We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great skiing vacation”
Review of Sporthotel Royer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sporthotel Royer
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Large hotel with nice atmosphere,very warm and clean with modern rooms and lot of sport facilities (squash, tennis, billiard table... and big indoor pool with a big slide inside - specially nice for kids!)
The restaurant features excellent food, great buffet breakfast and extremely helpful staff.
Our family (2 adults and one daughter aged 6) loved this hotel.
Ideally located not far from the main Planai Gondola. Definitly hire the ski and ski-boots locker at Planai Station / cost around 5 EUR per day for a family one/ and walk from the hotel takes around 7 mins. Suppermarket around the corner.
Minor disatvantage: wi-fi available only in the lobby and not so good working :(

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikaerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good location to the Planai Gondola. The staff is very attentive. If you enjoy a swimming pool with a common acces with the rest of the town this is the place. A lot of alternatives to spent time and make sport. The Rotiserie restaurant cooks a incredible spare ribs. Very delicious .
The single rooms are very small. The hotel is looking a little bit old and a refurbishing is necessary. Internet is working average and is available only in the reception. In the room is available only by cable. Sometime you need a map to search all the features of this hotel

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view at the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First time to Austria with the hope of Christmas markets, good skiing and crisp cold, snowy days ... Sadly Schladming town is rather small and lacked the festive atmosphere, the slopes are not well pisted and despite the Crystal brochure description of skiing for mixed abilities, this is not the case for beginners as red runs (which are difficult reds compared to France/Italy) have to be navigated before blues can be reached ... Never before have we seen so many limbs in plaster on the return flight to Uk and in our opinion, not a good location for beginners/mixed ability groups. Despite all this, the ski hire is excellent, warmed boot room can be hired at Planai (main gondola location and very helpful tourist info office with stunningly, clean and beautifully decorated toilet facilities!) for duration of ski pass (to save that odd space man walk through the streets from hotels!), buses run to other ski locations approx hourly (free with ski pass), whole area is clean and people of Austria so helpful and happy to 'share' their slopes (which can be rather push and shove in other European destinations we have visited!) plus direct train to Salzburg DEFINITELY worth a day out to get that whole feel of Christmas!

And now for Sporthotel Royer, truly lovely... Authentic common areas and beautifully clean, very warm, more modern bedrooms with more than enough storage space. Food was incredible for those with a palette for adventurous local flavours (children's buffet with standard spaghetti bolognese etc avail if you ask) though English breakfast option would of been nice...ALL STAFF were so incredibly kind, attentive and helpful, absolutely nothing too much trouble, housekeeping most efficient and you were always made to feel like they knew you individually, often lacking in tourist hotels (even taken to station in hotel car for no charge!), pools are fantastic with flumes, bubbles, whirlpool and swimming lanes, traditional wooden 9 pin bowling (free) in basement of hotel a good experience, gym a little small and the walk to main ski area approx 10 mins (do pay for gondola boot room although hotel has a communal area). Recommend you take a kettle as no 'tea and coffee' in room (supermarket for the milk is across the road!) One negative, chargeable Internet in rooms with cable for hire, wifi in reception area rather 'hit and miss' ....

Would we go here again? To the hotel, yes definitely, but for skiing, no .... sure there are better ski areas in this pretty country....

Room Tip: Slope side prettier than car park ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel Royer is one of the best ski hotels I have ever seen. Large, spacious with a very good atmosphere. The hotel is ideally located not far from the main Planai Gondola. It is quite big with many sport facilities (squash, tennis, indoor pool, etc.). The restaurant features excellent food on the verge of Grommet food in some dishes. The staff was extremely helpful catering to our every need. Our family (2 adults and two kids) loved this hotel and we would love to stay there again in future ski vacation.

It's worth while mentioning that the Planai-Hauser-Hochwurzen-Dachstein resort is an excellent ski resort with great runs, lifts and snow making coverage and is well worth a week long visit for skiers.

The only two minor disadvantages we found were that the heating was a bit too low in the hotel and rooms and the internet connection was not so good in the loby (and only wired internet existed in the rooms).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had our family summer vacation at Royer sport hotel, great place with a lot of activities for children at the hotel (swimming pools, bike, trampolina, ping pong, shooting, golf...) and alot of options in the area with the summer card (we got it from the hotel as a part of the package), we booked family room but got 2 connected rooms as the family rooms were full (wich was much more place and comfortable) and they did not charge us for a late check out on the last day, good service with a smile, they have washing machine and a dryer in case you need to do some loundery, the team was friendly and helpfull, defenetely a place to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateSh_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excelent hotel in the faboulous town in the middle of Austrian Alps.
The hotel provides one of the most excelent services, we have ever experienced. The professional level of the staff - from the receptionists, waiters, roommaids.. is on its tops..
The atmosphere was great allover our stay and the food is good beyond mention..
perfect during the sommer and in winter.. we will definitely return..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Location: Very convenient - close to the Planai slope and the town center, also very close to the supermarket (Spar).
Service: Great - really pleasant and helpful staff.
Food: Very rich breakfast buffet and tasty dishes at the hotel restaurant.
Downside: Weird smell in our bathroom (I'm guessing from the pipes) - the "double bed" was 2 adjacent single beds.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#4 of 35 in Schladming
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zirngast
Hotel Zirngast
#6 of 35 in Schladming
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posthotel Schladming
Posthotel Schladming
#11 of 35 in Schladming
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpine Club by Diamond Resorts
0.2 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#3 of 35 in Schladming
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Royer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Royer

Address: Europaplatz 583, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
Price Range: $240 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Royer 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sporthotel Royer. Our whole team is constantly striving to anticipate you every wish and to make your holiday into the best time of the year. Whether you are planning a relaxing holiday in Schladming, a summer holiday or winter holiday filled with activity and variety, or a family holiday - Royer is just the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sporthotel Royer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Royer Schladming
Sporthotel Royer Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing