We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place you have to see”
Review of Traunsee

Traunsee
Book In Advance
More Info
$740.47*
and up
Private Day Trip to Hallstatt Including Beautiful Alps, Admont Abbey, and Ort...
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Gmunden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place you have to see”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Traunsee is one of the nicest lakes I have seen. The speed of life is so relaxing around here, it could become my new life style...
Try it, I'll bet you will like it. (especially coming from LA as we did!!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Under Appreciated”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Gmunden is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. It is a paradise for hiking, boating, skiing, relaxing and the local food and beer is fabulous!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing.. Just perfect. The breathtaking views, the lake, the mountains.. It can't be described in words. Hope I will return some day.

Helpful?
2 Thank andreea_dede13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
659 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Superb getaway!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a great place to get away from it all. A beautiful lake surrounded by mountains easy to get to. Just a few miles from the Autobahn with cities on the north and south. Many places to stay which are great with views or just an inexpensive Pension. If you love to hike, or just view the scenery it does not get any better. They also have skiing on one of their mountains right there. Too many places for touristing to mention. This lake just a fabulous scenic hideaway.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gmunden , Austria”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hugging the sides of the lake, we went strolling today by Traunsee , in Gmunden , Austria.
What a delight. Lovely cafes , restaurants, ice creams along the sides of the lake, and the views are outstanding. Sort of a poor man's Como see.
But really try the Gmundenberg Haus, for a trink and something to eat. Great value and the views, fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LazyEXCTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traunsee also viewed

Gmunden, Upper Austria
Gmunden, Upper Austria
 
Gmunden, Upper Austria
Gmunden, Upper Austria
 

Been to Traunsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing