We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay and sirloin steak .....”
Review of Belmont Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meigle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmont Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meigle
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Belmont Arms on a Monday night and had a very warm welcome. The double room was more that satisfactory and had a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a large modern en-suite bathroom.
The restaurant service was good and the dinner menu was well balanced. I had a sirloin steak which was superb and the chicken burger also comes highly recommended.
In fairness there could be a little updating to be done but for £90 including dinner, bed and breakfast I thought it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a good double with large modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NDB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

Went here for lunch not knowing what to expect, what we found was a bit of a throw back to the seventies but not seventies prices. I ordered a pork loin dish which sounded good on the menu ,when it came the plate was loaded with chips and three very thinly sliced small pieces of pork which were really bland ,there was also a very small ammount of salad.This cost 9.95 for virtually a plate of chips . Not surprising the place was quiet.
Wouldnt rush back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I'm writing this because the Belmont Arms is about a half mile from our offices (between Newtyle and Meigle).

The location map that Trip Advisor shows is totally and completely incorrect. In fact, it is materially misleading and could confuse people trying to find it. Also all the "nearby" facilities etc. are completely wrong. Trip Advisor for reasons known only to itself places the Belmont Arms in Arbroath - about 27 miles away from it's actual location.
Its telephone number is (I believe):
01828 640232 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              01828 640232      end_of_the_skype_highlighting
And Postcode: PH12 8TJ
For all those people wandering lost through the streets of Arbroath trying to find this hotel!

Just set rating to average as I haven't stayed at or eaten in the hotel for a couple of years.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyricaGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

As a family we have visited the restaurant on several occasions when visiting our daughter at university in Dundee. A hidden gem. High tea menu is excellent and the selection of "goodies" is surperb. Definitely a place to visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Couple_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We booked in for five nights B&B having lunched here previously and enjoyed the experience. For 3 nights we were the only guests which felt as though we had our own personal hotel complete with chef. This was at one time the hotel serving the Alyth Halt, a busy railway junction and in some ways it was reminiscent of The Railway Children, the room was fine and in keeping with the style of the building, four poster bed, TV, tea/coffee making and a large bathroom with a spa bath. The huge gardens were a delight and children would love this area, sadly we never saw a child in the hotel during our stay, probably due to the fact that most passing traffic, tourists in particular, would never guess the gardens existed purely due to the fact that there was no obvious roadside signage to advertise the facility. As an example a small chalk written board proclaimed the availability of a three course lunch for £11.50, this was the only indication for those travelling from the Dundee direction that food was available. In fact the food on offer was really very good and I feel sure that many visitors would have stopped off had the been aware that they didnt have to eat a three course meal,and that they could eat in the beautiful gardens, a missed opportunity I would guess, no mention of the superb Scottish High Tea available either.The staff were both efficient and friendly and I couldnt help but feel that with a little more attention to the "on site" marketing this little hotel would have been a hub of activity. For us the loneliness attached to being virtually the only guests was just a bit off putting and I doubt if we would stay again, however we shall most certainly return for the kitchen alone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank plouigno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Arms Hotel

Address: Alyth Junction, Meigle PH12 8TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Meigle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meigle
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Meigle amidst the stunning scenery of the Strathmore Valley on the borders of Angus and Perthshire, The Belmont Arms Hotel has welcomed travellers and tourists for over 150 years. Originally established as a Coaching and Posting House, where Alyth to Dundee coaches would change horses and passengers take refreshments, the Belmont Arms today continues to offer dining, drinking and overnight guests a warm and friendly welcome.The Belmont Arms has a well deserved and growing reputation for great food. Family run, this restaurant gives off a lovely homely feel. Bar and lounge available for drinks also with a pool table to use. Restaurant offers a small lunch menu consisting of Panini's and light bites. Evening menu consists of traditional home-cooked pub grub food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing