We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel and have stayed on four occasions so far

The place is spotlessly clean and very friendly and always staffed with people who will do everything to ensure your stay is a good one and offer any help regarding the local area you may need

The view from the rooms and terraces is simply breathtaking, air con is a useful addition in the summer months

We will definately go back

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same just ask for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic100Lichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 234 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel was at the top on the town next to the Parador. Our room was large and had a beautiful terrace overlooking the valley. The only slight problem was the parking-one had to go to the sister hotel at the lower village to park. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was very clean. Driving to the top of the hill is not recommended unless you have a Smart Car-we had to close in our mirrors in order to pass through the Porta. Our only complain about the room (the Rick Steves Room) was that the bed was as hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This might be our favorite spot after 2 weeks of traveling around Spain. We originally had a balcony, but after seeing the terraces (and as they had an opening) we upgraded to one, and it was worth the extra Euros. We sad out on the terrace, shared some wine, took tons of amazing pictures that made everyone back home jealous (free wi-fi), and started planning our return trip someday. This town and lovely spot were at the top of our list. (The one downside was the limited hot water--I appreciate the environment concern, and I really do, but after all that time on the terrace in the damp air, I needed a hot shower to warm up!) BEWARE of the DRIVE up there though. We went through it all, and then there was no parking, so we still had to hike up with the bags from their sister hotel Olivos (which isn't that bad).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late April. We chose a room with a balcony overlooking the valley, and the view was spectacular. Also, the balcony was really better than the room. It had separate lounging chairs and a table and chairs. (It was a great place to hang out a bit of hand washing as the breeze dried it in a minute.) We really enjoyed just being there, in that spot, drinking a glass of Spanish wine! The room was ok, comfortable but nothing special. It was, however, very clean. The breakfast was "controlled serving," you know all those places that serve you bread, meat, and cheese. Do check before requesting a second glass of orange juice because it later might be tacked onto your room bill. Ask before ordering. Seems a bit cheesy. But, overall this is a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

All I can say is that the selling point for this place is the spectacular view from the rooms facing the valley below.

We stayed in the "Rick Steeves" suite and had the most amazing view from a huge terrace.

The rooms were huge and clean. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but a local one that was good.

Walking around the old town was nice (quiet little town).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

A nice clean, typical local Spanish hotel on the top of the hiil. Terrace rooms are a must for the view. Local restaurants close by.
Getting up there is not an easy task if you drive. Narrow, one-way Spanish streets are a hazard! Alternatively, leave your car in the town and taxi up.
Arcos is a bit over-rated to me. There are other better and more driver-friendly local towns to see.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are a must for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browser09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The rooms in this hotel were very nice, clean and comfortable - attractively decorated and uncluttered, but the view from your balcony or terrace is just awesome. You are situated right on the edge of a cliff that drops off hundreds of feet and the valley is spread out below just begging to be photographed. It is a great place to enjoy a bottle of wine on your terrace as you watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
287 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Calle Maldonado 2, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: $57 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el corazon del conjunto Historico-Artistico de Arcos, parte del convento de las monjas Mercedarias se ha transformado en el Hotel El Convento para que los visitantes puedan disfrutar en calma de la antigua belleza de este pueblo hecho monumento de claridad.Desde sus habitaciones o desde una amplia terraza se contemplan magnificas vistas sobre la Pena y la vega del rio Guadalete en un enclave tranquilo, entre iglesias y casas senoriales.Un placer para los sentidos es lo que encontraran los huespedes del Hotel El Convento.Tradicion, buen comer y unos alrededores naturales que tiene mucho que descubrir, siempre predominando la tranquilidad. Sus 13 habitaciones que disponen de TV, telefono, wi-fi gratuito, aire acondicionado y bano completo pero donde se ha querido mantener el estilo tradicional de este pueblo en todos los rincones y estancias que componen el edificio.Algunas de las habitaciones poseen un nombre distinto en homenaje a escritores, poetas o personajes del mundo de la cultura. Un trato cordial y atento contribuye a hacer inolvidable su estancia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing