We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, good food, outstanding value.”
Review of Bar la Carcel

Bar la Carcel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: tel 956-700-410
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place, good food, outstanding value.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

5 of us had a variety of starters and mains. The place is small and comfortable. They were showing the football. The food was filling and tasty. The T Bone steak was huge and excellent. The lamb chops were thin but very plentiful and very tasty. The pork borchetita were filling but came in a sweet apple sauce I found a bit cloying.The prawns in garlic were greasy but tasty. Wild boar was a bit tough but got the thumbs up.

The meal was a success. When the bill came, we thought they'd undercharged us. The place is seriously good value.

We all agreed we would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walker-S-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    251
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
245 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Warning - avoid!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I ordered Salmorejo. Waiter came back and said sorry - no Salmorejo. Then I ordered Belotta, another dish and the Burger. The Belotta and the other dish ok but the burger was awful. The bread was totally dry so it fell apart when I tried to get a bite. The burger meat looked like some prefabricated meat, sweaty and greasy. There was no grilled crispy crust. It almost looked like it was boiled. Inside it was raw and the meat again looked weird. If the meat is high quality I don´t mind if is is a little undercooked (I prefer medium rare) but not when the meat looks like this.
I complained. The waiter did not give a toss and when the bill came I had to pay for it despite leaving the burger almost untouched and complaining. Avoid!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good quality Tapas”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a quiet Sunday afternoon meal at the Bar la Carcel. Quite honestly, we had some of the best quality Tapas we ate in 2 weeks in Spain. Seats are comfortable and shaded and the service is friendly and unhurried. Just what you want to relax during the hotest part of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food relaxed atomsphere. But the place was too busy to have only one waiter on. He seemed to struggle.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We planned to visit this place after reading some reviews. And we must say we weren't disappointed. It was very busy when we arrived l. So we had a drink while we waited for a table. The menu has a fairly good choice. However wherever you go to eat in arcos the restaurant menus are pretty much the same everywhere with the defference coming in the taste. We enjoyed our food. With the only downside was that the waiter had taken our order wrong. Even though our spanish isnt that bad. Only draw back to the meals. And this is only to individual taste. They seem to top the meat/fish off with a lot of sea salt in this restaurant. We thought it might be a local custom but this was the only restaurant that did this. Good place well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Busy Street, Not a Lot of Atmosphere, Some Very Good Dishes”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The thing about Arcos is that you should not eat until 10 PM. We ate too early - around 8 PM -and I think this affected the atmosphere which I would not rate well. It was not busy except for cars driving by the rather sterile outside aluminium tables and chairs. Service was good. We ordered 2 dishes and a bottle of wine. The wine was good. The first dish, warm goat cheese with basil and pepper sauce and small toasted bread squares was huge and delicious. The second dish, prawns wrapped in bacon, served with chips, was ok, but kind of reminded me of something one would buy frozen. However, the bill was very inexpensive! 20.5 Euros!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar la Carcel also viewed

Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Arcos de la Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Bar la Carcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing