We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWAY FROM THE CROWDS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Verbano

Verbano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“AWAY FROM THE CROWDS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want to eat well on this little tourist trap island on Lake Como, you could do much worse than walking round to find this place. Turn right off the ferry and keep going (only 200 yards or so) to the tip of the island. Here you can dine on the hotel terrace with stunning views of Isola Bella.

The cooking was surprisingly refined. Four of us shared a good bottle of Lugana and had a main course each plus a truly fantastic dessert (all different), water and coffee for 148 Euros or 37 Euros each. It was a few notches up from good. Service was friendly and efficient and they coped well with the sudden surge brought on by some not before time sun that day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malvernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    191
    43
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BORDEAUX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You must try it !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Top quality cooking and service with an unforgetable lake view.
The unique access by shuttle boat gives a romantic italian touch

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGUAR33Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was very good, but the serving staff were stressed. getting the bill took forever and this is because the place was packed. I would recommend a reservation, this is what we did.

We had the lake fish and the grilled sea bass and both were very good. Views are of course stunning. When it gets warmer, it will be nice to sit on the terrace.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

On an island full of restaurants, this one was on the far end of the island with a spectacular view of Lake Maggiore! Relaxed atmosphere...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank carefree_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“a peaceful lunch with wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had been recommended this restaurant by our hotel conciege who suggested that an evening meal using the restaurant's own shuttle boat from the lake shore to this island loction was a wonderful experience, and I'm sure it would have been. However we were on the island at lunchtime and, having walked around and found it crowded and far too 'touristy' we came across Verbano, perched as it is on the end of the island in a slightly detatched way. We had not made a reservation and they were expecting a huge party to arrive who had reserved most of the main large terrace overlooking Isola Bella. However, around the back of the restaurant there is a further terrace, narrow allowing only for tables for two and overlooking Isola Madre and this is where we were placed. It was a perfect, shady spot and we were served a lovely lunch. We only had two of the many courses on offer and a half bottle of wine but we were not rushed in any way and you would be hard pushed to find a nicer way of removing yourself from the crowded, narrow and extremely commercialised streets of this picturesque island. I did not feel that it was overly expensive given the setting and the fact that this is a tourist hotspot and that all supplies, except the fish, have to come from the shore by boat.
Highly recommended, a delightful spot, exactly what one hopes for and rarely finds in this achingly romantic part of the world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verbano also viewed

Isola Pescatori, Stresa
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 

Been to Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing