We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but lacking in amenities and not cheap”
Review of La Casa Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

If one were to look at the other reviews I have left over the years you would see that I am not so picky. I really was expecting more of La Casa Grande. We had the most expensive room with our own private terrace. The view was to die for, but we could hear everything above us, and besides us. In addition the bathroom flooded every time one took a shower( I have been in European hotels many times and never experienced such a thing). While the view was terrific, I wanted to read late at night on the balcony but the light was out of order. Also, I had to use the internet early in the morning for work(they don't have wifi and if they do, they never told us which is annoying because I brought my own computer), so I went to use one of the two public computers. It worked for about 15 minutes and then stopped. I tried later in the day and it still was not working. I tried later that night and it still wasn't working. I wrote a note to the owner letting her know that the internet wasn't working(since no one was available at 1030 pm) and she wrote me back saying I was wrong and that it was working. How upsetting to say the least. In addition I found the place trying to nickle and dime you. For example tapas there was 7 euros whereas at bars and restaurants down the street it was 2-3 euros. Also they don't want you bringing your own alcohol in public areas because they want you to drink their overpriced drinks. On a positive note the place has a certain uniqueness but it ends there. I would not stay there again or recommend it. I must admit thought the girls who worked there were nice and helpful(not the owner).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear oliverlevitt,
First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to comment on La Casa Grande. We take note of the problems you had at the room in order to solve them.
We offer free wifi for our guests, but due to the width of the 18th centuries walls, it does not reach all the rooms, it works well in the yard. We probably forgot to tell you this detail, so we have to assume this misinformation. Although reception service is until 10PM and computers room is normally closed at that time, we knew you would need internet late at night or early in the morning, so that is why we left it opened for you. Unfortunately you finally were not able to use it. When we tried it, after seeing your note later that night, it worked, so we left the note for you in case you decided to continue working during the night.
Regarding the drinks, we have no problem if our guests have them in their rooms, or private terraces, but in the common areas, as we have bar service, we ask not to eat or drink products purchased outside the hotel.
We feel sorry about your bad experience at La Casa Grande.
Thanks again and kind regards!
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a beautifully restored historic property. The owner has taken great care to create a space that is true to its historical character, yet is functional nd comfortable for her guests. The location is marvelous, in the old town, right on the edge of the cliffs. Breakfast was delicious, served in the covered courtyard. The owner was so very helpful in placing 4 of us in a suite that accommodated us, as well as allowing us to store our large bags in a space that precluded our hauling them up several flights of stairs. If you spend the night in Arcos de la Frontera, you will be thrilled to stay at La Casa Grande!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine34102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Elaine34102,
We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to receive guests like you, who perceive the daily work we have as a team at La Casa Grande.
We hope you and your family had a good return home.
Kindest regards!
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

An amazing setting with fabulous views. We had such a welcome review with some complementary sherry and olives.

I recommend trying to get a room with a balcony, the views are just spectacular.

Great hotel and great location for visiting the pueblo blancos.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathalkearnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasagrande28, Propietario at La Casa Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

We are really pleased to hear you had a "perfect" stay at La Casa Grande! This makes us feel comforted and gives us strenght to continue attending our guests te best we can.

Thanks and we hope to see you in another opportunity!

Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Beautiful romantic boutique hotel in the magnificent Arcos de la Frontera.This is where you get the feel for an authentic Andalusian town.The hotel is clean and very well kept with an amazing roof top terrace where you can sip a galss of Roja and gaze at the sunset with no care in the world.We also had a great view of the valley from the balcony of our room which made leaving our room so hard.A stroll in alleys of Arcos itself is a beautiful experience where you will see the daily life of the residents.We went to a tiny local restaurant in an alley b/c the locals were drinking and singing in it and it was wonderful. there is also a convent near the hotel where the nuns sell very yummy home made cookies.One thing to note is that going up to the hotel is a one way street so if you miss the area,you will need to go all the way back down and restart.We parked our car below the town and got a cab up the hill (you can hike it if you have light luggage and are pretty fit as it is a steep hike).We certainly will be back in Arcos and Casa Grande one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaraMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We arrived to Arcos from a wrong direction (should have used a map instead of a navigator) and finding the hotel was a nightmare, but once we were in and had found a parking place (with a help of a close-by restaurant owner) the place was wonderful.
The staff was friendly; patio, library, computer-room, roof-terrace... everything was very nice. We also loved the breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a room next to a roof-terrace, that was lovely! The room had it's own bathroom but not en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katriina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Took a 2-week whirlwind tour of Spain for our honeymoon, and our stop through Arcos de la Frontera came at a time when we desperately needed a rest. And nothing could have been more thoroughly relaxing or restful than a stay at La Casa Grande. We were greeted not by a check-in process....but with local olives and sherry and a mandate to, "Relax...we'll check you in later." The local-made soaps and shampoos were heavenly and the view was nothing short of breathtaking. Enjoyed many hours up on the roof terrace, watching the birds play on the thermal currents and smelling the wood fires in the farms down in the valley. Breakfast was amazing as well, and their suggestion for a restaurant was one of the best we tried on our trip. The ONLY thin I would change about this location would be a WIFI setup that actually works. We could never get it to connect, no matter if we were in the rooms, library, plaza, terrace, etc. Other than that, DON'T CHANGE A THING!!! :-)

Room Tip: Something on the cliff side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theuberdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Truly a fantastic place to stay. Amazing views over the valley from the rooftop terrace or the private balconies. Although wi-fi was free in the lobby it didn't reach the rooms. Not a big deal as we spent most of our time exploring the region. Arcos itself is a neat pueblo blanco and the people are very friendly. The reception staff was incredibly helpful and warm and the welcome glass of sherry was a nice touch. Try for one of the rooftop rooms or the two groundfloor rooms with private balconies if access to the outside is a must. The rooms were big, well decorated, and each was unique. I don't usually rate the showers in hotels, but these were fantastic.

Note: lots of stairs in the hotel.

Highly recommended and the 4 euro parking was close and easy and secure.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooftop room (there are two) or the rooms with private balcony (also 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
562 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Address: Calle Maldonado 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: $68 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Casa Grande 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old mansión in Arcos de la Frontera has preserved the rustic spirit of the palaces from the Cadiz mountain range. In 1729, the Nuñez de Prado family built this "señorial" house at the heart of the town. In 1998, Elena Posa, fell in love with the house, and settled here determined to respect its authenticity but at the same time living in her own style, and she has transformed it into a small, quiet, and unique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Casa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Hotel Arcos De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing