We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful, stylish and still cosy, very unique and tasteful rooms. Excellent breakfast and very friendly owners. Great terrace with a view. It is a little bit hard to drive there (probably best to park downtown and to take a cab) but this also means that the place is in a very quiet area with hardly any traffic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstampfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear mstampfli,
We are really glad to hear a good experience of stay at La Casa Grande despite a hard drive.
It's very nice to receive guests like you.

Best regards,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    52
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
138
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel was great from every standpoint. The location provides a view that people are paying three times the price for just down the way at the Parador. The hotel itself has total charm. The staff was warm, friendly, helpful and eager. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed the views and the calm atmosphere.

Best regards,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

You know all of those amazing photos you see of this picturesque white village on the edge of a cliff? Stay right in the center of it at La Casa Grande.

Yes, we had difficulty finding it initially - a friendly local walked us to its entrance as we dragged our suitcases to the top - that's part of the experience! I have done similar things in the Cinque Terre, Italy...you need to burn all of those calories so you can sit on your balcony and drink wine and eat cheese all night...you don't want to walk back down that hill :)

Service was spectacular. Breakfasts in the morning were a treat - we never "upgraded" as the meal as the standard breakfast was more than enough. Make sure you climb to the rooftop balcony as well.

One note: we stayed in the former horse stable so we would have a 2-story private balcony. The pro was the balcony and privacy....ahh,, those sunsets in Andalucia; the con? Next door, there were roosters! Oh, the roosters.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CourtneyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Courtney,
Thanks for your review! And mostly because after several months from your stay, you took the time to write those lines... we really appreciate that.
We are happy to know that although you had some difficulties in finding us, you have shown very patient and open to this new experience of arrival to La Casa Grande! Congratulations!

Best regards,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Like other posts, this hotel has views that not many in the world can provide. The owner was very helpful is accommodating our schedule (early starts) and attentive to our needs while in the property.

The trek up the first time was challenging. I rented a Ford S-Max SUV and had a bit of trouble getting down (too big to fit through the "hole" on the way out!) so I exchanged for a smaller car and had no further problems.

Local food (Italian / Spanish) are walking distances and very reasonably priced, and of great quality. If I have the chance to visit Andalucía again, I will definitely consider a return to Ms. Elena's hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Del H,
Thanks for your comments!
Our spirit is to receive our guests like we would like to be received if we were the travelers.
Thanks for sharing your experience.
kind regards!

La Casa Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We love Paradors but having read the reviews of Casa Grande it had to be done - what a good decision.
Arriving in Arcos de la frontera can be a bit of a challenge, getting lost in narrow streets can be stressful - heavy cases from the car park can be hard work so don't stay just one night - 2 as a minimum.
Being there in winter was great and it must be just amazing in the spring & summer. Tapas & wine on the rooftop would be very special as it would on yr private terrace.
The staff are lovely,the breakfast great ( expensive compared to simple local fare but at 9 euros hardly a fortune - and it's very good in lovely surroundings) the views great - the property has a lovely feel to it.
WiFi is a bit hit & miss & the TV wasn't much bigger than my iPad - but who cares.
Loved Casa Grande & Arcos.

Room Tip: Have a terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you Elestoban!! Thanks for your nice review of La Casa Grande.
We are glad to hear that you were happy with the desition of coming to this small hotel, we love receiving guests who are open to new experiences.
For sure, next time you visit us wi-fi will work better than this time as we are currently expanding the web.
Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We felt transported into a magical world of beauty, serenity, comfort, and consideration. Really, this place is special. If you are considering a stay in Arcos (and I highly recommend), book into La Casa Grande and relish your good fortune.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for those words expressing your feelings about the "soul" of La Casa Grande... and thanks for your visit!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I don't generally like hotels much but this has just joined my short list of favourites (along with Cavallino d'Oro in Castelrotto and The Russell Hotel in Sydney). It is in the most spectacular location, right on the edge of a cliff with stunning views, but what makes it really special is that it is obviously a labour of love, and feels like staying in a private house. Having had a hair raising trip because google map was determined to kill us by taking us up the steepest, narrowest and twisty-est paths it is (just) possible to drive on, we found a parking spot close to the hotel [where the next morning there was a fabulous collection of raptors] and were greeted with a welcome sherry. The library is full of interesting books, there was classical music playing in the courtyard at breakfast, the breakfast was delicious, and the beds firm but supremely comfortable. I wish we had stayed longer - Arcos is small but it would have been nice to have spent more time it the hotel. We also had a very good Moroccan meal in the restaurant that the hotel recommended.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Georgia,
We are so glad to hear you had a fabulous stay at La Casa Grande. We work hard to make our guests feel like at home, and for the small team is really satisfying when a family like yours return home with this sensation.

All the best for you and yours!

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcos de la Frontera
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
18.8 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Property: La Casa Grande
Address: Calle Maldonado 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa Grande 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Hotel Arcos De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing