We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
49
25
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
25
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house guest house tea coffee facilities walking guide rooftop terrace old town place to stay comfortable beds jim isa apartment hosts history views spain parking roads
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 82 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We were looking forward to a two night stay in Arcos. Jim, the friendly host met us and escorted us into the old town. Unfortunately it was bitterly cold and we were staying in the two rooms on the roof top terrace. In warmer weather I could imagine it would be very nice sitting outside on the sunlounges and little table and chairs however we were very cold in our rooms which were very basic. Portable electric heaters provided little relief and we were still cold sleeping in our thermals and polar fleeces. A tepid shower with little water pressure provided no comfort in the morning so 3/4 of us gave the shower a miss. Although it is described in trip advisor as a B & B there was no breakfast however a small cafe down the street was warm and welcoming with freshly squeezed juice, eggs, toast and coffee.
Jim was gracious when we told him we were moving on and would not be staying a second night. He helped us out with our car and gave us directions to our next destination.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Very welcoming home, set in the gradious and old city of Arcos. The house itself has a mirador, with a stunning view of the surroundings [--]. A stones throw away from romantic caffees and authentic restaurants. Jim always replies very quickly to emails and even organises pick-up, when you arrive in Arcos

Highly recommended by a family of 7 people!

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm_werch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The accommodation is set in a beautiful house,with a real sense of history,and is situated in the heart of one of the most famous white towns. As you enter, there is a typical spendid Andalucian patio,and on the roof terrace,there are spectacular views over the old town and surrounding countryside. But,above all,what makes one's stay so special is the welcome of the ownersJim and Emma. No one could be more helpful and hospitable.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenoldieZaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

To be quite honest, we had to cancel our trip to Arcos and never got a chance to stay at Casa Campana. BUT I want to share with the readers of this site the very positive experience I had , not only when I reserved a room at their guest house but , more importantly, when I had to cancel it 4 weeks before our planned arrival: Jim didn't make any problem reimbursing the deposit we had made and handled the whole thing with kindness and great professionalism and integrity. I am sure they are wonderful hosts and I hope I will someday be able to take my family to this charming place.

Date of stay: June 2009
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lmgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

The Hosts and Location were amazing.
Casa Campana is a fabulous antique family run gueast house in the centre of Arcos old town. Jim and Ema know so much about what is going on in and around Arcos that you can have all your questions asked and most of your travel problems solved.
The rooms we used were light ,fresh,clean and private with panoramic views of surrounding counryside from the adjoining terrace.
Janice, Jim and Jack
Southcoast UK

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews