We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy Eco friendly magic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Boggle Hole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Boggle Hole
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trendy Eco friendly magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent a night here whilst walking the Cleveland Way. This is a hidden gem. Staff were ultra friendly and helpful. Very good value food. Nice layout with the 'cabins' all individually decorated. A fantastic secluded location. Clean tidy bright and airy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BazB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    65
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
104
47
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sutton in craven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

just spent two nights here.Setting very atmospheric in a secluded cove.Cabins as the rooms are called were very clean and beds comfortable.A hearty breakfast set us up for the day and the evening meal we had was good.The staff were friendly and always helpful.One minute from the beach,fifteen minutes walk from Robin Hoods Bay and about seven mile to Whitby along the Cleveland Way.Well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My second stay here and it gets better and better! I dragged my brother and sister-in-law here because I knew they and their three kids would love it. We had two family rooms and both were clean, comfortable and warm. We arrived in thick fog and didn't fancy driving out again to eat. Despite the short notice and shortage of staff they let us order eight meals which came on time and were delicious. The four kids aged 5 to 14 had a great time exploring around the hostel and making friends. The next day the sun was shining and the tide out so we were able to walk to Robin Hood's bay looking for fossils on the way. I love this place and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just wish we'd stopped when our lad was a kid, absolutely brill location on the back of the cove with Robin Roods Bay quarter of an hour away across the beach & rock pools.
Hostel was warm when it was perishing outside, room was snug & the kitchen worked once you found your way round the cupboards.
The pirate boat theming worked well, sure I spotted Johny Dep serving breakfast!
Great coastal walks, Ravenscar via the coast & return on the old railway track was the highlight. Don't miss the seals...& deer....&

Just bear in mind the walk down from the parking, we ended up leaving the bikes up there. Busses go through Fylingthorpe, 20 mins on foot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely friendly clean hostel with great food. family room or dorms simplicity itself but warm clean and cosy. vegetarian food wonderful. ordered the same meal as last time in scarborough- veggie lasagne and it really tasted like the chef would happily eat it herself at home. walks from the hostel along coastal path. great coffee and beautiful peaceful place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helios504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is magical arriving at the hostel and walking down a dark lane to get to it- but as previous reviewers have mentioned it would not have been so good if I had a buggy or mobility problems and it wasn't clear on the site. This would be such a great place to take primary school age kids, with the pirate theming and a fantastic location. We were there with our teenage son and for us the annex wasn't the best place to be- if I went again I would call and only stay in the main house. The two bedded rooms are very small and the main problem we had was very, very noisy pipes/water heating which continued all night. Also, one of the things we like about hostels is the games and the beer from reception etc- there is a lounge in the annexe but hardly any cups or glasses and only some baby toys.

Room Tip: Pack light for one night so you don't have to lug a big bag down the hill and up again- and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcallister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very helpful, friendly staff- lovely relaxed atmosphere - our 3 bedded room was cosy with a double bed and sea view - very child welcoming - lots to do - one minute stroll to the beach, 20 minutes along the beach to Robin Hood's Bay, 10 minute drive to Whitby, its historic Abbey, church, pier and Fortune's kippers. Further up the coast there's the fishing village of Staithes. Be aware the hostel car park is a pleasant 5 minute walk up from the hostel. A great place to stay for those who enjoy the sea, the beach, walks, historic places and hostels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fylingthorpe
2.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#1 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
11.2 mi away
YHA Dalby Forest
YHA Dalby Forest
#17 of 27 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.6 mi away
YHA Helmsley
YHA Helmsley
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Boggle Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Boggle Hole

Property: YHA Boggle Hole
Address: | Mill Beck, Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4UQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay > Fylingthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fylingthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Boggle Hole 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahoy there, YHA Boggle Hole is back and better than ever after a £1.2million renovation! If you're looking for UK beach breaks, activity breaks or just accommodation near Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay, YHA Boggle Hole could be just the place. Tucked away in an old smuggler’s cove, our lovely Old Mill will delight and inspire you. After our eight month refurbishment, you can now: Stay in our new Crows Nest annexe - an environmentally friendly timber frame building looking directly out to sea. Use our versatile new Boat Shed space for meetings or activities, perfect for locals or group trips. Relax with our new The Brigg overflow dining room's stunning sea views - fab for sipping those sundowners on! Enjoy an improved main hostel with pirate-themed decor, a cosy woodburning stove and great catering facilities. Have a coffee or an ice cream in our fun Quarterdeck cafe - now open for business to guests and the public. YHA Boggle Hole is perfect for family breaks. Children will love our treasure trails, dressing up clothes and toys as well as making new friends. Grown-ups will love the relaxed atmosphere and have peace of mind knowing that the children are safe and happy. You will find time to read that much-anticipated book. You will spend some great quality time together. You will smile more and you will play more. Pirates, spooky trails, hobby horses, we’re not going to tell you everything; you will have to come and explore for yourself! This iconic Youth Hostel will provide a traditional UK coastal holiday beside the seaside, so building sandcastles, fossil-hunting and paddling are in, while mobile phones and Playstations are out. You’ll also have the chance to explore the Yorkshire Heritage Coast and delightful villages along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Boggle Hole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boggle Hole Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing