We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Balcony, Excellent Value”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graechen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Valley Appartement Hotel des Alpes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed with a group of four in one of the "suites" for four persons. The suite came with a kitchen (including coffee machine and fridge), sofa, a double bedroom and two beds hidden in the walls and foldable at night in the living room. But best of it all our room had a superb balcony which was huge and had a fantastic view.

There is a very good spa area downstairs but we had to ask in the restaurant to switch it on so waiting time is a bit annoying and you strangely need to buy extra coins for the jacuzzi. But sauna, steam bath and dream shower is free.

The restaurant service was not really taking care of us when we had a beer in the early evening so we decided to eat elsewhere (Walliserkanne, highly recommended!).

The only thing that is a bit annoying is that you need to check in and out in another hotel approx. 400 meters away, and the matresses aren't the most comfortable ones you've ever slept on. Besides that I can warmly recommend the suite we stayed in, and at the price we got (160CHF for the suite for 4 persons) it was actually a bargain.

Room Tip: I think the room number was 104 and we had an outstandingly huge terrace with panoramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We only stayed for one night, but we were impressed by this small hotel. There are different sizes of appartments, we rented a studio which consisted of one large room with a kitchenette, a large table, comfy sitting group, a bunk bed and two fold-away beds. There was also a balcony with a lovely view of the mountains. The whole building seemed to be pretty new and the furniture as well as the bathroom amenities were spotless. For breakfast buffet there was a good choice of food, including cheese and cold meets. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We thought that this hotel offers a good value and the location was perfect - in the car free section of the village and therefore very quiet, but only a few minutes walking from the shops, bus stop and the cable car stations. We didn't use the wellness facilities, but the sauna and whirlpool might be a nice treat after hiking or skiing, but I believe they are not free of charge, which is somewhat strange.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank celina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graechen hotels
0.1 mi away
Aktiv Hotel & Spa Hannigalp
0.2 mi away
Turm Hotel & Spa Gracherhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Walliserhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel zum See
Hotel zum See
#11 of 15 in Graechen
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#8 of 15 in Graechen
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 15 in Graechen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Valley Appartement Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Valley Appartement Hotel des Alpes

Address: Graechen 3925, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Graechen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Graechen
Hotel Class:3 star — Matterhorn Valley Appartement Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing