location.

Room Tip: No elevator, so you may want to ask for a lower floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GamerGirl-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff were friendly and the rooms well furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was OK - you could squeeze your own orange juice - but for a Brit the offerings could be considered sparse. However the electric sockets did not work properly and they blew the fuses if you tried to plug in a kettle or iron. I also had a problem charging up my laptop, although the owner insisted it was not the problem of the sockets. Alora ............................

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frascati
0.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
539 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Hotel Poggio Regillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#8 of 14 in Frascati
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
0.1 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#7 of 14 in Frascati
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonna

Address: Piazza del Gesu' 12, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#2 Family Hotel in Frascati
#2 Business Hotel in Frascati
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far only two steps from San Pietro Cathedral in Frascati, the Hotel Colonna faces Piazza del Gesù, wherestands the homonymous church of the 7th Century characterized by a wonderful front, a Carlo Fontana’s project.Breakfast is served in a polished room with original frescoes representing the beautiful facades of tuscolanas villas.Hotel Colonna offers advanced services and it answers carefulnessy to tourists and working people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Frascati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing