We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is perched on a clifftop and worth the price for the view alone. Stunning! We had a large terrace so we could enjoy the view whenever in the hotel.
The staff where very pleasant and helpful. They arranged to have my laundry picked up by taxi and returned the next day which saved me having to organise it myself.
As others have said driving up to the hotel is tricky due to the narrow and steep streets so leave your car at the sister hotel Los Olivos and take a taxi up, cost 5 euros.
My only slight complaint was that the room smelled a little musty due to it probably being shut up all winter (we were there at the beginning of the season) and was rather small. But this would not stop me staying again some time in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private terrace, the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipsofamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Our hotel welcome your comment.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel El Convento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful old convent, and captures sweeping views of the valley below from almost every room. It is full of character and spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and pleasant, and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome.
We paid extra for a room with a big terrace, which we loved. However rooms with smaller terraces and balconies also had a great view, and their is a shared rooftop terrace also.
Location is great, right in the middle of the old town, with lots of restaurants close by. We caught a cab from the bus station in the new town for €6, easy. It would have been a long, steep walk.
Breakfast isn't included in the room rate, and priced per item, costs add up quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in a future.
Thank you for choosing Hotel El Convento.

Regards,

Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere that is full of character and in a wonderful Spanish hilltop town then this is the palace for you. We were very brave and did drive to the hotel to drop off our luggage and then parked our car in Los Olivos. When we left we just wheeled our cases downhill to collect our car. We were made very welcome on our arrival and the reception staff were very keen to help us improve our Spanish, which was nice of them. The view from our room was amazing, although unfortunately it rained so we were unable to sit on the terrace. We enjoyed our breakfast and were happy to pay the extra for this as the room rate was very reasonable. It was a wonderful experience staying in such an interesting town and within easy walking distance of several bars/ restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you have had a wonderful experience staying our hotel.
Thank you so much.

The Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Honestly, I was a bit afraid this place might be a little touristy when I saw the connection to Rick Steves and an odd comment about the hotel in Lonely Planet but my fears were instantly assuaged when we walked in the door.

We were greeted warmly at the desk and later learned that this hotel is run by a family. These folks are extremely hard working, welcoming, and really do a nice job making a home-away-from-home for us.

We chose one of the terrace rooms and it did not disappoint. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking to valley below and literally clinging to the side of the cliff. We spent our first afternoon napping on our terrace and enjoying the beautiful weather and peace and quiet that Arcos affords.

Breakfast was superb but as noted in some other reviews it is charged extra. But considering the very low price of the room this hotel is still a superb value even adding in the cost of breakfast. We also got a couple bottles of excellent rioja wine from the front desk that were extremely inexpensive yet delightful.

I will echo other comments - do not drive up to the old town. It's just not worth the hassle. A taxi is a flat-rate of 6 euros so park in the new town and taxi up the mountain. We took the Los Amarillos bus to Arcos from Sevilla and it is a gorgeous relaxing 2-hour drive, so personally I wouldn't bother with a car at all. Between the bus, train and taxi service in Spain a car is just a liability, headache, and unnecessary expense.

Wifi is available in the rooms and was extremely fast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinallyFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Front Office Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear FinallyFlying,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to receive guests who perceive the daily work we have.
We appreciate that location were not a disadvantage for you. Being in the heart of the historical old town of Arcos gives our clients the possibility of finding the charm of the town.
We hope to welcome you at El Convento in a future!
Best regards,
Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

By far Arcos de la Fronterra and the El Convento Hotel were "up there" in an excellent experience during our trip throughout Spain. The town is old with plenty of history but not overrun with tourists like Ronda. The views are breathtaking.
The hotel owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was #6 with a terrace. I agree with everyone else... do not attempt to drive up but park at the sister hotel in town called Hotel Olivos.When you arrive with luggage definitely take the taxi up (and leave with it). Otherwise you can walk down into the "new town" quite easily or take the shuttle bus which drives through these tiny streets miraculously unscathed.
We used Arcos as a base for exploring Cadiz, the surrounding hilltowns including Ronda and Tarifa.If you do this just be careful that you do not end up on a second grade mountain road (as we did)..... Spain has recently been changing its road numbering and maps don't always match with the numbers. Check via michelin for proper routes as the T1 in Arcos gives maps that are not really helpful (they also actually sent us to the rather scary mountain road to Ronda)
I definitely would recommend this special hotel and the special people in the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for room #6 if possible or a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay and hope to welcome you again at the Hotel. Regards, Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you love views and great atmosphere this is the place. We opted for a room with a balcony and it was worth it. The old town is a great experience. It is perched up on a cliff. What a great place for walking around day and night. DO NOT drive to the hotel. The parking is impossible. Park at their sister hotel Los Olivos in a gated lot and take a taxi to the hotel. When we were there the parking was 8 euros a night and the taxi ride was 6 euros. We stayed for two nights and would have loved to stay longer. They only serve breakfast but there are many places to eat around the hotel. We were in room number 4 and were allowed 50 liters of hot water at a time. If we used it up it was a wait of 45 minutes until there was more. At first I kinda freaked out as I only think in gallons, however, it did not prove to be a problem. Give this hotel a try and experience a very special place.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn85378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Director de Recepción at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay and hope to welcome you again at the Hotel. Regards, Hotel El Convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location and good value for money. The views from the hotel are superb,so make sure that you get a room with a balcony. The only downside is that the floors tiles are marble, so it can get really cold during the winter.

Room Tip: Try to get room 6. Slightly bigger and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelconvento, Gerente at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013
Google Translation

Hotel El Convento le da las gracias por su comentario!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#9 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marques De Torresoto
Marques De Torresoto
#12 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Calle Maldonado 2, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el corazon del conjunto Historico-Artistico de Arcos, parte del convento de las monjas Mercedarias se ha transformado en el Hotel El Convento para que los visitantes puedan disfrutar en calma de la antigua belleza de este pueblo hecho monumento de claridad.Desde sus habitaciones o desde una amplia terraza se contemplan magnificas vistas sobre la Pena y la vega del rio Guadalete en un enclave tranquilo, entre iglesias y casas senoriales.Un placer para los sentidos es lo que encontraran los huespedes del Hotel El Convento.Tradicion, buen comer y unos alrededores naturales que tiene mucho que descubrir, siempre predominando la tranquilidad. Sus 13 habitaciones que disponen de TV, telefono, wi-fi gratuito, aire acondicionado y bano completo pero donde se ha querido mantener el estilo tradicional de este pueblo en todos los rincones y estancias que componen el edificio.Algunas de las habitaciones poseen un nombre distinto en homenaje a escritores, poetas o personajes del mundo de la cultura. Un trato cordial y atento contribuye a hacer inolvidable su estancia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing