We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Certificate of Excellence
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The view!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our stay at this Parador was a special treat! The well appointed room was large and overlooked the plaza and church. The lounge on the main floor offered a quiet retreat for reading and internet access. The private terrace and public patio offered opportunities to sun, read, relax over a meal or a drink and meet with friends - and - the view was breathtaking! The staff were gracious and the Parador was spotless. Centrally located, we found excellent restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza keep you close to the action but are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    186
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
87
308
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Parador was lovely. It sits on top of a hill overlooking the valley. The rooms that have balconie are amazing. Room 18 was the best. It's quiet, oTher than the bells which stop at some point. Very narrow windy roads lead up to this Parador. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious. The breakfasts are mostly buffet, with exception of scrambled or fried eggs. Dinners were set on the patio which was very pleasant. We preferred the vegetarian choices. Huge portions and big desserts.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Room 18 is the corner room with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staying here feels really special due to the location and the refinement of the property – the photos of the hotel on the various websites really don’t do it justice. The hotel is in a really stunning location, on the main square next to an interesting church and opposite another two beautiful austere buildings – the town hall and the castle. If you get a room overlooking the square (I’m not sure if they all do), you will have a great view of these three buildings. On one side of this square is the viewing point of the sheer drop to the plain and river below. The hotel restaurant also has this view from its terrace. The hotel building is a former magistrate’s house and is tastefully appointed in keeping with the style of the property. The rooms are large and nicely proportioned. There is free Wi-Fi available. The staff are very helpful and kind. Also, you can get a really good night’s sleep here, the beds are comfortable and the nights are quiet.

A word of warning regarding parking. Most visitors will I suspect get here by car and the most convenient parking is on the square in front of the hotel (Plaza del Cabildo) which gets very busy. It is worth waiting for a free parking space as people seem to come and go regularly. The parking machine doesn’t allow you to pay for more than 2 hours at the time. Make sure you top up the parking on time as there are parking attendants in action first thing in the morning. There is alternative underground parking ten minutes’ walk downhill, in which case it is best to drop off the luggage at the hotel before going to park. The streets in the old town are narrow and can be tricky to navigate, particularly if you have a large car, or are not used to driving in such conditions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northwindblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I spent two days here during a trip through southern Spain. While the town itself doesn't have two days worth of sights or experiences to offer (versus, for example Ronda), we used our stay as a quiet respite and some down time. The Parador turned out to be the perfect place for this. It is centrally located (but be prepared to put to side mirrors in on the car getting there!) and everything is either a short stroll away or a quick run on the circuit bus. The view from most of the rooms is the classic Arcos view of the cliffs and valley below, and the rooms themselves are fine and a good value. We had dinner there one night and it was quite good, but the breakfasts were the best we found in Spain, by a large margin. (Fifi, one of the servers, was wonderful at every meal.)

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a view - why else come to Arcos?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Thisbis one of the nice Paradores. The views are fantastic if youbtake one of the superior room withbalcony. Costa a little more but it is worth it as the other rooms do not have much charm.

See review of restaurant, which is a downside but the cafeteria is excellent

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

While nervously following your sat nav the streets get narrower and narrower and you can only presume that you have strayed onto a pedestrian-only street but you haven't. You reach a point where you feel you must reverse but you don;t have a choice as there are 3 or 4 cars on your tail. You have to negotiate a 7 ft 4 in (I measured it later) passage which is the space between the church and it flying buttress. Then you don't have time to draw breath before you turn immediately right at the gable end of the church up into a small square already packed with cars to reach the hotel. For evermore you will recognise all cars from Arcos by the scrapes down the side

It's an old building, beautifully decorated inside, built on the crumbling rock which is Arcos. The view out the sitting room window is vertiginous and then you dare to step out onto the restaurant patio.

The bedroom was old but very spacious, cool and comfortable. The staff again were quite helpful. Everything can be seen in an hour or two strolling around from the very central location of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants offering excellent tapas and full meals within a two minutes walk. The breakfast restaurant in the hotel is beautiful and well presented but unfortunately the breakfast doesn't live up to its surroundings. However, the stay was great value for money and highly recommended for a most relaxing stay in an authentic old Spanish building. See it and stay there before it collapses into the valley!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed one night's stay at this Parador on our recent trip to Spain. What a gem! Nothing can compare to the wonder of staying in an ancient building with the most breathtaking views of the Andulucian countryside. We enjoyed room 7's beautiful views, spacious patio and special details. I loved the attention to authenticity with the decor, it really made me feel like I was experiencing something special. The drive up to the property is hairy but what an adventure! We rented an Audi A4 and squeezed through the narrow, winding streets up to the top of the town and while scary at parts, I wouldn't trade the experience for anything! The gentleman in the "parking lot," is not an official employee of anyone. He simply guides cars into parking spots and asks for tips--so don't be alarmed and only tip him what you feel like. There's no cost. The breakfast isn't necessarily worth the cost, but since you can eat in the beautiful dining room, might as well. All in all, this was a fantastic, authentic snapshot into Spain and everyone should experience this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sectravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
2.4 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cortijo Barranco
El Cortijo Barranco
#7 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
Hotel La Fonda del Califa
#10 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Arcos de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Arcos de la Frontera

Property: Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Address: Plaza del Cabildo s/n, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Arcos de la Frontera 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cultural crossbreeding of the Casa del Corregidor displays an andalusian character, with latticework and a courtyard. Many of the rooms overlook a splendid landscape filled with art, nature and history. The flowery tiling enlivers the wood of the furniture and the ochre of the terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parador Arcos de la Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing