We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and me had a lovely evening in this pub! The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were so full after starters and mains we couldn't manage pudding .
Even our children who are hard to please thoroughly enjoyed it.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
182
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Fantastic stay with my brother and a play in my Landy up in the passes, Food was great and the staff both genuinely friendly and professional. The host Cameron though seeming reserved at first warmed in conversation to a charming and friendly host Dinner on the 2nd Night and beers ( good selection) over 2 nights were very reasonable on top of the voucher deal that we had originally booked with I think both my brother and i will definately be back and we have also recomended it to other family and friends.

Room Tip: Be nice to Cameron and he will charm the boots off you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petetownsend22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Crown at High Newton out of season, December. We received a warm welcome on arrival, was lovely to sit in the bar/lounge next to a log fire amongst original features, enjoying a drink, and being made welcome by the locals. Our room and en suite bathroom was very clean, bed comfortable, nice views of the tiny village in the lakes. The two evening meals we had were large and very good quality, as was the breakfast. The Crown is in a good position for exploring the southern lakes, staff go out of their way to make your stay a good one, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 2 night break using a Groupon voucher at this fantastic Inn, Lesley and Crawford could not have been better hosts, the food was fabulous on the first night, on the second night we dined off the a la carte menu and I was astonished at the quality, it was like 2 or 3 rosette dining in one of the most comfortable restaurants I have ever been in.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place if you are visiting the lakes.

Thanks for a lovely time and i can't wait to get back and see Brogan the lovely Ridgeback

Room Tip: We had room 4 and it was lovely with a big flat screen tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place is nothing like the other reviews make it out to be. It is really worth going to this little inn, there is not much to do in high newton but there is plenty to see in the surrounding areas, all you need to do is ask the staff and they will point you in the right direction for what ever you are looking to do. the food is fantastic we ate both nights there is some thing on the menu for every one. the rooms are really well furnished for the size of them but when you go and stop in a pub your time should be spent in the bar not a room. Crawford and Lesley are a lovely couple nothing was to much trouble. I will be back.

Room Tip: room one is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t_benson2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My Husband and I have just got back from a wonderful 2 night break at the Crown the managers Lesley and Crawford could not have been better hosts as were all the staff, the food was exceptional and we had a fantastic Saturday night with local singer Fiona, overall it was the best weekend break myself and my husband have had, we will definitely be back as it was great value for money.

Room Tip: we were in room 6 which they said was one of the smaller rooms but it was fantastic and done up beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time reviewer. First time in the lakes with Er indoors couple weeks ago and we were on a voucher from living social althogh we did opt to pay extra (weekend rate plus a tenner for the superior room - l recommend room 1) well worth it.

The crown is not a ritzy 5 star hotel with 700 Mitchelin stars so don't expect one. It's an Inn. Like staying at someone's house only much better. Lovely warm and cozy, real fires, oak beams, very friendly owner and staff and the locals were fantastic they don't treat you like an outsider they make you feel like one of them. I've worked in pubs for 15yrs and it's up there as one of the nicest I've ever seen.

Big thanks to Amy for the tip on the day out in Ullswater we had a lovely day out.

As for the food? Yes we had an
Alternative menu being on the voucher first night but it was perfectly adequate. The meals were lovely, very hearty and home cooked. So much so that we chose to eat there on the second night. The breakfast? Cereal and a cooked breakfast with coffee, not too much but sets you up.

If you go there expecting to be pampered and fussed over like a celeb then go somewhere else. Go there and enjoy it for what it is, an honest place run by hard working owner and staff and it's cozy as hell. Oh and I recommend out of season it's lovely and quiet. Cheers for the memorable stay guys.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonesy942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing