We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Grottino

Il Grottino
Ranked #128 of 205 Restaurants in Frascati
Price range: $23 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The owner was extremely attentive and helpful. the location of the retaurant on the hill meant the views were stunning especially at sunset.The pizzas were to die for as well as the views

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AFScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    82
    60
    51
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try the farmhouse antipasti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

delightful meal with an incredible variety of choices for antipasti. We really enjoyed our dinner here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Il Grottino isn’t just typical Italian fare. This restaurant is representative of the cuisine unique to the Castelli Romani and never disappoints. Before I review the food, I would have to say that ambiance created in the restaurant is hospitable and welcoming. The staff was beyond accommodating and make every effort to fulfill any request. When you enter the restaurant it is a picturesque Italian eatery, straight out of a movie. Be forewarned that Americans, who are used to meatballs and Bolognese, would be better off sticking to touristy fare. This is where the locals eat.

Having grown up in Grottaferrata, then transplanted to the United States, a visit to this restaurant is a welcome back to true Roman cuisine and the people who make this restaurant so appealing. From the appetizers to the wine and everything in-between, Il Grottino has mastered the art of cooking true Roman food. Even our waiter, whose name escapes me, offered us some of his own wine made at home. This made our dining experience one to remember.

The mixture and diversity of food provided on the appetizer platter was cornucopia of taste and flavor. Everything from tripa e` fagioli, porchetta, and the best mortadela was provided. The main course was cannelloni e` tartufo, which was simply the best, and I have eaten all over Italy.

If you want to travel to a picturesque town outside of Rome, enjoy some stunning views, meet wonderful people, and simply eat the best food on the planet, plan a visit to Frascati and Il Grottino. Make sure to tell them Alex (l’Americano) sent you and you will get a nice 10% off of your bill. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 6foot5guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have been at Il Grottino 2 times in September 2011. Their appetizer plate is great, although second time it was a bit too heavy. Gnocci was not so great. Pizza, porcini, and meat were good. The price range is about EUR20-25 per person with wine.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank igor_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Grottino also viewed

Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 
Frascati, Province of Rome
Frascati, Province of Rome
 

Been to Il Grottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing