We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; great views.”
Review of La Casa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; great views.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great hotel in a fabulous location. Staff very friendly. Hotel clean. Fantastic views - ask for a terrace room - it has a small balcony and a private terrace that over looks the valley below. Room was down some lovely old stairs past some amazing mosaic tiles on the floor. Really quirky. Glass of vino and olives on arrival was a welcome touch. Would highly recommend. Friendly staff gave us some ideas for where to eat. Sadly we only had one night this time, but are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Terrace room great for an evening siping a G & T or glass of vino before dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Maria L,
You are absolutely welcome to visit La Casa Grande for a bit more than one day. We are sure you will be pleased to be in Arcos for a longer time of relax!
We are happy to hear you had a nice experience!

Warm regards,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    54
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
143
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at La Casa Grande for two nights in August with our two children. We had a large room with air conditioning and four beds. We were pleased with the comfort of the beds and the quiet atmosphere overall. Breakfast, while an additional cost, was very fresh and enjoyable and worth the expense. The hotel is in a gorgeous building and has many interesting design details. As we had a car and the main parking area closer to the hotel was closed for a festival, we parked in town and walked. Arcos is a great little walking town with much to see on its gorgeous streets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltownflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Smalltownflorida,

We really appreciate your positive comments as we work hard to receive our guests like we would like to be received at La Casa Grande.

Best regards for you and your family,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved our stay in this beautifully located hotel particularly with the superb views from the terrace. Having a drink there on a hot summer evening with the hotel's home made croquetas and first rate cheese was a memorable experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SimonVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear SimonVG,

Many thanks for your nice comments. We find it really comforting to hear our guests enjoy their stay.

Bests regards!

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

How many hotels offer you a fino with olives on arrival, gratis? We needed it after negotiating the narrow streets of Arcos - even in a Fiat 500! We stayed in room Pen Ultima (it was our last night in Spain coincidentally) which looked out over the cliff with the same view as the parador. The room was immaculate & tastefully Spanish/ rustic, a theme throughout La Casa G. We kept the air con going rather than leave the window open, because we were in Spain. There's a roof terrace to catch the setting sun. La Casa G is well placed to enjoy the restaurants in Arcos & the fantastic sunset colours. Breakfast was excellent - Spanish style, fruit, torta de aceite, bread, good coffee. Elena and her staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: "Pen Ultima" has a fantastic view but the chairs are low (I'm sure Elena will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Coleswood,

Thanks for your kind comments and descriptions. These makes us really happy and helps us to improve day by day. We count on a fantastic location, which makes it worth going through the narrow streets of the town.
Best regards from Arcos!
La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in July. The style and decor at La Casa Grande are wonderful. We stayed in La Suite (3 people) and found nothing to complain about. It is well apportioned, beds are comfortable and the bathroom, while small, incompletely fine. The downstairs public areas are simply stunning. Breakfast was good, though we must admit, a little expensive (9€) for our tastes, but then again, we tend often to have light breakfasts and after our first night, decided to buy some food down in the town. This wasn't a problem. One other reviewer has noted that Arcos is a bit dead - we found the opposite - but then again, we were in July. Lots of eating options, bars etc. loved the town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Billpritchard,
Thanks a lot for your comments. It is true that sometimes Arcos has little to offer, but fortunately, in summer this changes and there are a few options to choose for eating, people in the streets, flamenco concerts. We are glad you could come in July when Arcos shows its friendly face, apart form its own beauty.
Kind regards!

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at la Casa Grande for a week and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel in itself is finely preserved, as well as beautifully decorated. The room was comfortable, with a large terrace from which we had a terrific view. The staff (and especially Elena) was very friendly and helpful. Be sure to try the breakfast, you're in for a treat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa-Vexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

4 American Ladies in Spain and this was one of the most memorable places we stayed. The 2 downstairs rooms were assigned to us - we had our own balconies and patios below and a magnificent view of the countryside. The steep cliff drop below the rooms is not noticeable until you walk down to river and look back up and then realize how far you must walk again to get back to your hotel! The best tip - don't use your GPS in Arcos and, if you are driving, park in the first parking plaza you reach at the bottom of town and take a taxi up to the main plaza at the top of the hill. This avoids have a wall jump out at you and scrape your car on the way up. The hotel gives a validation that cuts the daily parking fee in half - well worth it. Most days we walked from the parking back up to the hotel - only used taxis when we had luggage to maneuver. The breakfast served here was the most bountiful of any place we stayed in the whole of Spain!

Room Tip: There is a rooftop terrace that is more easily accessed from upper floor rooms. The 2 rooms downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
494 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#7 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Property: La Casa Grande
Address: Calle Maldonado 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa Grande 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old mansión in Arcos de la Frontera has preserved the rustic spirit of the palaces from the Cadiz mountain range. In 1729, the Nuñez de Prado family built this "señorial" house at the heart of the town. In 1998, Elena Posa, fell in love with the house, and settled here determined to respect its authenticity but at the same time living in her own style, and she has transformed it into a small, quiet, and unique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Casa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Hotel Arcos De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing