We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, great host and breakfast but poor rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlethorpe Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Fylingthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great host and breakfast but poor rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Sept 2012 for 3 nights with my partner.
Good points:-
1) location great.
2) The host was fab and she had put a lot of attention to detail with the running of the guest house, like providing torches.
3) She also recommended great places to visit and great eating locations.
4) breakfasts where amazing! Mushrooms best I've ever had, the whole meal was perfect and loads to eat- that's Aga's for you!

Poor points.
1) we had a room at the back with no views and it was too small for 3 nights, the bathroom was less than 1LM wide- not good for elbows! The sink you couldn't use due to a shelf above it- no room to wash your face or bend over, you had to open the door!
2) As our room didn't have a view the host made up for it in the dining room with amazing view of the harbor and her garden, problem was the table you didn't get to yourself you had to share, which made both parties uncomfortable and you where forced to make small talk- not good if you wanted alone time.
3) Sadly the room had really poor hygiene, the bathroom had areas of black mould around the shower area. The room was very dated and the worse thing of all which really creeped both me and my partner out was there was hair everywhere and it wasn't ours! My partner used a face towel and when I looked at him attached to his stubble was a long ladies black hair! Nasty! They where hairs on the shower walls and I found 5 different types in the bed! We hoped this was a one off as the hosts husband was on holiday at the time and we thoughts she may of been struggling with a full house.
After reading all the great reviews we where really excited to be going, but left disappointed regarding the hairs and the hard bed. Such a shame as the breakfast was amazing! And would of gone back for that alone! Such a shame.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

First visit to this area in decades. The guest house is in a fantastic position on the hilside overlooking the village of Robin Hood's Bay with great sea views from the upstairs bedroom. Really clean. Andy and Wendy have almost completed the refurbishment of the rooms, not that they needed it. Room 4 was large, airy, and light having 2 windows. Well decorated. TV and drinks making facilities. Onsuite is small but quite adequate. Breakfasts are very good, fruit, cereals yoghurt, actmel drinks, followed by a Yorkshire cooked breakfast of your chioce then toast if you wanted to pop some in the toaster. Andy and Wendy were helpful hosts. Followed their recomendations for places to eat. If you like Blues music then Tuesday night at the Grosvenor hotel is the place to be. Steve Phillips plays there. ( Toured with Mark Knoppfler from Dire Staits) a great evenings entertainment. Lots of good walking to be had in the area along the Cleveland way and if you like it less demanding the cinder trail, a defunct railway track. We were lucky to pick up a three nights for two winter deal making it very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnDiveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Perfect get away from it all. Small but perfectly formed guest room with huge amazing view. Large and tasty breakfast and friendly hosts. Lovely seating in garden beside fish pool perfect for an evening of peace and traquility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallenangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our second visit to Middlethorpe Guest House and both Wendy and Andy made us more than welcome. We chose the same room, which has fantastic views over Robin Hoods Bay, breakfast as always was excellent, nothing being to much trouble.
Wendy even booked a restaurant for us after hearing we hadn't managed to get a booking on our previous visit.
There is only one down side and that is outweighed by the fantastic views and it is the steep hill that it sits on, but that is par for the course in this part of the country.
A really enjoyable stay and we will be back again soon...

Room Tip: If you want sea views ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberl3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Based on the earlier reviews I had expected more. It was good but not more than that. The room was big and the view was great. The tap in the bathroom was annoying (could hardly close it especially with wet hands) and after the first day we did not receive new supply of biscuits. The jam and marmelade with the breakfast was standard stuff in small packages. The breakfast was served in a very small room with two tables and view to the rear (sheep). I have also tasted better cooked breakfasts. We hardly saw the owners during our stay (3 nights) and when we wanted to pay the cash machine did not accept foreign cards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGL_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly owners, great location and fantastic view. Breakfast was home-cooked and delicious, and plenty of it. Disappointed not to have a sea view but for the price I paid it was very good value, plus there was a great view from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

On arrival we received a warm friendly welcome. Our room (room 4) was a lovely bright room with a fantastic panoramic view across the countryside and Robin Hood's Bay. Importantly, the room was clean and tidy as was the whole guest house. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices available. We hope to stay here again in the future and are happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fylingthorpe
0.8 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
3.2 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 31 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thorpe Green House
Thorpe Green House
#5 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Guesthouse

Property: Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Address: Sledgate Farm, Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay > Fylingthorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fylingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Middlethorpe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing