We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely charmazing!!!!”
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely charmazing!!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

what can i say about this inn? absolutely fab!!! we were their for a very special 90th birthday for our mum. the staff were brilliant in making the room look amazing. the buffet was absolutely delicious and the staff were always attentive for our needs. they really helped to make it run smoothly. ask and they were there. the gardens were lovely and we were able to sit outside in the sunshine and a member of staff, adam i think, took a lovely photo of us from somewhere above!!! priceless. my room was very spacious and clean and had everything i needed in there . the rooms are all around a lovely courtyard and the gardners were in there tackling the dreaded weeds. my bed was made every day, bins emptied and tea and biscuits replenished. towels replaced. breakfast, what can i say. you will never want to eat for the rest of the day. everything you want and plentiful. and of course delicious especially the full english which is what i had but the rest looked good too. the staff were always very attentive and would get whatever you asked for. smiling all the time and very friendly. great service from all the staff. thank you all for making my stay so pleasurable. i will definitely visit again and recommend you to my friends and family.

Room Tip: choose your own. south side quieter, corner suites large and sunny or higher floors have less A/C un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I am pleased to see all the team delivered as expected. I am pleased you had a fantastic time and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.Kind regards Peter and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    236
    126
    81
    44
See reviews for
138
322
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pub looks nice from the outside.. Dinner was good. Wine also. However rooms very tired and need massive refurb. Begrudged the fact i needed to phone reception about non existent wifi and phone clearly not been cleaned in years! Breakfast was scarey.. Food was ok but service not the best and staff quite strict and unwelcoming. Luckily we don't have conferences in barnstaple very often!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing Cedars for your conference. I can assure you we are updating our rooms on an ongoing basis. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed in Many places and this hotel is a great disappointment, on arrival the reception was dirty with all paint Chipping's on the floor, .. Finally got a room key, we stayed in the pub not the hotel, omg pictures say it all, the hall is grubby and dirty, the carpets are stained including the chair outside our room, the ceiling paper is falling off , we got to our room and it stank of carpet freshener, one small window that is black with dirt we opened to breath..... The bathroom is dated and needs updating, mould in room and bathroom see pictures. We paid £100 per night, I am appalled, it should be £45 per night max. We had dinner In The restaurant, my husband asked the waitress what table was ours she showed him, he came and got me to find the table was given to someone else, we ordered dinner, the meal was great other than I asked for pepper sauce and was given mushroom. The service was terrible, we ordered a bottle of wine, the waitress plonked it in front of us unopened and no wine cooler and then abandoned us. The manager came he gave us cutlery for our soup as we had none and got us a wine cooler. Dessert was fine. Breakfast was good other than you get told, toast over there , you need to cook it yourself, we got served coffee to be told milk is by the toaster if we wanted it. The service in this hotel is disgusting. If it has stars which I need to see they should be downgraded and I will write with my complaint if they do have stars. First and last visit cedars, what you see is not what you get, be warned when booking. The second night in the dining room we ordered wine , it never came, ordered lasagne it was burnt stuck to the dish and was tasteless. Customer service yet again non existent. Never again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are acting upone your feedback to make constant improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sticklepath hotels

San Luis de Sabinillas, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

All the staff including the manager who carried my case up the stairs for me, they were so helpful and very friendly. Very comfy and clean room, lovely breakfast I would highly recommend this hotel. The grounds are lovely around the hotel and its not too far from Barnstaple or Braunton.

Room Tip: If you stay in the main building there is no lift but the manager carried my case to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your review. I am pleased to see the work that has been completed in the grounds has been noticed. We invest time and money in team training and I am pleased to see my team delivered again on this occasion. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here last night as I was working away in Barnstaple
Found this hotel on the internet and very please
Wonderful food and quality breakfast (great staff and hard working Eric)
Great feel to the place and very comfortable
I had room one which was very spacious with a great bed
Disappointed with bathroom, dated and being integral with no window
Drain smell, clean but needs money spending on it

I will stay again in the future

Thank you

Brian (Lancashire)

Room Tip: As above only stayed in bedroom one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundtable187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedars Inn barnstaple. I am pleased that you have discovered us and would like to assure you that we are undergoing work to improve our bathrooms, this is an ongoing project. I will ensure I pass on your comments about service to Eric and the team. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

today i met up with my son, his partner and a friend along with my teenage children to have something to eat and a couple of drinks as it was a beautiful day, we sat outside at the entrance to the hotel. food was ordered and in fairness it arrived sharpish and hot, i asked the waitress for cutlery when she put the food down and her reply was ' its inside help yourself' - 1st bad point. so we left the food on the table and went inside to retrieve cutlery. this in itself was poor customer. My daughter ordered a lasagne which was unedible due to being full of cheese ( and trust me we like cheese but this was more cheese than anything) we attempted to get a waiter who kept walking past trying to find other tables with food that seemed to be walked around the gardens before being claimed by its owners, anyway we gave up as we were ignored, our dessert came out over an hour after the main course and our dirty dishes were still on the table, i couldnt believe it when the waitress tried to put one of the plates on top of the dirty dishes from previous. She only stopped when i said 'really' and then she tried to push it to the side which was impossible due to the amount of dirty dishes on the table, so my daughter ended up holding the sweet on her lap while she eventually cleaned up half of the dishes, i told her about the lasagne and she said why didnt you come find us, my reply was that it was THEIR job to come and check on customers not ours to run round finding staff, then she replied I DONT LIKE CHEESE, !!!!!!!!! and took the plate away but didnt return to let us know about our complaint, or clear rest of the table. I eventually found another waiter and told him and he said it was a new member of staff and that was it, so i had to push and say that that was not an excuse and that the food was awful as 3 of us tried it and said it was inedible, so i asked him to inform the manager as i was not happy with the responce so far, 5 minutes later he asked me to the till and i was given a refund. Im sorry but the damage had been done. Customer service was lacking and food was awful - we most certainly will not be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your food at the Cedars on this occasion. I am pleased to see my duty manager dealt with this and refunded your meals. I have taken on board your comments and will ensure all team members are telling guests were to pick up cutlery and sauces for the outside. We do offer full service in the Restaurant, but not in the gardens, as displayed on all the large bar blackboards. I will pass on your comments to our suppliers with refference to the amount of cheese used to top the lasagne. Kind regards Peter and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having stayed in March and enjoyed our visit we booked again in June.staff were less friendly,thehotel neededsome general tlc, dinner was mediocre and service poor but breakfast wasgenerally good. It has such potential but in this instance was poor value. We will look elsewhere in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
As you will know from your previous visit to the Cedars, this is not the normal standard. We have employed a team of gardeners and maintenance staff to inprove the grounds. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
6.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Property: Cedars Inn
Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing