We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Campana Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Campana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Campana
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casa Campana Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

On our day trip to Arcos de la Frontera we were lucky to come across Casa Campana in the town centre - a guest house which has just opened a cafe. We spent a delightful two hours in the atmospheric interior courtyard, sampling Emma's delicious tapas, locally sourced and lovingly prepared, all washed down with very good wine and coffee and all at very modest prices. Don't miss it if you visit Arcos!
John and Rosemary Ward.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

After long days traveling through Spain, this was by far the BEST place we stayed. Jim, one of the owners, forwarded a helpful map for parking and locating the place days before we arrived. Once there we were brought up into a peaceful apartment above the old town of Arcos. There are incredible views of the Sierra and sunset from the patio where the rooms and apartment are situated. Both hosts, Emma and Jim, are kind, private and welcoming. They maintain their rooms beautifully with Andalucian charms throughout. Jim was a great aid in guiding us toward a nice hike while we were there as well.

Casa Campana is one of the best in Andalucia with some of the best prices too! We will be recommending this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riadaversa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 3 nice nights there. The house is very well located. The room was comfortable and we could enjoy the nice terrace on the roof. Besides, the café had just opened and we had the chance to taste some good "tapas" (English touch), especially the garlic bread. We sure can say that Emma is a very good cook!
Though breakfast is normally not proposed, they did fix us up something to eat and drink.
The shower is a little bit unstable from time to time and, as the room is quite damp, towels have trouble getting dry...just ask and they will be changed.
As for Jim and Emma, they are very nice people and it was cool spending some time with this lovely family!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

What a gem!! After a hairaising tight squeeze through the narrow streets in our hire car we managed to get a parking spot in the tiny square at the top of the street leading to Casa Campana. Emma helped us with our luggage and brought us a cold beer to the roof terrace...perfect! The views are wonderful. Simple but clean rooms with tea/coffee facilities which makes a nice change.As it was Dec the room was a bit chilly but she brought 2 portable heaters which did the job. They have a printed Walking Tour leaflet which we did....it's very worthwhile. We ate at the Bar de Carcel which is typically frantic and has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Situated in the oldest part of the city, a must to stay here to see the sights. Emma our host was very helpful, showing us where we could park the car, even bringing us a beer on the house to dring on the private patio. She has even written a tour of the city with highlights of where to see. Rooms were a little basic but this did not detract from the wonderful stay. the casa Campana is packed with history - even a 14th century fetility symbol built into the wall - one tip - dont bring a big car to theis part of the city - you wont get in as the streets are very, very narrow All in all - we loved our stay and will be back

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms - a double and 2 singles - book early you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonyh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

It was great to have all the space we got as we stayed in the apartment. Our son got his own room. It was nice to have access to the roof top terrace. Be aware that no breakfast is included. Guests have their breakfast at one of the cafés close by. We had breakfast at the Parador, which was a great experence, rather expensive, but worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aduv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCampana, Owner at Casa Campana, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you! It was lovely to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Casa Campana is in an atmospheric and wonderful location next to an old church, right in the middle of the old quarter of Arcos. Our room was simple and cosy, leading on to a great roof terrace, perfect for chilling out and admiring the views. Our two night stay was very peaceful. Jim is a genuine and excellent host with a wealth of local knowledge. We would have stayed longer and hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa El Sueno
Casa El Sueno
#1 of 21 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Campana

Property: Casa Campana
Address: Calle Nunez del Prado 4, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain (Formerly ArcoBlanco)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Campana 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Campana, Arcos de la Frontera: Over 500 years old, in the heart of Arcos Old Quarter, tapas bars & restaurants nearby, English, German and Spanish spoken. Arcos de la Frontera: one of the prettiest towns in Spain; off the beaten track in Andalusia; full of character and old traditions; capital of the famous 'White Villages'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing