We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made the right choice!”
Review of Hotel Zirngast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zirngast
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We made the right choice!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We read about Hotel Zirngast in a swedish newspaper, about the hotel, the family Zirngast and about the skiing. It had also become a favorite for the Swedish alpine ski team during many years. So of course we wanted to try this accommodation.
It corresponded indeed our expectations. We are very pleased with the nice spacious rooms, the well-cooked food, and best of all the amazing support from family Zirngast and their staff. Thanks to you all, we really want to come back! Jörgen and Carina from Göteborg, Sweden.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
61
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just spend a week at this beautiful hotel and were sorry to leave. The location is excellent as it is a 10 minute walk from the ski lift and there is a bus stop right outside. The hospitality and helpfulness of Marcel, his family and all the staff was outstanding and we could not have asked for more. The rooms are spacious with immaculate ensuites and generous cupboard space. The sauna and red light rooms are spotless as are all the facilities in this hotel. The food was delicious - and the nightly meal was a true taste sensation - all four courses!! Breakfast was an amazing selection of breads, cheeses, eggs, hams, pates, cereals etc. My family and I could not have asked for more. Thank you Marcel and your family - you made our holiday in Schladming exactly that -A HOLIDAY!! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Excellent value for money and service. Ask for a room overlooking the mountains and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A group of 20 of us have just spent NewYear at the Zirngast and we were very impressed. This place is exceptional.Marcel and his family go out of their way to ensure you have a fabulous time. The rooms are spotless, the sauna is lovely and so welcome after a days skiing and the food is amazing. We can't quite believe its only a 3 star
We also loved Schladming and the Austrian hospitality!

Room Tip: New wing rooms a little more spacious and modern but Marcel tells us this summer the original hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a lovely holiday at the Zirngast Hotel. A family run hotel and it shows, Marcel, Andrea, Mama and Papa are all extremely friendly and helpful, we felt like one of the family for a week. The food is outstanding, we loved the breakfast buffet with cereals, fruit, smoothies, hams, cheeses, pate, breads, cakes.....eggs cooked to order, the list goes on. Evening meal allowed us to experience some typical Austrian food, always with a choice and an extensive salad bar it was all excellent. The room was very comfortable, large with fantastic views of the mountains. Sauna area was wonderful, with 3 different saunas, plenty of showers and a relaxing room, very welcome after a hard days walking up the mountains. The hotel provided us with a free Sumercard which gave us free travel on local transport (cable cars and buses).
We also had an accident which required a trip to the hospital, the family were very quick to act and sorted everything out for us. We had a fantastic time and I cant recommend the Zirngast highly enough - we will be back.
The walking was an incredible experience, so much to see, and so beautiful, the tourist information center provided a free guide every day who took us to some special places that we just would not have found on our own - Highly recommended, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our sixth ski trip to Schladming and first staying at the Zirngast which we chose because of their great reviews and good vibe from the website and enquiry response. Our experience once again reinforced the quality of the hotels in this area – we would definitely return to the Zirngast and would recommend to others.

From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome. Marcel, Andrea and Marcel’s parents, Sepp and Ulli, are lovely caring hosts, and they were so pleased to be able to reunite me with my earring which I had lost at dinner one night (thank you again!).

The new extension has been done in a very fitting way and the conservatory (winter garden) in the restaurant is lovely on a sunny morning and clear starry night, and has a view of the floodlit ski off run at the Planai.

Our room – 101 – was one of the new ones, huge with a walk in shower, views to the Planai, private balcony, and one of the most comfortable beds ever. A built in radio in the bathroom - brilliant if you like to sing in the shower!

Straight out in the morning to the bus stop across the road (5 minutes to the Planai and other bus connections) and literally stops outside the steps down to the boot room on the way back. We easily managed a good breakfast, were on the 8.21 bus and the lift at 8.25!

The half board dinner is good quality with a choice of main course (meat or fish/vegetarian) and was largely items from the restaurant menu. We didn’t feel the need to go a la carte and found the food provided to be adequate for a skiers hunger. Extensive breakfast buffet with boiled and another type of egg (the scrambled and fried eggs were excellent). Good wine list and reasonably priced. We had a particular treat because their annual fish buffet which is usually in February was the week we were there instead because of the World Championships in February. Wow! If it’s on when you’re there, it’s worth every penny of the supplement.

We could go on and on, but other reviews have covered so many good points about the Zirngast. Don’t take our word for it – try it!

Room Tip: Room 101 - huge bathroom with walk in shower, and great views of the Planai mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyWilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Schladming with friends, having stayed at the Zirngast. The hotel exceeded our expectations on every level. Marcel and his team were very welcoming and friendly which made our stay all the more enjoyable. We stayed in room 205 which was of a high standard, pristine finishings and very clean, plus a comfortable bed and pillow - important when snowboarding all day! The restaurant and breakfast room was split into two - contemporary one side and cosy the other, a perfect mix. Breakfast was plentiful with a huge choice, and equally the evenings we decided to eat in the restaurant did not disappoint, with a good choice, delicious food with care taken over the presentation. Add to this a good boot room and ski bus which arrives at the doorstep we would definitely stay here again without hesitation! A huge thank you to all at the Zirngast!

Room Tip: 205 and 206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First visit to Schladming for my wife and I, that was arranged by our friends and travelling companions.
We had rooms 205 and 206 which though separate, comprise a suite with a single door closing off the end of the corridor with these two rooms. They were in the newly built part of the building. All four of us have skied around Europe, the US and Canada but we felt that the Zirngast offered the best all-round accommodation. The rooms are large modern and spotless, the beds very comfortable. There are plenty of light options (central, entrance, bedside, standard lamp etc) and there was a desk, sofa, full width (of the bed) stool, large wardrobe and full-length mirror. The windows open to let in lots of mountain air and there was a balcony however it was very cold and we didn't use it! The room looked towards the back of the hotel away from the skiing areas. There is a railway line close by but it never troubled us. The only noise that we did hear was the snow ploughs clearing the roads but then we had a lot of snow and, after all, it is a ski resort so…...The en-suite had a heated floor, towel rail, wall-hung wc, large walk-in shower which always had plenty of hot water, and a very useable basin with a shelf below for toilet bags etc.
The rest of the hotel is equally modern (we never saw any of the rooms in the old part). I won't detail all of the hotel as this has been done before. I will however say that the public toilets on the lower floor are some of the cleanest and most pristine I've ever seen and that says so much for the management. The family Zirngast are very friendly and incredibly helpful. When I inadvertently put an old ski-pass in my wife's jacket, I called from the lift area to stop the new one from being thrown away (I'd dropped the new one in the room bin by mistake!!), Marcel went to the room, retrieved the new pass and brought it to the lift station in town, saving me much heartache, cost, (and a lot of grief from my wife!). You can't ask for more than that.
The ski-room is perfect with lots of boot drying racks. The ski racks are a little tall for anything but the longest skis but then it really isn't too much of a problem. The best bit of all is that although the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from town and nearer ten to the lift, you would't want to do it in ski boots, the ski bus which is free to anyone with a ski pass (or wearing ski gear), stops immediately in front of the hotel so getting to the lift is a doodle. Just remember to look up the times in the reception and you can time your apres-ski to finish just in time to catch the bus back. Food at the hotel was great value and again, when we inadvertently planned to eat in on the only night they don't do an a la carte sitting, Marcel sorted something out for us and we ate very well indeed.
On a general note, the food everywhere was fantastic - even on the mountain. I'd heartily recommend the Steirische Restaurant (part of the Hotel Post on the main street). My family is Austrian and boy, these guys can cook traditional food at a Michelin star level but not at Michelin star prices.
we will be re-visiting the Zirngast and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The new part apparently has bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schladming hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#4 of 34 in Schladming
149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schwaigerhof
Hotel Schwaigerhof
#1 of 4 in Rohrmoos-Untertal
192 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
Hotel Pichlmayrgut
#3 of 34 in Schladming
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Schladming
1.0 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#8 of 34 in Schladming
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zirngast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zirngast

Property: Hotel Zirngast
Address: Linke Ennsau 633 | 8970 Schladming, Schladming 8970, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Styria > Schladming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Schladming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zirngast 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome.Our hotel is distinctive for the fact that it is a classic, family-run business offering cozy surroundings and a warm and friendly atmosphere. You will feel very comfortable here from your very first to very last moment and will be looked after splendidly by your host family. If you are seeking a break from the bustle of everyday life, or simply wish to enjoy winter to the full, here at Hotel Zirngast you and your family will be V.I.Ps.Rooms & suitesWhether you stay in our main house or in the new building erected in 2010 - our rooms and suites have been furnished with the kind of care and attention that will make your vacation exciting and your stay supremely comfortable. SPA & WellnessAfter an adventurous day's skiing or hiking you will want to chill out in our spacious wellness area with its different types of sauna and relaxation rooms. Replenish your energies - either in the Finnish bio stone-pine sauna, in an aromatic steam bath, in the spruce infrared cabin, the tepidarium or fun shower: tune out and let your spirits soar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Zirngast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing