We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Firstly don't be fooled by the picture. The accommodation is not in the main building but in single storey outbuildings. These are adequate, warm enough and clean. Meals were very average but my main criticism was that on the second morning we stayed the service at breakfast was farcical. there were not enough staff to keep up with demand and many food items ran out or were not available. I wanted a full English (only choice left) from the self service breakfast bar and there was only bacon and beans to choose from. A party of five ended up with one slice of toast between us and we only got that because the table next to us shared with us. We waited a long time for a coffee because staff were rushed off their feet. It seemed that everybody came down for breakfast at the same time but as this was at the end of the breakfast period it was surely obvious what was going to happen. No apologies just defensive excuses. When I complained on departure we should have been compensated at least. We didn't really get breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cedars. Breakfast is served until 10am each day in the Restaurant and until 12 in the bar area. We do not ask guests to book at time slot for breakfast, as we do not want to dictate what time guests must eat. From time to time this does result all guests coming down at the sames time. I am shocked that you said you did not have a choice on breakfast items and left without a full breakfast. My team will always get additional items for our guests as demand disctates. I will take on board your comments and will ensure this does not happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 704 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

A double room for £50 including breakfast was a steal for an overnight stay at the Cedars Inn. The receptionist who received us lovely, very friendly and timely too. The bed and pillows was extremely comfortable, room was warm and just perfect for us. We were impressed with the layout of the room too. There was a lovely writing desk, a surprisingly comfortable sofa and table with kettle, tea, hot chocolate, tea, coffee etc standing next to a wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a shower but no bath which was rather disappointing as the Mrs was looking forward to a long bath which never materialised. The shower had an E-rating of 8, yes 8 it was a great shower with a wonderful water pressure. I loved it to bits. Now to the food. We were worried about the food before arrival as there had been some cruel reviews about it but we found nothing, absolutely nothing wrong with our food. Our food was tasty and cooked to perfection as we didn't even had to add salt to taste or pepper to spice. We were allocated a dedicated waitress who served us but we had others helping anytime we needed something or checking to see if we were okay. Though there were some minor errors, we could not fault both the food and the service we received. Breakfast was great too and we will gladly recommend Cedars Inn to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review about Cedars. I am pleased you enjoyed the food, service and your room. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked a double room 3 nights in advance. The room rate of £45 inc breakfast was a really good deal as the 'standard' tariff was £80. The room was warm (a tad too warm, actually) & bed comfortable & the bathroom acceptable, although the mirror was cracked in one corner and the shelf under it was also cracked from side to side. We could faintly hear the next room's TV through the wall but it did not disturb us (we didn't have ours on). Most rooms are in separate blocks; fortunately, ours was closest & reached via a covered walkway, as it was raining heavily most of the time.
We had an evening meal & took advantage of the fixed price menu, which was very good; we shared a starter & had the same fish course, which was nice & tasty. The service for both dinner & breakfast was prompt, despite there being a large party of ladies having a 'girls night out' in the evening. The breakfast choice was wide & excellent value as it was included in the price. The waiter was friendly & chatty, but not intrusive.
At this price, we were very pleased - I would have been less impressed with £80!

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the hotel in inclement weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Cedars, I will pass on your comments to the team. I would like to thank you for pointing out the maintenance issue - I will have this resolved. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A party of us went to the Cedars to have a family gathering after a funeral, and found it a very pleasant and helpful place to visit. We had plenty of room to ourselves and were given quiet help with ordering food and drinks, and were not pressured in any way. The staff were unobtrusive but there when needed. It was just what we required.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am very pleased to see my team looked after you. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed one night with my 9 year old daughter in a twin room. Great welcome at reception on the Friday evening. Room clean and comfortable ( and nicely warm giving the bad weather outside). Conservatory restaurant was very nice, breakfast was lovely and cooked breakfast was fantastic - set us up for the whole day! Staff were all very friendly. At £50 was good value, as local travel lodge/premier inn was offering same price with no breakfast at the time of booking. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBTSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. I will pass on your comments to the team, as they like to see that guests have had a nice stay. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Took the grandchildren for a Sunday carvery a month ago. The Cedars is usually OK for the money but most disappointing this time. Yorkshire puddings needed a steak knife to cut them and sprouts and roast potatoes way overdone. Must admit nobody else in the place seemed bothered and we did not complain but completed an online questionnaire on the 4th december reporting the above and invited a response but have still heard nothing...so don't bother. (Normally the only difficulty with the Cedars is booking a table by phone which is either not answered or the left message ignored.) Does Old English Inns know how to communicate with customers?
It will be some time before we return which is a pity as it is very convenient to us.

Room Tip: We did not stay so give a minimum rating for the rooms so that TA will accept this entry; we only us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

I am very sorry to see you had a problem with your carvery. I do wish you had mentioned this at the time, as we would have exchanged your meal. We have worked very hard on making improvements on our carvery and we have had some very posative comments. We also serve on a Sunday evening following requests.
Our on line guest service comment cards are reviewed daily and any guest requesting a call back are completed by myself and I am not sure why yours did not show a call back required. I welcome feedback both posative and constructive, as this assists with making improvements.
One improvement we have implemented is the reception being manned from 9am to 8pm every day so call can be answered as quickly as posible, occasionally we do not capture every call as we have 6 lines comming in to reception, please accept my appolagies if we missed your call. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recommend the Cedars, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant, staff were really good and the breakfast in the morning was very good. Rooms are a bit tired, but a good bed, lots of hot water and good towels. Very convenient for Barnstaple and the coast.

Room Tip: an upstairs room is better than the ground floor. Look out for offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillmanHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Cedars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am please to see you enjoyed your stay with us and also had the chance to visit the lovely North Devon coast. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
6.1 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range: $88 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing