We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Kirchenwirt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirchenwirt Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel bursts with local Austrian charm. The staff are friendly and helpful; the food is traditional and they are very accomodating with special requests. Yes, there is clear soup, but it is delicious! Rooms are comfortable, but can be noisy at the front - though this seems to be a common trait in Schladming! We travelled with Crystal and the rep was excellent! Great location for lifts and hire shops. Far enough away from the rowdy apres ski bars for some peace and quiet also. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Try and take a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A cracking ski hotel with great evening meals and helpful friendly staff. The hotel decor is unique which our group enjoyed but if the corporate bland Novotel/premier lodge hotels is your thing then you might find it a little tired. The rooms are well sized and clean. Two of the group struck gold being allocated the Stube suite which had separate bedrooms and lounge.

Location is bang in the middle of town and a short stroll to the main planai lift so best of both worlds. Après ski is solid without being overbearing so great for people wanting to party and for families. Schladming is a pretty mountain town and so there is enough to keep you occupied away from the slopes.

The ski area is excellent with a real feel of travel getting around the four linked mountains. Conditions were perfect with dumps of fresh snow allied to extensive snow cannons. Generally lifts were modern and fast. You can see the investment that has been made over the last few years in readiness for the imminent downhill world champs.

To summarise a great hotel in a hidden gem of a resort,

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonzey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just back from a week in one of the better ski hotels that we have stayed in.
We were a party of 9 and all felt that the food was very good with Austrian options every night but also a choice of more "regular" fare if you wanted, we really had some very good meals.
The rooms were not five star but were more than adequate with plenty of room, clean and no issues with hot water.
The hotel is in the middle of the town which means it can be a bit noisy late on and the church bells give you a morning alarm call at 7am but this is only to be expected.
The staff were very good and if you get the chance spend some time talking to the owner (who is usually littering about) as he has some very interesting tales about the hotel and some of the well known people he has met.
The ski area was great but perhaps not the best for beginners or nervous skiers but we had some great conditions and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just got back from Hotel Kirchenwirt. Far better than some reviews suggested. Great Austrian food with friendly staff always ready to help at any time of day. A real Austrian feel to the place. It isn't the Ritz. But if you want that go and pay four or five star prices. This was great value for money. All 5 of us delighted with the place.

Great central location. Main ski cab;e car less than 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If you want a bath rather than shower ask for one. And room away from front face to avoid night nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our family of four stayed for a week at this hotel in Feburary 2012 for a skiing holiday. We booked directly with the hotel. I had chosen the hotel because of the price, the fact that they took credit cards, and that they could guarantee separated twin beds for our children. Our rooms were spacious and both had a sitting area. The beds were comfy, and the bathroom whilst perhaps a little utilitarian was perfectly functional and clean. I did not find the food monotonous as some other reviewers have suggested, the main "complaint" is that often dinner was finished fairly early in the evening and as the bar doubles as a restaurant for non-guests, we could not always find room in there for a drink after dinner. One night you can choose a main course from the restaurant's a-la-care menu - my husband and I shared a Chateaubriand which was delicious. The hotel were also very accommodating with serving a late dinner on the day of our arrival.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. When I got home, I realised I had left an item in the hotel. I emailed, and within an hour had received a response by email and by phone, telling me this item would be posted to me - which it was. Having left things in hotels before only to be told they could not be found, this was a refreshing change.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

On arrival, after 9 at night, we were given a warm welcome and a full dinner - not just the cold plate you get at most places at this sort of time. The rooms are old fashioned but clean and spacious. We got lucky by being offered the Stube, more of a suite than a room! Some of the furniture might be showing its age but as we only really used the room for sleeping and washing (shower and bath) who cares! The food is great if you accept that you are getting Styrian style food. Soup, choice of meat dishes and dessert. Don't expect meat and 2 veg, there will be potato, rice or pasta with salad. Soups are mostly clear broth with added noodles or pancake (actually freshly made - its a traditional regional dish - not the left overs suggested by CazMoon). The ribs were some of the best we've ever had, the venison delicious, steaks excellent and portions more than adequate. The staff were great and talking to Herr Tritscher about his time as Michael Douglas' minder and the visits of Arnold Schwarzenneger and the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg was fascinating. Herr Tritscher is also involved with the local Schladming Brewery and gave us a free sampler of the revived Schladming Stein Bier. Nice hoppy brew somewhere between the normal Schladming brew and the local Weiss beer. Schladming is a great place for a family summer holiday and we can't wait to go back and try the skiing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kev354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week in March 2012, booked on half board through Crystal Ski.
We had been to Schladming before and loved the skiing, so decided to return.

This hotel appears as a 3 rating in Crystal's brochure, not sure what it's officlal one is but I would not rate it any more than 2.5.

Our room was the same 4 poster one with quirky bathroom shown in H4rlap's photos and review from Feb 2009.
The best things about the room were the big comfortable 4 poster and having a little bathtub with lots of hot water to soothe the aching legs at the end of a day of skiing.
The housekeeping and maintenance sucks. The window sill and TV had a large coating of dust, the sofa was threadbare with holes, one curtain was hanging off the rail, the main light fitting was only held to the ceiling by its wires, one bedside lamp did not work and on inspection, the switch had a live wire totally unattached in it.
I can cope with an oldie, world, traditional decor if it is looked after but it certainly was lacking.

I see lots of comments on the food. On our half board option you get a basic menu with 1 starter, 3 mains to choose from and 2 desserts.
Don't expect modern bistro cooking, this is very Austrian.
The starter is always soup. Most nights it is clear soup with such things as semolina dumplings, egg white, shreaded pancake (from previous nights dessert) in it. We did get a creme of courgette and a creme of garlic as a break from the clear soup.
On at least 4 nights there was schnitzel in one form or another. There are other options such as cheese omelette, spare ribs, meat (though just differing cuts of pork) skewer, a beef stew. One night we got to choose our main from a a la carte menu with consists of many pig based dishes, a couple of deer and a couple of fish. The roast deer was good but the deer stew did not have good cuts of meat in it.
There is always ice cream for dessert and other options were pancakes, chocolate cake, cherry cake, apfelstrudel, a yoghurt dessert like a Mueller Fruit corner.
If you were a fussy eater, Jewish or vegetarian, then you are likely to struggle.
Breakfast was a simple affair with a selection of meats/cheese/breads/jams. I found the tea pretty repulsive. I think there was a strange flavour to the hot water, like they rinsed the water flask out in dirty dish water and that left a residue inside. Lucky I brought a travel kettle and stuck to orange juice at breakfast.

The young waiter and waitress who were often in the restaurant at night were very good. They were keen to practice their English and we practiced German on them. They were 5 star.

The morning alarm is indeed the church just round the corner. Beware on a Sunday when it goes ballistic at 7am.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#11 of 35 in Schladming
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Ferienalm
Aparthotel Ferienalm
#21 of 35 in Schladming
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
TUI BLUE PULSE Schladming
#8 of 35 in Schladming
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadthotel brunner
Stadthotel brunner
#17 of 35 in Schladming
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 35 in Schladming
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirchenwirt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirchenwirt Hotel

Address: Salzburgerstrasse 27, Schladming 8970, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range: $115 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirchenwirt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirchenwirt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing