We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done The Cedars!”
Review of Cedars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedars Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sticklepath B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well Done The Cedars!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just attended a beautiful wedding at The Cedars Inn. We all had a lovely day. The couple where so relaxed and happy, knowing that their every need had been catered for and even we as guests were made to feel special by the staff and all who looked after us. The meal, (especially the roast beef) and the surroundings were a treat and as we loved it so much we came back a few days later and had a meal in the restaurant and had the same attentiveness and curtsey shown to us. Well done The Cedars and all the staff, we are now committed regulars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilaandbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    232
    124
    79
    44
See reviews for
136
316
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Cedars hosted our Quiz/Dinner the day before our charity bike ride. The communication was good, the service prompt and friendly and I have recieved no poor comments from any of the 130 attendees. I found the whole experience to be well run and managed by the Cedars team. The Cedars having finished our evening around midnight, then hosted a business breakfast the following morning at 7.00, which again went without a hitch and good food and service
Thanks to the Cedars Team

Room Tip: Did not use rooms as we live very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent visit to our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned as guests from a lovely wedding and reception at the cedars. The whole experience was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful the food all arrived at the same time and was nice and hot. Our bed was really comfy with great quality linen. Our cooked breakfasts were served promptly and the choice was very good . we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetDLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have stayed at the Cedars several times over the years and can agree with the room comments voiced by previous comments, this time we stayed in Room 6 and this was probably one of the better rooms we have stayed in at the Cedars. Breakfast was a little chaotic, they appeared understaffed, although the staff on duty were friendly and did their best, however the fresh fruit had run out and there were no yoghurts.
BUT do you really have to have a fully illuminated christmas tree in the reception in September..noooooooo!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMC364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Came for a lovely meal and my food was ok but my partners was cold. Had to be returned. I had finished mine and partner still waiting. No apologies or offer of a drink. Just poor service. Won't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianbarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent meal at the Cedars.
I am sorry that you experienced such poor service and food quality.
I can assure you that action is being taken to ensure that this does not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sticklepath hotels

Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Used as a base for touring Norh Devon,found the staff we had face to face contact with very friendly and helpfull.Stayed in room number 4,room and bathroom very clean during our stay,bed very comfy if a little soft for our liking.Breakfast did vary during our stay,buffet bar generally good,hot breakfast could have done with being warmer.Very very disapointed with the kipper! expected a fresh one,got a "boil in the bag" one and only half of on at that ! During our stay there was no white toast,only brown,as they had run out of white bread ! not very good for an hotel when Sainsbury's was 5mins away,thought someone could have gone and bought a few loaves.Did'nt have a meal in the restraunt,but did have one in the bar area late Sat pm,this again could have been warmer,perhaps this put us off having a meal at night.Did'nt enjoy our stay here as much as other Old English Inns we've used and felt that the front of house staff we're not being supported as much from those behind the scenes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Cedars Inn.
I am sorry that the quality of food was not acceptable. I can assure you that action is being taken to resolve the issues that you identified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Cedars Inn in September for 4 days to visit family and attend a family wedding which we we enjoyed BUT the room where we stayed were full of cob webs and door /Frame to outside at the last count their were 25 spiders in the room also mould on the tiles in the bathroom.
The entrance to our room was up a flight of steep out side steps which was full of birds mess, dog ends and insects/cob webs etc which came in the bedroom no matter how you tried to stop it and was never cleaned,when the wind/rain changed directions the door banged and the bedroom carpet was wet.We even had no heating for a while.All our concerns were mentioned at reception many times but nothing was done.
Dog feaces bags & Nappy bags were out side rooms Urh.The accomodation and general area outside the accomodation area is very unkept, dirty really disappionting to say the least. We ate in the Inn and found that ok also the staff we came across were also great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Cedars Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Cedars Inn. I am so sorry that you found the room and areas around the room so unsatisfactory. I can assure you that we have taken action as a result of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
1.3 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Property: Cedars Inn
Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sticklepath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing