We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Destinia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
137
88
18
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
137
88
18
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reception staff games room swimming pool living room small refrigerator nice kitchen valley accommodation apartment town austria skiing alpine admire slopes sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 259 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Everything was perfect. Full equipment kitchen, big bathroom and large, clean room.
Unfortunatly, we got a backside room (studio, room nr. 409) without no view to Dachstein.
That hotel has in each room iPhone docking radios, dvd player, etc.
Friendly staff. Free Parking.

Only one negative thing: no free WiFi

Room tip: If your room is 409, keep in mind, it haven't got view to Dachstein. Try to change your room! :-)
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris_moessinger, Manager at Alpine Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are happy to read that your apartment was well equipped with everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable.
We are working on the WIFI service in the hope to offer a better service in the future.
We hope you will visit us again.
Doris Moessinger
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent hotel with 1st class accommodation. The room has been newly renovated and furnished with quality furniture and the views from the front facing rooms are astounding.

Don't hesitate if the general area suits stay here .

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from Alpine Club. We had a fantastic time. Skiing was great surprisingly as the sun shone most days and it got up to 18 degrees. would definitely recommend hiring a car though. We did not and spent €8 each way to Planai each day for the Gondola. We hired our ski equipment at Planai and left everything in a locker overnight. This was so convenient and lovely and warm for our arrival the next morning.

We will almost certainly return to Schladming. The children really enjoyed the swimming pool at the hotel too. We had room 52 which was overlooking the valley with amazing views. The rooms were also cleaned 3 times in the week that we were there. Staff very friendly and helpful too.

Room tip: Facing the mountains and high up
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maples86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris_moessinger, Manager at Alpine Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a lovely time at our resort.
We are sure future travellers will take your tips on ski hire in to consideration when they are booking in the future.
We do hold our staff to an extremely high standard of service so we are always glad to read when they provide this service to our guests.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Doris Moessinger
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

As a Club Member of DRI of some years now, I finally bit the bullet and paid full price (points) for a week at Schladming. It is very tough to get into so we actually booked a year in advance. Top tip number 1 flew Jet2. They were excellent and there was no worries about skis, boot bags, luggage limits and that crap you get with other airlines. Top tip 2. Hire a car, the transfers are ridiculously priced. As long as you are comfortable with driving in the snow - no worries.

Now the hotel. Lovely staff and the sort of check in you expect from DRI. But, the rooms are not what you expect. We booked a 2 bed Elite and I am afraid they do not meet the standard. They are stuck in the 80's and need a good Refurb. I actually went back to reception to ask if they'd got it right. The rooms were a bit smelly and not that clean. Nowhere near the standard of, say, a Sahara Sunset or Santa Barbara elite. Everything is a bit worn, used and not much care taken. I know this is a ski resort but I have stayed in some dodgy cheap French ones that beat this standard. Again, you have to pay for the Internet, why? This is exasperated by the fact that it is all free anywhere on the mountain. I was facebooking while traversing between Mountains!

The welcome meet was done by the lovely Christine who, bless her did the best she could. But, it was in what looked like a board room with us 5, a Croatian non club member couple and a French family who were as bemused as we were. Not being ageist but it would have been nice to have a young, animation type, person that put on a quiz or stuff to do relevant to all us skiers etc. The free beer was nice. There must be a way that the company could sort out a bit of discount on lift passes as well other wise what is the advantage a DRI ski location.

Now we come to the pool. It is nice but the Jacuzzi, what a joke! If you like a one man bath with your mate it is not a problem. It was explained "We went for the most hygienic option!" Zum Biespiel: you have to get a coin - free if your a member -you pay if not- put it in the machine wait for it to go through its disinfectant cycle then 7 minutes to fill, 15 minutes of sandblasting water jets then it empties. It's ridiculous! Get a bloody proper jacuzzi you loonies! Top tip 3: For all you British out there. The sauna is fully naked. Not a problem but take a little hand towel to put your feet on as well as your DRI one. NO flip flops! They don't like it up um Mr Manwearing! No kids pool and in fact no kids stuff at all really.

Food: The hotel does have a quaint little, typical Austrian, restaurant. The people who run it are lovely, polite and welcoming. The food is nice but the choice limited. There is a salad bar and although 90% of it is pickled, I like that anyway but some may not. You can ask for stuff other than what is on the menu as the daily a la carte is just a variation of the standard menu. A fish or a meat. Where ever you go for 4 adults it will always be around €60 - €80 not including drinks. The one thing that does stand out is that any meal we had with a sauce is that the sauce makes it! Also, take advantage of the nice people in the hotel cos everywhere else we went everyone seemed grumpy and in one restaurant we felt like we were imposing!

Skiing: Top tip No 4: The best lift pass is the 5 in 7. The skiing is excellent! The ski Amade pass covers everything you could ever need. Access to the slopes is easy and once on there you couldn't ask for more. Schladming Planai was amazing! The skiing is definitely for someone who has skied before. Every lift comes out on a red. If the weather conditions permit the Planai Ski run 1 top to bottom is stunning with the World Championship Ski run starting half way down.

All in all it was a good holiday, but the accommodation was not up to the normal DRI standards. Sorry to say but AlpenClub Schliersee was better, it is a shame it's gone. Top Tip No:4 Dachstein Glacier is the DB.

Sorry if some of this is a bit of a moan but some things detracted from the enjoyment we should of had.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Stevecass100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris_moessinger, Manager at Alpine Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for all the tips you shared with your fellow travellers and our potential future guests, we are certain these will be appreciated and will come in handy whilst in the area. We are sorry if you felt that there were some maintenance issues at the resort and that you were not impressed with some of the facilities on site. With regards to the Jacuzzi this is correct, after a long deliberation we concluded that as most our guests do spend a lot of time on the slopes this may be the most suitable and hygienic option. We are sorry if this was in any way inconvenient. We hope that you will decide to visit us again!

Doris Moessinger
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are Diamond members , albeit recent ones and we decided to go back to skiing after some years away with our 2 children (15 yrs and 10yrs), who had never skied before. The Alpine club is ideally situated to enjoy both the winter sports and enjoy a relaxing break away. It is situated above Schladming and we stayed in a 2 bed roomed apartment on the 4th floor which had 3 balconies making the most of the fabulous views of the surrounding mountains. Very little snow around the hotel and in fact no snow in the town at all. However the fantastic snow machines on the mountains ensured this didn't hinder our skiing at all. The rooms are very spacious and clean, a small kitchen has everything you need as I would expect from Diamond. No oven but the microwave does everything.There were 2 bathrooms which were always warm, in fact the whole apartment was so warm we regularly had to open windows to let some cool air in! We used the swimming pool every day and I have to say it is very well kept. There is a sauna with European rules so no clothes, not our bag to be honest! Diamond employ an Austrian lady called Christine who organises all the trips, we did the skittles night and horse drawn sleigh ride. Both were great fun and well worth the money. Christine is a lovely lady and is so willing to please and is a brilliant person to speak to about anything to do with the area. She also does the walking trips in the summer. You can book lift passes and ski school from the hotel. We used the Hopl ski school for both children and ourselves. They were great once we got sorted and found out who our instructors were. My kids are desperate to go again next year but I think I may have left it too late to book as this hotel is so popular with Diamond members .....I will be ringing tomorrow to find out!!! We flew to Munich as it was much cheaper than Salzburg and it took us over3 hours to get to the hotel but this was due to the fact that many Germans were travelling to Austria to ski as well. Very easy to navigate to though.

Room tip: We stayed in 42 -I think rooms not he upper floor have better views-lift adequate
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tellitasitisWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris_moessinger, Manager at Alpine Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed a week skiing.
We are glad your apartment was spacious and well kept. It is good for us to read that our staff were helpful to you at all times.
We are sure other travellers are going to take notes of your tips on the resort.
We hope you will visit us again soon”
Doris Moessinger
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews