We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedars Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
226
253
135
90
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
253
135
90
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingold englishupstairs roomlovely mealwedding receptionstayed one nightsuperior roomfollowing morningbed was very comfortablehigh standardfull englishshort breakplenty of parkinga lovely stayrestaurant staffcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 753 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is no 5 star hotel but gives such fantastic value for a one night stay. The bedrooms are in a block of rooms a slight walk away from the main building and you can get wet walking through for food etc. However, the bedrooms are fine with big beds and excellent bed linen. Breakfasts are okay. Bed and breakfast at £20 each is such excellent value. Will certainly use again when visiting Barnstaple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

It is good to see you enjoyed your stay at the Cedars and I would like to thank you for giving us your review. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Such friendly staff, all were really friendly and extremely helpful. Great value for money, the food was filling and delicious- just what we needed after a day of surfing in the cold January sea! Room was comfy and clean. Will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanni82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review following your stay with us at Cedars and we all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Firstly don't be fooled by the picture. The accommodation is not in the main building but in single storey outbuildings. These are adequate, warm enough and clean. Meals were very average but my main criticism was that on the second morning we stayed the service at breakfast was farcical. there were not enough staff to keep up with demand and many food items ran out or were not available. I wanted a full English (only choice left) from the self service breakfast bar and there was only bacon and beans to choose from. A party of five ended up with one slice of toast between us and we only got that because the table next to us shared with us. We waited a long time for a coffee because staff were rushed off their feet. It seemed that everybody came down for breakfast at the same time but as this was at the end of the breakfast period it was surely obvious what was going to happen. No apologies just defensive excuses. When I complained on departure we should have been compensated at least. We didn't really get breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cedars. Breakfast is served until 10am each day in the Restaurant and until 12 in the bar area. We do not ask guests to book at time slot for breakfast, as we do not want to dictate what time guests must eat. From time to time this does result all guests coming down at the sames time. I am shocked that you said you did not have a choice on breakfast items and left without a full breakfast. My team will always get additional items for our guests as demand disctates. I will take on board your comments and will ensure this does not happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A double room for £50 including breakfast was a steal for an overnight stay at the Cedars Inn. The receptionist who received us lovely, very friendly and timely too. The bed and pillows was extremely comfortable, room was warm and just perfect for us. We were impressed with the layout of the room too. There was a lovely writing desk, a surprisingly comfortable sofa and table with kettle, tea, hot chocolate, tea, coffee etc standing next to a wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a shower but no bath which was rather disappointing as the Mrs was looking forward to a long bath which never materialised. The shower had an E-rating of 8, yes 8 it was a great shower with a wonderful water pressure. I loved it to bits. Now to the food. We were worried about the food before arrival as there had been some cruel reviews about it but we found nothing, absolutely nothing wrong with our food. Our food was tasty and cooked to perfection as we didn't even had to add salt to taste or pepper to spice. We were allocated a dedicated waitress who served us but we had others helping anytime we needed something or checking to see if we were okay. Though there were some minor errors, we could not fault both the food and the service we received. Breakfast was great too and we will gladly recommend Cedars Inn to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review about Cedars. I am pleased you enjoyed the food, service and your room. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked a double room 3 nights in advance. The room rate of £45 inc breakfast was a really good deal as the 'standard' tariff was £80. The room was warm (a tad too warm, actually) & bed comfortable & the bathroom acceptable, although the mirror was cracked in one corner and the shelf under it was also cracked from side to side. We could faintly hear the next room's TV through the wall but it did not disturb us (we didn't have ours on). Most rooms are in separate blocks; fortunately, ours was closest & reached via a covered walkway, as it was raining heavily most of the time.
We had an evening meal & took advantage of the fixed price menu, which was very good; we shared a starter & had the same fish course, which was nice & tasty. The service for both dinner & breakfast was prompt, despite there being a large party of ladies having a 'girls night out' in the evening. The breakfast choice was wide & excellent value as it was included in the price. The waiter was friendly & chatty, but not intrusive.
At this price, we were very pleased - I would have been less impressed with £80!

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the hotel in inclement weather.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Cedars, I will pass on your comments to the team. I would like to thank you for pointing out the maintenance issue - I will have this resolved. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews