We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lesley and Crawford's hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 High Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lesley and Crawford's hidden gem”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just had a great couple of days on a deal in the Crown. All the staff were very friendly and attentive and it had a fantastic atmosphere with a quiz night, an open mic night and a live band on Friday night. The menu has something to please everyone, good luck to Crawford with the new menu, we will be back soon to try it out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
182
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a lovely time at The Crown. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We stayed for two nights and eat there both evenings. The food was lovely.
Our room was small but lovely and cosy. The bed was comfortable and we had lovely big white towels in the en-suite.
There was a lovely atmosphere in the pub. We came back from a full day out in the rain and sat on the cosy sofa by the fire in the pub lounge having a drink.
It was our first visit to the Lakes and we found it in a good place for exploring. We visited Ulverston, Grange over Sands, went on a Lake Cruise on Windermere from Bowness to Ambleside, Hawkeshead and Tarn Haws which we were recommended to visit by Crawford. The scenery was stunning.

Thanks very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turtleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Crown hotel. Set in a quiet village no disturbances in the night. Hotel room good & clean (could do with a chair to sit on) Bathroom large with a large walk in shower which is ideal. Food is very good, freshly cooked & well presented. Hotel staff very friendly & obliging. Special mention to Aimee who helped us up the stairs with our case & looked after us very well.
Hotel is an ideal base for touring the lakes. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I feel that all rooms would be O.K. as the village is so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed on a 2 night deal recently. We were met with a warm welcome and shown to a tidy room overlooking the road. The road was really quiet though and it wasnt an issue in any way.
Having read a couple of reviews previously, we really were n't sure what we were going into, however, we were happily impressed throughout and had nothing to worry about.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the place itself is lovely and our food was well cooked and delicious both in the evening and in the mornings.
All in all it was a lovely stay and one which we can recommend!

Room Tip: The Inn is closed between 3 and 6 during the week so make sure you arrive either before of after tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at this B&B we thought we were at the wrong place but were pleasantly surprised when we got to the room. The rooms have been beautifully renovated and the ensuite was very modern and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good pub food. Head chef was away on the night we stayed so there were a few things missing from the menu but the pork turned out to be a good choice. Breakfast was supplied with rate so it was reasonably priced. The location is a bit remote but only a short drive from grange on sands.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayhound62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you choose to visit here on the Living Social deal be prepared to be treated like a second class citizen. The food on the first night, which is included on the 2 night deal, was very nice and i have no complaints about this. However there was apparently no smoked salmon or moules marniere as they had sold out (although there were only 3 other couples eating, maybe a saving on their part). So after having such a nice meal on the first night I had high expectations of the morning's breakfast.......wrong!!!!! It was cold, bacon undercooked, slimy egg, beans that had been sat in a pan for a while, sausages not good at all (considering my other half had the sausages the night before and these were lovely). What really had us peeved was that it seemed that other people who were staying and not on the living social deal had massive gorgeous hot looking breakfasts so we were being treated differently.

We actually skipped the breakfast on the second day and left by 8.30am in the morning because it had affected our short break. Hard squeaky bed which was two singles pushed together, plus no wardrobes in any rooms, we checked! Not such a great deal or location after all :(

Only good thing was the open mic night on the Thursday - lovely locals and entertainment, Fiona was particularly fab and hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On arrival was met by sullen member of staff who led us to our room, This was a special occasion and had therefore taken a bottle of champagne to drink in the room whilst getting ready for dinner. So, we needed two flute glasses from the bar, but when we requested these we were told there would be a corkage charge of £10 to pay. We often have weekends away and have never been refused the odd glass or two before. Her attitude left an awful lot to be desired.
Then we asked to change rooms to one that had drawers and a wardrobe, only to be told that none of the hotel rooms had those facilities........not even a coat hanger !!!!
We then decided to take the bubbly to a hotel nearby ( The Swan, at Newby Bridge) who not only gave us glasses but also an ice bucket !!!!
When we asked to see the dinner menu we were given an extensive one which looked very appetising,.....however on telling then we were on the offer this was replaced by a much depleted choice of menu.
The food was very good however....albeit limited choice.
At breakfast time we were offered a full English breakfast, but as I do not like fried food much I asked for poached eggs on toast ...... well !!! he said that is not possible on the offer deal however he would go and ask the chef to make an exception. This was done and I got what I wanted.
The final YOLK was on the next days breakfast when again I asked for poached eggs on brown toast , but when it eventually came....my husband had finished his breakfast and my eggs were on soggy white untoasted bread.
Not a good end to a poor experience. On a positive note the shower was very good and the pub atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawford c, Owner at The Crown Country Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We never normally respond to the very few negative reviews on Tripadvisor, however on this occasion we feel as a team your review deserves a response, to give past and future guests of the Crown a bit feedback from the team here.
Firstly at what point when you were purchasing your Living Social deal did you think you were going on a two night Self Catering break....We are very friendly with our neighbouring Hotel the Swan and they have assured us that they do not allow members of the general public to stroll up and use their glasses for carry outs or the Swan Hotels dinner plates for Tom, Dick or Harry's fish and chip supper bought from the local chippie.
Secondly I can only thank you for saying that the food was very good as was the pub atmosphere, I am pleased you really enjoyed the meal that was included in your Living Social deal.......however, you mention that this was a special occasion for you both, but your food and drink bill for your entire two day stay for both of you was only £4.65.
I think by now the general public using Tripadvisor to plan their next getaway, possibly at the Crown at High Newton will be coming to the same conclusion as I did when reading your review...... The only real negative point you have made is that you couldn't bring your own carry out to the Hotel. If our guests dine with us and have a few drinks at the bar then we have absolutely no problem with them bringing a bottle of wine with them to finish of a great stay with us, However you bought nothing and demanded Champagne flutes on arrival, with guests like yourself we would cease to trade as a Hotel and the economy of our great Country would not be stimulated back into recovery for the benefit of us all.


Lastly.... if you have a look at other hotel booking sites you will see that the staff here at the Crown get the best marks out of all the categories, and the sullen member of staff you talk about is Amy...if you scroll down all the very good reviews posted beneath yours you will see the praise she gets from other guests who have had a great time at the crown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Newton
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
456 reviews
3.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
363 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,064 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Country Inn

Property: The Crown Country Inn
Address: Newton-in-Cartmel | Grange-Over-Sands, High Newton LA11 6JH, England (Formerly The Crown at High Newton)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > High Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in High Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing