We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation for families”
Review of Sporthotel Royer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sporthotel Royer
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great vacation for families”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel Royer is one of the best ski hotels I have ever seen. Large, spacious with a very good atmosphere. The hotel is ideally located not far from the main Planai Gondola. It is quite big with many sport facilities (squash, tennis, indoor pool, etc.). The restaurant features excellent food on the verge of Grommet food in some dishes. The staff was extremely helpful catering to our every need. Our family (2 adults and two kids) loved this hotel and we would love to stay there again in future ski vacation.

It's worth while mentioning that the Planai-Hauser-Hochwurzen-Dachstein resort is an excellent ski resort with great runs, lifts and snow making coverage and is well worth a week long visit for skiers.

The only two minor disadvantages we found were that the heating was a bit too low in the hotel and rooms and the internet connection was not so good in the loby (and only wired internet existed in the rooms).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    51
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
25
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had our family summer vacation at Royer sport hotel, great place with a lot of activities for children at the hotel (swimming pools, bike, trampolina, ping pong, shooting, golf...) and alot of options in the area with the summer card (we got it from the hotel as a part of the package), we booked family room but got 2 connected rooms as the family rooms were full (wich was much more place and comfortable) and they did not charge us for a late check out on the last day, good service with a smile, they have washing machine and a dryer in case you need to do some loundery, the team was friendly and helpfull, defenetely a place to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateSh_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excelent hotel in the faboulous town in the middle of Austrian Alps.
The hotel provides one of the most excelent services, we have ever experienced. The professional level of the staff - from the receptionists, waiters, roommaids.. is on its tops..
The atmosphere was great allover our stay and the food is good beyond mention..
perfect during the sommer and in winter.. we will definitely return..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Location: Very convenient - close to the Planai slope and the town center, also very close to the supermarket (Spar).
Service: Great - really pleasant and helpful staff.
Food: Very rich breakfast buffet and tasty dishes at the hotel restaurant.
Downside: Weird smell in our bathroom (I'm guessing from the pipes) - the "double bed" was 2 adjacent single beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

TOP HOTEL, ABSOLUT RECOMMENDATION
the best athmosphere and spirit, extraordinary nice staff, renovated but 40 years old hotel, family hotel, very professional management, everyday's activities...

This is not our first stay in Alps, however, I must say we never stayed in hotel with such a good athmosphere and positive attitude. From the very first moment till check out, we felt almost like on visit to our friends. I find it almost incredible because of the size of hotel which is rather big. Every single member from the staff did his/her best to make our stay pleasant. I also appreciate, the staff is very multicultural from many different countries. Despite very friendly and home-like athmosphere , it is absolutely professionally managed. Unless you are familiar with the hotel and the service business everything seems just like peanut, midnight run or easy going matter. I know how difficult is to run things easy...

The hotel provides to their guests every day evening activities. First evening of our stay were all hotel guests invited for a glass of sparkling wine. Another night we participated on Fackelwanderung, small march with torches for guests and their children. Taxi from hotel to the path and romantic return through night walley with burning torches in our hands back to hotel. In the hotel was hot wine already waiting for us. And our guide and group leader was the hotel director in person. Great...
I had a small talk with him and mentioned there is not smoked salmon on breakfest table avaliable and if he can us recommend any other walking tour.
The next day our waitress brought me salmon plate. She said: I've heard you like it. May I prepare you salmon table every morning?
After breakfast the guy from reception gave us ride with hotel car to waterfalls recommended by director. What a service...

Sauna world:
We are not ski fans , what is probably the main reason to visit hotel during winter season. When all guests spent day on trials, we were only guests in sauna world. 4 different saunas, relaxing space and terrace. Small, nice and of course clean.
Tennis, squash and fittness.
I've played squash, solid standard court. I've seen plaeyd players on inside courts, there are outsides too. Fitness room is well equipped with nice view. Bowling, billiard (pool) and shooting is also available.

Restaurant won't aspire for michelin star but with high standard and wide range of food to cover all taste.

Potential risk:
This is family hotel and children are not staff member. Hotel is big enough to find place for relax you need to count with their presence in restaurant or swimming pool. Luckily they have no access to sauna world :)

Hotel is from early 70's. Renovated and has everything you can expect from this kind of hotel but not top modern design from Dubai or Shanghai. Hotel is perfect but from the time when James Bond was Roger Moore.Keep it in your mind and you'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saintcroix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Sporthotel Royer is a large, although a bit older four-star hotel, strategically located approximately 500m from the Planai ski slope in Schladming. The hotel offers spacious and clean rooms as well as many facilities, including spa and sports facilities. Hotel is furnished in classic and functional style, the restaurant is a bit too much set on "high class" gastronomy (like five-course dinners consisting of "world gastronomy"), but you are located in the centre of Schladming so it is not a problem to find a place to eat according to personal taste. Otherwise, it is a very good choice for a comfortable base for excellent skiing experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yale999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our week coincided with the arrival of several hundred families from Israel. The hotel was like a kindergarten for the whole of our stay and whilst the kids were largely well-behaved neither the management nor the parents saw fit to restrict their access to "adult " areas. We hardly used the bar or the wellness as a result (though it has to be said the spa area was anyway extremely poor by Austrian standards). On the positive side the rooms were great, the staff - particularly at reception - were excellent, and we were transferred into the very pleasant Grill Bar for meals. (The food was OK, nothing more). Schladming itself offers plenty of skiing but it's a pity the mountains are poorly linked. It's a pretty town but doesnt have the usual charisma of a ski resort and is as dead as a dodo after dark (unless you count the vast bar at the foot of the mountain serving up techno music to teenagers. Whatever happened to Sweet Caroline and Leaving on a Jet Plane?)
Overall I'm sure the Royer is a pretty good hotel, we were just unlucky.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRJStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
0.2 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#8 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#4 of 34 in Schladming
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#7 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#3 of 34 in Schladming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posthotel Schladming
Posthotel Schladming
#11 of 34 in Schladming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Royer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Royer

Property: Sporthotel Royer
Address: Europaplatz 583, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Royer 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sporthotel Royer. Our whole team is constantly striving to anticipate you every wish and to make your holiday into the best time of the year. Whether you are planning a relaxing holiday in Schladming, a summer holiday or winter holiday filled with activity and variety, or a family holiday - Royer is just the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sporthotel Royer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Royer Schladming
Sporthotel Royer Hotel Schladming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing