We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Wonderful Family Holiday”
Review of Sporthotel Royer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sporthotel Royer
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We had 2 very lovely weeks at the Royer Hotel, Schladming in August 2008. The weather was excellent and we had several days lazing by the beautiful outdoor pool, where the children had a great time on the many slides and water jets. The indoor pool is also great if the weather isn't so good. Indeed everything at the Royer is catered for whether it's sunshine or rain. The facilities are incredible, from the indoor and outddoor tennis courts to the golf range and putting green, to the table tennis and pool tables and the shooting and skittle alleys - you will never be short of things to do. And that's just at the hotel. The surrounding area is simply stunning and for the more adventurous, you can get cable cars up the mountains and gokart down them, as well as take part in a fantastic family white water rafting experience. The Dachstein Glacier is awe-inspiring and the suspension bridge at Riesach not for the faint-hearted! Herr Royer is the perfect host, highly visible but never intrusive and there are lovely touches such as cocktail evenings and barbeques in the gardens. The food is as good as you'll find in Austria (and indeed a lot of Europe) and there is plenty of it. The children get free drinks and the wine and beer is no more expensive than London. The family room we had was spacious, cleaned to a high standard every day and had magnificent views. I'd be amazed if you didn't have fun here, especially if you want a family holiday with loads to do. I'm sure we'll return in the future, maybe for skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Schladminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

My wife and I had a three day ski break and had a fantastic time at this hotel and resort of Schladming.
The staff are very friendly and helpful , the food in the main dining room is first class.
If booked on HB basis ,so long as you inform reception before 11.30am you can have a partial refund and dine in the Grill , which does the most amazing steaks !
We also had free use of the pool next door , but didn't have the energy to get in there after skiing all day !
Yes the decor is slightly dated , but the rooms are very spacious ,clean and quiet.
Very convienient location for the centre of Schladming with a five minute walk to the Planai Gondala.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

The standard room charge with breakfast is EUR 190. The take-away is that although the hotel claims for 4-star superior status, it is not worth paying 4plus price for around 3 star quality (tired, very crowded hotel).
- The hotel is located a bit out from the centre of Schladming so you need to use your car to go to the sloops.
- The hotel is kitschy by all means as well as tired and old fashioned. The reception, the restaurant, the wellness area have not been redecorated for ages you feel everywhere the old, Austrian style ornaments which is definitely not for our taste.
- Each floor has approx 12-15 rooms, the building has 5 stores and the hotel operates only 1 elevator thus you really have to wait long time.
- Room is airy, nice bathroom, beds were a bit too soft, wide balcony with nice view.
- Wellness area: the massage service was a disaster, the masseur smelled (sic!) and was very unprofessional. Wellness area is overcrowded, the water in the swimming pool is warm (over 30C) so it is not really suitable for swimming. The whole part is like designed for 100 people and 200 people were there.
- Do not use half-board, go to Royer Grill for dinner, good steaks, prawns, tasty desserts and excellent wine list. We always have difficulties to find a good restaurant in Austria, this is among the few exceptions. The service was great too.
- The hotel offers wide range of other activities such as bowling, billiard, game room, tennis, ping-pong, etc.
- The hotel is good for families w/ children but not good for a quiet, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackszabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

It is difficult to think of anything other than good things to say about the hotel Royer. I have just returned from an excellent week in April 2007. The hotel has the most amazing collection of sports facilities from Swimming Pool, Tennis and Squash courts through to Bowling Alley, Billiards, Table Tennis and even a rifle range. The Sauna (Wellness) facilities are excellent too. Staying Half Board, the Breakfasts and 5-course Dinner are a highlight and as good as any hotel I've ever stayed in. But all of this is made all the more enjoyable by the proffesionalism and friendliness of the hotel staff. Those on Reception, in the bar, in the restaurant and in every other area of the hotel are so kind and helpful. It is this service which above all makes this an exceptionally good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dancave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Having stayed here before during Sept of 2006 while visiting the beautiful Schladming for the mountain-biking world championships,myself and my girlfriend simply couldn't resist returning for more of the same but with one added ingredient...snow.And the place is still as wonderful as we first found it.I just couldn't add any more to the previous reviewers comments.I,unlike the previous reviewer however, do not have any faults to find in the hotel. It is simply the most enjoyable experience and as I mentioned in my first review of the place...we will most definitely look forward to returning there in the hopefully not so distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beemac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We (a party of 7) stayed in the Sporthotel Royer in February this year (’07) as a base for a skiing holiday. I have nothing but the highest praise for the hotel, its facilities and its staff.
The reception staff are very professional, speak excellent English, courteous and helpful, especially with local information and organising taxis, ski passes etc. The hotel has an unpretentious relaxed atmosphere with even old Mr Royer himself chatting and dining with the guests. The facilities are first rate with a multi use pool, sauna, gym and on site masseuse. All the waiter staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, with special mention to head waiter Nicolai and Gianni who made our stay so much more enjoyable.
The highlight of the hotel is its food which is first rate, everything from the wide selection at breakfast to the evening buffets and the sweets which are divine and some of the best I have ever tasted.
The rooms are scrupulously clean, bijou; with the only downside being that the bathrooms are a little on the small side.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the main Planai gondola and also has an excellent ski garage with boot warming facilities.
The town of Schladming itself is one hour from Salzburg by taxi (organised by the hotel) it is a very pretty, quaint, traditional little town, which had surprisingly few British visitors when we were there.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kacer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Great hotel, so much for the kids to do,even on the wettest of days. From the fabby swimming pool to the planned activities with Glinda (english speaking nanny)gives mum and dad a few hours to enjoy the excellent spa facilities.
Staff are very attentive and the owner and manager really went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one coming round at breakfast and dinner each day to ask how our stay is going. Really puts our hotels to shame. Rooms of a very high standard.
Food was fantastic no need to eat out, half board is such a good option. Standard of some of the best restruants in Scotland.
We have booked to go back again this year and got a nice "welcome back" personal response to the e-mail that was sent.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#4 of 35 in Schladming
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posthotel Schladming
Posthotel Schladming
#12 of 35 in Schladming
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 35 in Schladming
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Royer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Royer

Address: Europaplatz 583, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
Price Range: $234 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Royer 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sporthotel Royer. Our whole team is constantly striving to anticipate you every wish and to make your holiday into the best time of the year. Whether you are planning a relaxing holiday in Schladming, a summer holiday or winter holiday filled with activity and variety, or a family holiday - Royer is just the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sporthotel Royer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Royer Schladming
Sporthotel Royer Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing