We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary but good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fonda del Califa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Ely
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ordinary but good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in Arcos one night mid May and found the rooms OK but fairly basic. Large old hotel that has obviously seen better days but it is well located to walk up to the old town. The rooms are of reasonable size, beds OK. Bathroom was basic and I had to repair loo cistern as when I pulled the button to release the water the knob came out in my hand and the rest fell back into the water!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful but when we came down for breakfast at 9 am on Sunday we were told they did not begin service until 9:30. Breakfast was fairly basic and in a dark and dingy room. We were given a reduced rate on the parking at the main underground car park a couple of hundred yards away. All in all it was fine for the price.

Room Tip: We were given rooms on first floor facing the street but cannot say any more as we did not see any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This lovely historic hotel is well worth staying in. It was built in 1822 (I think), is spotlessly clean and brimming with character. Emilio, one of the receptionists, is a really great person and can't do enough to help you. He is a credit to the establishment. The restaurant below the hotel (separate business) is also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really lovely old building beautifully decorated incorporating many original features. Guy who worked on reception genuinely friendly and really went out of his way to help, had terribly painful tooth at the time guided me to pharmacist and even went to talk to them on my behalf. Above and beyond the call of duty. Also situated in great part of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel is a step back in time we had a pleasant stay for two nights. First night a there was an electrical fault on the building which stopped the AC working if you have to open the windows can be a little noisey, the electric fault was fixed the next day. After those negatives Very clean rooms, friendly staff and comfy beds with loads of old world charm, bathroom was a fair size, clean with good shower. Breakfast was not being served so we walked 100yds and got a full breakfast for 10euros. The owner wrote a letter to the carpark for us and they discounted their rate by 5euros / night. Very good cheap accomodation which we would consider again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed for 1 night in this hotel in july,it is truly lovely,old bullding with many original features,room was quite large with small seating area spotlessly clean,nice bathroom with toiletries high ceilings with beams full of character.nice features in the hallways and staircase leading to the rooms.The guy on reception is friendly and helpfull if you need help,we will definately stay here again thanks we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
2.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.1 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda del Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda del Califa

Property: Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Address: Calle Corredera 83, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Fonda del Califa 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda was built in 1834, that makes La Fonda to be the oldest hotel in Andalucía, and even in Spain.Completely restored; nowadays offers you a confortable accommodation full of traditional and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Fonda del Califa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing