We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of La Casa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

There are several things that make La Casa Grande "not worth it"! 1) They need to do a lot of basic maintenance! The door to our room only opened a third of the way because it sags on the frame. The man that showed us our room didn't seem to care when he had to force the door open enough so we could get through. We had a similar problem with the sliding bathroom door being very difficult to open and close. 2) No privacy! They need to plug the large key hole from the old fashion unused lock because people can look into the room and see customers in the bed. 3) Out of date technology! The room had a very small television which made it very difficult to see from the bed. They have an old computer and WIFI router that looked from the 1990's which made it very difficult to do basic things like check email because both were very slow and often timed out. 4) Worst location ever! It's impossible to park in the recommended parking lot because its always full with local residents that have parking stickers. This caused the terrible inconvenience of having to park in the second lot and walk 30 minutes uphill because their was not a taxi stand at this lot. 5) A lack of attention to detail! There were multiple examples of putting incorrect items on our bill that we had to go through the time, effort and trouble to get corrected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear "Tripbuilder",
We appreciate very much your comments and we are sorry you have not had a pleasant stay at La Casa Grande.
At least, your wife did enjoy her stay and liked the hotel very much, as we were told by her when leaving the hotel.

First of all, we must say that thanks to your comments, after some weeks of insistence, the carpenter finally came to fix a few problems there where in the doors of your room.
Regarding our technology, we must say that we have two macs, not the last in technology, but we also have a new portable PC at our guests disposal in internet room. We consider the size of the television is appropriate for this type of hotel.
As we announced by e-mail a few days before, those days the old quarter was closed due to May Crosses. As soon as the town-hall gave us the information of the traffic cuts, we transmitted it to our guests, but apparently you had not notice of that e-mail. The other gusts had no problem in finding a taxi. Although you had inconveniences to reach the hotel, we had a nice evening in the town with lovely crosses dressed in flowers, music in the streets, as you can see in our blog.

Regarding your bill, please, accept our apologies, as we asked repeatedly in that moment. We committed a mistake, but of course, we solved it immediately with you.

Kind regards,

La Casa Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    54
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
144
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last night and had a great time. The location is great to see the city. If you drive there is parking a few hundred yards away at the hotel parador. We chose to park at plaza down below the narrow streets a 15 minute walk or 3 minute cab ride for 5 euros. The door is a beautiful green and the courtyard had beautiful flowers and little rooms with some books and computers. We paid a little extra for a private balcony room and it was well worth it. The lady at the hotel walked us to our room down this old hallway which felt like we were being transported back in time...in a good way. Our room was good size, comfortable, high ceilings, when we opened the door we had the most as maxing view with a small balcony with table and two chairs a spiral staircase led down to a small courtyard terrace with lounge chairs and a sun shade. It was breathtaking.
Location was central to everything and the rooftop had even more amazing views. Tables and chairs provided up there. Only downsides were we could hear the roosters crowing early in the morning and in the evening while sitting in the patio. Breakfast was a little expensive but healthy and good. 9 euro a person. Overall very satisfied and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just getting to La Casa Grande takes some doing, as the narrow medieval streets of Arcos are not designed for cars. But the effort is worth it, because this eight room 'hotel' is one of the most memorable and pleasant I have ever stayed in. It is more like an unusual private home that has been turned into a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The owner Elena greeted us warmly and showed us to our two rooms right on the top floor, up winding stairs. We arrived at dusk so got a brief look at the incredible view from the rooftop area that our rooms opened onto. The hotel is right on the edge of the cliff so the view is stunning out to the west. The 'lobby' area and sitting room are beautifully decorated and furnished in a casual, bohemian style that was comfortable and soothing. Breakfast in the glass ceiling lobby is excellent. La Casa Grande is a small, unconventional hotel with unique charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at La Casa Grande. The views were amazing. The owner and staff are wonderful. The breakfast was excellent. We will be back.

DO NOT TRY AND DRIVE TO THE HOTEL. The streets are too small and not worth the stress even in a small car. Park in one of the public parking garages and pay the 5 Euro cab ride to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear mlwtravel,
Thank you very much for your brief review and photos, which are great!
We will be glad to meet you again in La Casa Grande.
Best regards from Arcos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

La Casa Grande is set in the old town of Arcos de la Frontera on top of the dramatical cliff. The access is hard because of the city dwelling streets. We stayed in one of the spacious suites with a simple but nice authentic southern Spain atmosphere. Toiletries are ecofriendly locally made. Staff is very nice. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear FranciscoFA,
Thanks for your comments!
You are welcomed to return to Arcos and La Casa Grande in near future!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our daughter had stayed at La Casa Grande and recommended it. We arrived in the middle of some VERY hot weather. We failed to follow directions and parked on the wrong side of this steep entrance. Your GPS is useless and the hotel tells you this when booking. We proceeding to hike up this long hill in the heat (you can't drive your car inside) and finally found La Casa. We were hot and tired and greeted by our lovely hostess with iced water and sherry. She told us where to park and how to use the much easier access and showed us our darling room. The view from the room was the whole hillside below us. Darling Arcos is the reason you stay here and this little hilltop paradise is the perfect spot to enjoy it. When were were refreshed we wandered out in the tiny, curvy little streets and ate and drank and shopped. What a perfect place to remove yourself from the real world. Just magical. So happy we found our way to the top of this beautiful spot!

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs and the view from our window was the whole hillside below, just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear GVtravelers,

It is always pleasing to hear that after a difficult beggining, you found yourselves comfortable and relaxed, and that you were enchanted by the magic of Arcos and La Casa Grande!

Thanks and hope to receive you again sometime!

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Read the reviews of this hotel and decided to stay for 2 nights whilst touring Andalusia. We were not disappointed, the staff were very friendly and as soon as we arrived, we were offered a complimentary juice, which was a nice touch. Our room was spacious with excellent views. Breakfast was also very good. The only disappointment was the roof top terrace, which I thought could have provided more shaded areas for guests to relax, as it is a great feature of the hotel.

Another tip, do not park at the Parador, we parked in the underground car park in the new part of the town and walked to the hotel, which took about 20 minutes, but we were so happy we did when we saw so many drivers struggling through the narrow streets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear SusieQte:

Thank you very much for your comments! It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your tips!! Always welcomed to read your reccomendations.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcos de la Frontera
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
53 reviews
18.8 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Property: La Casa Grande
Address: Calle Maldonado 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa Grande 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old mansión in Arcos de la Frontera has preserved the rustic spirit of the palaces from the Cadiz mountain range. In 1729, the Nuñez de Prado family built this "señorial" house at the heart of the town. In 1998, Elena Posa, fell in love with the house, and settled here determined to respect its authenticity but at the same time living in her own style, and she has transformed it into a small, quiet, and unique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Casa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Hotel Arcos De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing