We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub and lovely rooms”
Review of Prince of Wales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stow Maries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince of Wales
Ranked #1 of 1 Stow Maries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here while visiting friends nearby. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our lovely room with four-poster bed. We ate at the pub; the food was delicious and the range of ciders was impressive. We mentioned to the landlord that we were interested in nature and he recommended a walk to the nature reserve across the road and a visit to the nearby aerodrome - both were excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Having stayed in numerous different establishments in the area I would honestly recommend the Prince of Wales to anyone. It is my first choice every time when staying in this area. The accommodation is comfortable and well kept, WiFi is available everywhere, the menu and specials in the bar are excellent, a wide variety of real ales available at all times and friendly, helpful staff (not to mention friendly locals!).
All in all, look no further - Rob and the team will make you feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable - ask for the Red Room if you're bringing someone special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I visited the Prince of Wales in June 2013. We spent the afternoon in the sunshine in the lovely garden surrounded by really friendly locals and staff. The fruit beer and real ale selection was overwhelming for a little country pub and everything we tried was delicious! We ate dinner at the pub and were not disappointed: I had a delicious home made beef stew served with fresh veg and the hubby had a goat curry- all cooked to perfection and very, very tasty!
At the end of a truly relaxing and lovely day we settled into our room for the night and were not disappointed- the room was clean and well appointed with a very high end bathroom and soft sumptuous bedding. We both had a wonderfully, comfortable nights sleep, all topped off with a generous and tasty full English breakfast the next morning! I enjoyed the whole experience and the hubby, though more reserved than myself; raved about the ales, delicious curry and what he claims are "really tasty British sausages for breakfast"!
We were both very very impressed and are now planning a trip back, this time we are planning to take friends of ours along too so they can enjoy everything the Prince of Wales has to offer.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jojoisginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a lovely pub for a meal. Plenty of choice for everyone. As well as the standard menu there is a specials board. I had a great chicken, bacon and cheese melt which was really substantial and very reasonably priced. They also serve a great selection of ales (according to hubby)! We had a very pleasant lunch in the garden on a lovely sunny afternoon. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sally223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a delightful place for a good meal and excellent beer. So quaint and a lovely olde worlde atmosphere. This would be my first choice every time. The food is consistently good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I just love this place.set out in a series of small adjoining rooms it has a very friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent and a very varied selection, with a few innovative ideas. The choice of ales, lagers and ciders is beyond compare for such a small place. The outdoor gardens are small but reasonable well maintained. However it is the pub itself that is the attraction, quirky but excellent. Always winning awards ale awards. Good value for money, Todd food and drink and very clean...is there anything more that you could want.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Six of our family went there for a meal last night. We all had something different and all emptied our plates AND had dessert which is unheard of. It has a friendly atmosphere and the staff are polite and helpful. Definitely one of the best venues we've been to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: Woodham Road, Stow Maries CM3 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stow Maries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stow Maries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing