We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, would go back”
Review of Alpine Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine Club
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here at the end of June of this year. It was our first time staying here and would go back again. The place was nice and clean. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment over looking the town. There was lots to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Situated in the lovely town of Schladming in Styria, the Alpine Club has access to a beautiful part of Austria. It has a great view over the town. We rented great bikes and went off cycling along one of the mountain streams. We also drove to some of the restaurants up in the hills and enjoyed their beautiful food and service and even coincided with the event of music in the hills. Excellent hiking opportunities at whatever level you would like.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the town of Schladming would be the ideal.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keasty446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

On the outskirts of the picturesque small town of Schladming, the Alpine Club is beautifully attractive from outside and in. Our two bed apartment was clean, had spacious bedrooms and a living room overlooking the town - and what a view! We were lucky that the sun shone for us all the time we were there. The snow capped mountains glistened as we walked - everywhere!

Everyone at reception was helpful and polite. The beds were huge but a bit dippy in the middle - shame. I direct you to the review of Lindsay and Neil that I've just read - it describes the facilities very well.

We were there at the end of October and it turned out that all the cable cars were closed and the town was very quiet indeed. But we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room or apartment at the front as the view is unbeatable!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarniaEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Alpine Club in June. The area is very picturesque and the accommodation was excellent. The rooms were large, clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and a wine tasting evening on our first night was well worth attending. The wines were very nice and very reasonably priced. We also went on a guided walk to a local waterfall which was very spectacular. The walk lasted several hours and visited several waterfalls, a canyon and a lovely alpine lake. It requires sturdy footwear and a reasonable level of fitness and a head for heights.
Schladming itself is very nice with several shops pubs and restaurants and definitely worth a visit. It is also less than an hours drive from Salzburg which is a must visit city with so many fantastic sights.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and a nice sauna but be warned no swim-wear is allowed in the sauna only a towel to cover your modesty.
The hotel's restaurant served decent food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of Schladming and the mountains as the views are spectacular
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel and had a room at the front looking out over Schladming. It is spectacular! What you can see in the photos is correct. The staff are very helpful and friendly, wishing to improve your visit. The room was fine, the bed comfy, we were very happy. As a veggie I was very concerned that I would get food I liked, I can recommend the veg lasagne in the restaurant! All food was freshly cooked and I felt reasonably priced. I look forward to a return trip

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koiperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a fantastic 7 nights at the Alpine Club at the end of August 2012 and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Check-in was simple, we were allocated a room on the top floor - however, if you have walking difficulties this may not be a good choice for you as the elevator/lift only goes to the floor below and you walk the final flight of stairs. This did not bother us and made for beautiful views.

The 1 bed unit was very spacious with ample hallway space leading to the kitchenette area, with bathroom off to one side and firstly the living area, then the bedroom area off to the other side.

Bedroom: Beds were extremely comfortable, there was a vanity unit with chair and large wardrobe. This still left plenty of room to store your cases and also had a door opening onto the first of 2 lovely balconies.

Bathroom: Although blue (!) it was spacious with good shower and storage, mirror and hairdryer.

Kitchenette: Fridge with small freezer compartment, hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishwasher and plenty of storage space if you prefer to self cater and not go out.

Living area: Sofabed, 2 chairs, table with seating for 6, another wardrobe, flat screen TV and another balcony complete with seating.

All-in-all a great apartment in a great location with lots to see and do.

Restaurant: On site restaurant served excellent value meals with a great choice of very tasty food, from pizza to fish and everything in between. A huge thank you to Daniel for his amazing hospitality.

Finally, you probably require a car to explore the region, although not all holidaymakers did and found the bus services and trains very accessable.

We did not use any facilities as we were too busy exploring (this being our first visit) however, the tennis courts were used nightly and the indoor pool was a good place to relax.

Thank you Alpine Club we had an amazing stay ... here's to our next

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a studio, at first glance everything looked good, small but well equipped, pleasant but cramped appearance bit too much furniture. On closer inspection the bed turned out to be a bed settee, why? As it was made up as a bed why not put a proper bed in in the first place, needless to say it was excruciatingly uncomfortable. Should have asked for a different room but were both very tired after a long journey , and at that point didnt realise how bad it would be. The bed and bathroom had a number of dark hairs in evidence, yuk, not ours we are both blond. Small balcony with stunning views over Schladming, unfortunately the sun never reached the front of the building.
The building is not new but everything works fine including the small lifts. The public areas were all clean. Receptionist were friendly and helpful. Restaurant was ok for a first night meal, staff friendly food nothing special, adequate and reasonable value, we later discovered that good food is a rarity in schladming.
The best part was the indoor pool, just large enough to swim properly 17m, reasonable temperature a few lounge chairs. The pool is in a building connecting the two buildings, very nicely done with the corridor outside the pool area featuring an indoor garden.
We would stay here again as its a good base for exploring the area walking etc, but would have to have a real bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris_moessinger, Manager at Alpine Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your review! We’re sorry that you had some issues with the bed in your apartment – please be advised that some studio apartments at the Alpine Club have sofa beds, while others have twin beds. We recommend that you let us know in advance if you have a preference in this regard, as we’ll do everything we can to fulfil this request.

We’re very concerned to read your comments about the housekeeping standards in your apartment. There’s no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we’re really sorry for the impression that this has given you – please be assured that your comments have been addressed with the housekeeping team at the Alpine Club.

We really hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we’re glad to read that you would return here. We look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Doris Moessinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 35 in Schladming
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#4 of 35 in Schladming
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#9 of 35 in Schladming
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Club

Address: Alpineweg 142, Schladming 8971, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schladming
#2 Green Hotel in Schladming
#4 Romantic Hotel in Schladming
#9 Spa Hotel in Schladming
Price Range: $60 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the charming town of Schladming, the Alpine Club is a superb place to visit at any time of the year. Built in traditional Alpine style, it features a spa centre with heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool and small fitness room at an additional cost. The fully-furnished apartments include a partial kitchen with fridge, hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Each apartment has a private bathroom with bath or shower and hairdryer. A TV, DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. Guests can enjoy a number of fun activities, including ping-pong, billiards, tennis, and much more. Dine in the on-site restaurant and enjoy a variety of local and international dishes. For your convenience a grocery store is also available on-site. Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property, at an additional cost. Throughout the year explore the breath-taking lakes, valleys and meadows. In the winter enjoy all kinds of fun snow sports and activities. Further afield, immerse yourselves in Austrian history and culture, and visit Salzburg, the birthplace of composer Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Club Hotel Schladming
Alpine Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing