We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hilltop stay”
Review of Casa El Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa El Sueno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa el Sueno in Arcos and our day-trips out to Jerez, Cadiz and Tarifa were interesting, too. Uko is a warm and helpful host who never let us leave for the day without providing us with some tips and a map. He called to arrange reservations for us to visit the nature reserve on Costa del Luz. Our room was very comfortable with unforgettable views of the local river and countryside. Just one "heads up": it can be difficult to find parking down below and the climb from there can be quite a distance up a fairly steep hill. That did not mar our experience in the least but it could be difficult for some travelers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs suite which is 2 connected rooms that can sleep four. It was very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked direct and received a very quick prompt reply from Uko. Our choice of rooms was already booked but we stayed in La Pena room, which had a double and single bed. It ran from the front to the rear of the building with a window to the Street and rear window with lovely view to the river and surrounding country side. We paid 75E per night for a three night stay. This included a most enjoyable breakfast, with juice, cereal, fruits, yoghurt pastries plus cooked eggs etc. The accommodation also had a small gallery area with couches, tea coffee and a fridge with drinks for sale at a small charge.
Yes the road to Casa el Sueno is very narrow and somewhat challenging. However if you follow the detailed notes provided and have a small car its Ok. There is ample free parking further down the road with a five minutes walk back.
Uko was generous with his time upon arrival, explaining the layout of the town, cafes, tapas bars sights and restaurants. He also assisted in advising very good car parking on our trip to Seville. Our room was comfortable, with a good bathroom. Uko was a very capable, friendly and informative host. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this B & B. Our only tip would be if you are a light sleeper, avoid La Pena and try for a rear room. The road is cobblestone and passing cars may interrupt your sleep, although the windows are double glazed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Driving here is a challenging experience unless you're used to roads that are barely wider than your car. However, you won't regret going to this splendid hotel, despite the nearest parking being some distance down a steep hill. Uko made us very welcome and gave us lots of helpful advice.

Seeing the town will only take a couple of hours and that is good because that leaves plenty of time to relax up on the roof and gaze at one of the most breathtaking views you will ever see. We took picnic lunches and wine and settled to a couple of memorable afternoons just soaking up the sun, watching the swifts and loving where we were. The views from our top floor window were just as good and it was entirely safe to have the windows open at night so that we didn't need the aircon at all.

There was a good variety of teas, coffee and other drinks readily available but we would have liked a bit more 'help yourself' food at breakfast. The ultra fresh bread was great.

We enjoyed a 2 hour stroll around the double loop in the river which can be located fairly easily from the hotel. If you do this walk take some biscuits for the pony that lives on the farm below the hotel. He is quite a bully for such a little animal and will see off his larger companions easily!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the top room and the views that go with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family of four spent one night here but would have liked to have stayed longer. Nicely renovated and decorated historic building with views overlooking the valley below. We loved our room, the roof terrace, and the hospitality at breakfast. The town of Arcos is very interesting, but Casa el Sueno is itself worth the trip. Be sure to ask Uko to tell you the story of how it came to be -- he and his wife were the winners of a Dutch reality tv show where they competed against other couples to renovate this bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room that could accomodate four people. It was two small rooms and a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Family of 4 accommodation was great in an excellent room with great view. Rooftop was also excellent. Owner is a great host. Casa is perfectly situated in a city - Puebla Blanca - you should not miss if you are in this part of Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter0656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Casa Sueno was the best place we stayed during our 18 day trip around Spain. The room was charming with a probably 18 ft high heavy beamed ceiling in a 500 yr. old building but with super modern amenities. Bathroom had top of the line fixtures. The roof-top terrace was relaxing and offered views over the surrounding country-side and river. Full breakfast was included and was delicious. Navigating to the old town can be a challenge but the owners emailed us very detailed instructions and we did not get lost. Also, you need to be able to park on a dime because there are limited parking spaces available.

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms so any one would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arcos is such a beautiful town and we' re so glad we stayed at Casa el sueno - lovely B and B with personal touch and surely a place to hope to come back to. Best accomodation we had stayed in the entire trip to south of spain.
Owner Uko is a great host - very helpful, great communicator with a good sense of humour! He had sent us clear emails with driving directions to his place once booking was confirmed. However, Arcos is a very challenging place to drive and figure out directions- especially if you dont speak spanish. GPS is a total waste of time there and only leads you in the wrong way! We embarrasingly got lost (despite clear written instructions from Uko!) and after searching around for almost an hour driving through roads that are super narrow and steep (somewhat traumatising and almost nightmarish experience if u are not used to such roads !) – hubby gave up his pride and we decided to call Uko. He came to our rescue within minutes and helped us find a park for the car and drove us plus our luggage to his place in his own car !
The hospitality didnt stop just there- he gave us a great orientation to his ‘casa’, our room and showed us around the roof top with fantastic views. He also gave us helpful tips and suggestions on eating places and went through with us in detail maps and driving directions back so that we don’t get lost again .. haha 
The B and B is also in a ideal location in the old town- within minutes walk to great restaurants and some bars. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it didn’t feel claustrophic at all and the deco was so simple and soothing. Great shower with nice –smelling toiletries. Breakfast next day was tasty and healthy - with good variety.
All in all, a very positive experience - it felt like we were staying at a friend's home rather than a hotel. Only wished we had stayed longer in this beautiful town and at el sueno - hopefully the next time :)

Room Tip: i believe the bigger rooms have better views ! book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Sueno

Address: Calle Martin Montero 13, 11620 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa El Sueno is a small family Bed & Breakfast. We offer 5 comfortable rooms in the old centre of Arcos de la Frontera, each with its own atmosphere and some of them with a spectacular view on the lake of Arcos. The house is an ancient patio house that was refurbished in 2010, combining traditional elements with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing