We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Spirit of Andalucia”
Review of La Casa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“In the Spirit of Andalucia”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

La Casa Grande is set in the old town of Arcos de la Frontera on top of the dramatical cliff. The access is hard because of the city dwelling streets. We stayed in one of the spacious suites with a simple but nice authentic southern Spain atmosphere. Toiletries are ecofriendly locally made. Staff is very nice. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear FranciscoFA,
Thanks for your comments!
You are welcomed to return to Arcos and La Casa Grande in near future!
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    54
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
144
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our daughter had stayed at La Casa Grande and recommended it. We arrived in the middle of some VERY hot weather. We failed to follow directions and parked on the wrong side of this steep entrance. Your GPS is useless and the hotel tells you this when booking. We proceeding to hike up this long hill in the heat (you can't drive your car inside) and finally found La Casa. We were hot and tired and greeted by our lovely hostess with iced water and sherry. She told us where to park and how to use the much easier access and showed us our darling room. The view from the room was the whole hillside below us. Darling Arcos is the reason you stay here and this little hilltop paradise is the perfect spot to enjoy it. When were were refreshed we wandered out in the tiny, curvy little streets and ate and drank and shopped. What a perfect place to remove yourself from the real world. Just magical. So happy we found our way to the top of this beautiful spot!

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs and the view from our window was the whole hillside below, just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear GVtravelers,

It is always pleasing to hear that after a difficult beggining, you found yourselves comfortable and relaxed, and that you were enchanted by the magic of Arcos and La Casa Grande!

Thanks and hope to receive you again sometime!

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Read the reviews of this hotel and decided to stay for 2 nights whilst touring Andalusia. We were not disappointed, the staff were very friendly and as soon as we arrived, we were offered a complimentary juice, which was a nice touch. Our room was spacious with excellent views. Breakfast was also very good. The only disappointment was the roof top terrace, which I thought could have provided more shaded areas for guests to relax, as it is a great feature of the hotel.

Another tip, do not park at the Parador, we parked in the underground car park in the new part of the town and walked to the hotel, which took about 20 minutes, but we were so happy we did when we saw so many drivers struggling through the narrow streets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear SusieQte:

Thank you very much for your comments! It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for your tips!! Always welcomed to read your reccomendations.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I checked into this hotel for 4 nights. We struggled with the directions to find the car park nearest the hotel. The old part of Arcos where the hotel is has extremely narrow streets to the point of needing to put both wing mirrors in and hope for the best. He was stressful trying to find the nearest car park and so we were pleased when we did. The drop off car park was 5 minutes walk from the hotel. You can only park a couple of hours here so we used it to check in.

Our room was lovely, the view was amazing but we were 300 metres down on a cliff edge so beware if you don't like heights. We were told the nearest car park to leave the car overnight was at the bottom of the hill, this was 15 Euros a night but on the last night the hotel gave us a voucher so you can have that night for 8 Euros. We felt on top of needing to pay 9 Euros for breakfast that this reasonably priced hotel does add up.

The bed was very comfortable and shower lovely. The room did not have a mini bar though so we had to go out and walk up another hill to get a drink. The rooftop terrace had amazing views and they did tapas in the evening however these were very expensive so we did not order any.

Instead we went to the tapas bar around the corner, left out of hotel, first right and then the corner tapas bar on the left front of you. Always busy, reasonably priced and lovely tapas, we went there 3 nights in a row. Its outside the corner souvenir shop next to the Church.

The breakfast was bread and jam, cheese and salami and you could have an egg. They also had yoghurt, fruit and cereal and a usual aniseed bread which was pleasant with coffee. I did think the breakfast was overpriced for what it was seeing as all our other hotels included this in the price.

Although the hotel was comfortable it did lack facility for getting a drink, a honesty bar would have been nice or at least a fridge in the room. I was 6 months pregnant and needing to drink quite a bit of water to stay cool so it was bit of a trek to get one.

Room Tip: If you are a bit scared of heights ask for a room at the front of the hotel where you will be maximu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuss_zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Bagpuss_zzz,
In La Casa Grande, we are lucky, and at the same time affected, for the location we have. The charm of being in the oldest part of the town, where streets still preserve the spirit of the time of the arabs, sometimes is a disadvantage for tourists who see our narrow streets for the first time. We consider that the possibility of finding the charm will depend on your point of view. Unless that day was something special being carried out at Plaza del Cabildo, it is normally allowed to park the time you want, but unfortunately every two hours it is necessary to buy the ticket, as two hours is the maximum permitted to buy. We probably have not been clear with this information. Let us tell you that we are not really fond of this parking system.
Unfortunately, we don't have mini bars in the rooms yet, but we do have bar service and of course free water!
Thanks for your comments, and best wishes for your pregnancy!

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Situated right on the edge of the spectacular Arcos cliff face in the historic area of this dramatic white town, this hotel has plenty of charm and character. It is a tastefully restored casa seigniorial with a grand portal, and a reception area in a lovely columned inner patio where the inclusive breakfast is also served on pretty little tables.
Our bedroom was on the second floor, one of just two rooms with a private roof terrace with quite spectacular views. To sit here in the warm evening Andalusian sun with a glass of wine and tasty tapas, admiring the splendid view is a real treat. A few strides took us back to our air conditioned bedroom nicely furnished in traditional style and very comfortable. On a practical note it is worth mentioning that the stairs up to the second floor are very steep.
The proprietor, Elena Posa, a gracious and cultured lady, has created a tranquil and friendly environment for her guests, and other staff members were also helpful and thoughtful. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are plenty to choose from within a short stroll.
If you are arriving by car park in the car park in front of the Parador hotel, from where it only two or three minutes walk to La Casa Grande.

Room Tip: We had a room on the rooftop terrace which offers spectacular views and is a great place for relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Harry A,
We have to thank you for your compliments, is nice hearing you had a lovely stay, and hope to have you back at your house, La Casa Grande!

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

If one were to look at the other reviews I have left over the years you would see that I am not so picky. I really was expecting more of La Casa Grande. We had the most expensive room with our own private terrace. The view was to die for, but we could hear everything above us, and besides us. In addition the bathroom flooded every time one took a shower( I have been in European hotels many times and never experienced such a thing). While the view was terrific, I wanted to read late at night on the balcony but the light was out of order. Also, I had to use the internet early in the morning for work(they don't have wifi and if they do, they never told us which is annoying because I brought my own computer), so I went to use one of the two public computers. It worked for about 15 minutes and then stopped. I tried later in the day and it still was not working. I tried later that night and it still wasn't working. I wrote a note to the owner letting her know that the internet wasn't working(since no one was available at 1030 pm) and she wrote me back saying I was wrong and that it was working. How upsetting to say the least. In addition I found the place trying to nickle and dime you. For example tapas there was 7 euros whereas at bars and restaurants down the street it was 2-3 euros. Also they don't want you bringing your own alcohol in public areas because they want you to drink their overpriced drinks. On a positive note the place has a certain uniqueness but it ends there. I would not stay there again or recommend it. I must admit thought the girls who worked there were nice and helpful(not the owner).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear oliverlevitt,
First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to comment on La Casa Grande. We take note of the problems you had at the room in order to solve them.
We offer free wifi for our guests, but due to the width of the 18th centuries walls, it does not reach all the rooms, it works well in the yard. We probably forgot to tell you this detail, so we have to assume this misinformation. Although reception service is until 10PM and computers room is normally closed at that time, we knew you would need internet late at night or early in the morning, so that is why we left it opened for you. Unfortunately you finally were not able to use it. When we tried it, after seeing your note later that night, it worked, so we left the note for you in case you decided to continue working during the night.
Regarding the drinks, we have no problem if our guests have them in their rooms, or private terraces, but in the common areas, as we have bar service, we ask not to eat or drink products purchased outside the hotel.
We feel sorry about your bad experience at La Casa Grande.
Thanks again and kind regards!
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a beautifully restored historic property. The owner has taken great care to create a space that is true to its historical character, yet is functional nd comfortable for her guests. The location is marvelous, in the old town, right on the edge of the cliffs. Breakfast was delicious, served in the covered courtyard. The owner was so very helpful in placing 4 of us in a suite that accommodated us, as well as allowing us to store our large bags in a space that precluded our hauling them up several flights of stairs. If you spend the night in Arcos de la Frontera, you will be thrilled to stay at La Casa Grande!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine34102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Elaine34102,
We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive guests like you, who perceive the daily work we have as a team at La Casa Grande.
We hope you and your family had a good return home.
Kindest regards!
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcos de la Frontera
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
53 reviews
18.8 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Property: La Casa Grande
Address: Calle Maldonado 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa Grande 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old mansión in Arcos de la Frontera has preserved the rustic spirit of the palaces from the Cadiz mountain range. In 1729, the Nuñez de Prado family built this "señorial" house at the heart of the town. In 1998, Elena Posa, fell in love with the house, and settled here determined to respect its authenticity but at the same time living in her own style, and she has transformed it into a small, quiet, and unique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Casa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Hotel Arcos De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing