We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babel Restaurant

Babel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small restaurant located at the gates of the old town of Arcos de la Frontera, our menu is composed of the traditional Moroccan meal, are authentic homemade dishes like our pastries handmade by ourselves. Our restaurant is decorated entirely by the Moroccan-style rooms have two tables one below 4 and one at the top of the local 5, is a cozy, romantic and quiet place where you can enjoy the smells, tastes and rhythms of music good ethnic, come to know.
Sao Pedro da Serra, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A brilliant place, the one restaurant to have dinner in Arcos, Oscar will give you a great wellcome and their food is one of the best you could find in this village.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
2 reviews
“Just fantastic!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This small restaurant was a great surprise. We ordered two different salads, kefta, hummus, a soup, BBQ chicken, a lamb dish and a chicken dish with cinnamon and almonds. We were four pers. who shared it all and it was more than enough! Especially the chicken with cinnamon and almonds was really great and the lamb dish is the best, I ever had! We had a small portion of really spicy chili on the side, wich made it possible to spice up the dishes as much as we individually prefered. The waiter (and owner) was so sweet and even though hos english wasen't the best, and our spanish not that good eather, he made an effort to mane us understand what we had on the plates. All on all it was one of the best meals I ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johannesjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Arcos”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went for lunch when we arrived and ended up going back for dinner. The homos and felafel were superb accompanied by their house salad. Main courses were Pastel and Chicken Tagine. The pastel was superb if you like sweet and savory. The setting was great, with good taste in music and a genial host. My only wish would be for a better selection of wines. Overall prices were very good with a meal for 2 at around 30 euro with wine. The coffee and home made pastries were great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristobal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a delicious authentic Moroccan feast here. Great service, great food. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alca_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent food and service. We were just walking by the restaurant, with no intention of stopping, when we smelled to delicious arouma. For a two course meal, we paid 9 euros each. If you are in Arcos, this place is way better than the tourist-trap food up by the church.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo_Diablo_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babel Restaurant also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Babel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing