We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcaravan

Alcaravan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good traditional tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After 10 days of subsisting on tapas in small Andalucian towns I was happy to find Alcaraván. They have very good quality traditional tapas and some that you don't frequently find on menus, such as mushrooms stuffed with cheese and eggplant with ibérico ham. I didn't have anything from the grill so I can't comment on that. Their tuna was also very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sequoia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    96
    27
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food without frills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Don't expect haute cuisine, here you are in a tapas bar with a limited drinks list and a food menu to cater for all. We had Cuttlefish, battered and fried in a light manner, it was really delicious. Next was marinated dogfish. Reminded me of the marinade we used to have at Muir's in Hobart. Light spicy and the fish was so moist there was no evidence of overcooking. Finally skewer's of chicken and lamb, both spiced nicely and served on some 'average' potato chips. The meat was tender and tasty. The wine list--- well there isn't one, but the red was cheap and cheerful and we were well fed and watered for just over 20 euro.
Highlight. if you sit outside, you can watch the cars negotiate the narrow bends to go from this secondary artery to the main 'drag'. Can they swing left in one turn. About 1 in 8 seems to be able to do it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agf-on-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK but where was the grill?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went here because of the good reviews of the grill/bbq and the personal service. However, there was no sign of either. We were presented with standard menus. The food was OK but nothing special and the service was fairly mediocre and certainly no sign of the couple running it. It was quite difficult to get attention to get a drink and it was not that busy. The waiters wore polo shirts with the logo of Bar Caracel as well as Alcaravan. In a word - disappointing. We expected much more from looking at the reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliGSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
203 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great home barbecued food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Simple fare cooked by the owner and his wife scrambled eggs with asparagus and barbecued lamb chops and pork and local wine lees than 40 euros superb

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best meal in Arcos in an intimate cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a charming bar-restaurant placed on a cave and run by a lovely couple. The menu includes grilled meat (lamb, porc, etc), cheese, ham, etc...as well as some few home-made dishes as 'pisto de verduras', 'pimientos rellenos', etc... and also some deserts, everything was delicious.

Even better than the food was the service provided by Paco and Maria, they are very friendly and despite not speaking english we enjoyed seeing him discussing and joking with a couple of american tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank XMLAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcaravan also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Alcaravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing