We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile is the right word”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Westfjords
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patreksfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sterile is the right word”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Modern and well-organised hotel where everything works. Pity I was told that the restaurant was fully booked which is a bit of a turn-down when you arrive. Afterwards I saw that the menu was quite expensive, so perhaps good that I had to find an alternative...
For the rest so much Scandinavian efficiency that sterile has become the right word to describe my experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fjord side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    86
    29
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
119
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After some of the other places we stayed on our self driving tour of the West fjords this hotel seemed a little sterile and impersonal. Lots of coach tours and business people rather than the smaller groups we had been interacting with. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, but after the guesthouses we had stayed in this was a reminder that the big world was still out there. Very nice clean room, more than one sitting area and a large dining area. Unfortunately the night we stayed we were told that the dining room would be completely occupied by a tour group and that we'd have to eat elsewhere. We were happy to do that and walked into town where we found a very nice local restaurant. We didn't really notice many other options for staying in Patreksfijordur and this place was fine.

Room Tip: Request a room on the fjord side. I had a lovely view out my window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014 and were not looking forward to it, given our experience with the Foss Hotel Baron in Reykjavik. However, it was as if they belonged to completely different Hotel Groups.

The Staff were fantastic and extremely helpful, adding in local suggestions - such as the best thermal pools in the area, best times to go to the bird cliffs etc. In fact, overall this was probably the best service we had at any hotel in Iceland. the rooms and bed were of a great size and very clean (which one might expect from a new hotel). The view as well looked right out onto the Fjord. Magic.

The downside? Not much going on in PatreksFjordur, but then it was worth staying here for the bird cliffs, red beaches and all round scenery (not to mention the great thermal pool). I too prefer the more rustic, traditional places but then these are thin on the ground in Iceland.

Would definitely recommend. Thank you staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

You won't find four star hotels in Iceland but this was a top notch place to stay. All the rooms are little suites. They have a queen size bed and a small room on the side with a single bed. They also have small sitting area with a couch, chair and a TV. There is a TV in the room with the queen size bed. The bathroom was spacious and modern. A refrigerator was included. We drove from Reykjavik to Patreksfijordur in about 7 hours, stayed here and the next day we left to go back. On the way back we took the ferry instead of driving around the fijords. The town is extremly small and we felt very lucky to have this great little hotel with a restaurant and bar. Breakfast was included.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet, the whole town is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights on tour of West fjords - new, modern, comfy, tea coffee making, large TV with several channels, fridge, small security safe in room. Front facing rooms very close to car parking on main road (but in true Western Iceland fashion not a busy one!). The staff were really lovely and all had that Icelandic great sense of humour. Dinner very nice, breakfast the same. (Although there are a couple of restaurants in town worth a visit!) the hotel is the kind of place you get coach parties and business travellers but it has all mod cons and seems to cope very well and we weren't bothered by any noise or fuss at the foss!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isadorabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Somewhat ordinary. Clean and comfortable. Front rooms have view of fjiord just across the road into town, but back rooms - where we were assigned to make way for a large busload of european tourists- has an unpleasant view of a large pile of rock and dirt and exposed pipe At any rate not too many other choices in this small fishing village. Took advantage of happy hour to have a beer at the bar but headed into town for dinner at a small local restaurant by the harbor to avoid the dining room takeover by the tour group and the tourist prices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howlingbluewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a new hotel, so everything is very clean and comfortable. We arrived at 10pm after driving from the Latrabjarg bird cliffs and they offered to make us some dinner. Good service and a good location in the Westfjords, between Latrabjarg and Dynjandi Waterfall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patreksfjordur
11.1 mi away
Breidavik Guesthouse
Breidavik Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
191 reviews
23.2 mi away
Flokalundur
Flokalundur
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel West
Hotel West
#1 of 5 in Patreksfjordur
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radagerdi
Radagerdi
#2 of 5 in Patreksfjordur
39 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bjarmaland
Bjarmaland
#1 of 1 in Talknafjordur
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Westfjords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Westfjords

Property: Fosshotel Westfjords
Address: Adalstraeti 100, Patreksfjordur 450, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patreksfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Westfjords 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Westfjords is a new 3 star hotel that opened in June 2013 in the small fishing village of Patreksfjordur in the Westfjords of Iceland.The Westfjords are known for its unique and breathtaking scenery everywhere you look. This location is the gateway to some of the greatest attraction in Iceland like Latrabjarg, the largest bird cliff in Europe, Raudisandur beach, Dynjandi waterfall and many other spectacular places in the surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Westfjords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing