We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for those who really want to experience Iceland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patreksfjordur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Bjarkarholt
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place for those who really want to experience Iceland”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We travelled around Iceland quite extensively and found that what really made the trip unique for us was places like this. If you want a 4* hotel you'll probably stay in Reykjavik, but if you want to experience the Iceland that the tourists don't get bussed to, then you'll probably find few places better than this. It's a tiny community, perhaps 10Km from the boat that brings you over to the Westfjords, of farmers and fishermen that are as Icelandic as it gets but aren't especially wealthy so, as you should expect, the accommodation isn't 4*. We found it perfectly clean and tidy, amazing views, and brilliant hosts. Roggi and Heither are amazingly energetic. They're the local guides and seem to know all the walking routes through the hills and valleys in this part of the Westfjords, so they're fantastic hosts if, like us, you're walkers. They provided a great array of food, including fish brought that morning from the local Artic Char fish farm, owned by Heither's father. The meal, in itself, justified the stop over here. The hidden natural hotspring swimming pool near the pool is another amizing find that we'd have driven past, if we'd not stopped here. So, the accommodation isn't flash but the price, for Iceland, makes it great value and we'd certainly be happy to stop there again if we returned to that part of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in this very nice place with the even nicer hosts. Rögnvaldur & Heiða greeted us as we were their own family. We went on a long hike (ca. 22km) on a Saturday and the scenery was magnificent (in spite of a quite a cloudy day) and the guidance gets our full credit.
In the countryside of Iceland you can not expect luxury hotels. All you can ask is friendliness and that everything is clean.
Bjarkarholt met our expectations and well above them.
We did not want to leave :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaulauBirgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The greetings we(me, my wife and three children) got was so warm and kind. It is something we will remember for the rest of our lives.
The house we rented was spotless. Regardless what I read from another traveller who stayed at Bjarkarholt - our experience of everyone at Bjarkarholt was really fantastic.

As a very special benefit it has a really great location. It is close to great sites like Latrabjarg, Raudisandur and Dynjandi the waterfall.

With a swimming pool only 200 meters from the guesthouse it was great after a good day on the road to relax in it and its natural hot pot as well.

I give Bjarkarholt my best score and am looking forward in coming back and try out their hiking trips as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in some fantastic accommodation during our stay in Iceland, but this chalet was the one exception. Some points for the owners to consider:

When your guests have driven all day to get to your accommodation try and greet them with a smile, not a scowl.

If you ask your guests to make up their own beds remember that they will be able to see with their own eyes how stained and musty the duvets, pillows and sheets being offered to them are.

If you want your guests to enjoy the view out of the front window it is best that it is not filthy.

If you want your guests to be able to sleep on the unappealing bedding you have given them it would help if you had blackout curtains fitted to prevent the light coming in.

I'll be back to Iceland but I won't be back to this place. Sorry to have to point out the obvious but people want holiday experiences to make them happy, not depressed. Do not take their custom for granted.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhunabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Guesthose Bjarkarholt is nicely located a few kilometres west of the ferry station of Brjanslaekur and ca. 50km east of Latrabjarg, which is famous for birdwatching.
We booked an apartment for 2 people, with private bathroom. The apartment was basic, but ok. A fresh-up would be nice (carpet and furniture quite old). There is a full kitchen in the apartment, so you can bring your own supplies (closest restaurant 15km away).
Owner Torfi and his daughter and son-in-law were all very friendly and helpful. They tried their best to fix the WLAN which didn't work. Breakfast was brought to our apartment and was good.
For Iceland, the value you get for the price (6600 p.P. incl. breakfast) is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyholzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patreksfjordur
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Westfjords
Fosshotel Westfjords
#1 of 1 in Patreksfjordur
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breidavik Guesthouse
Breidavik Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bjarmaland
Bjarmaland
#1 of 1 in Talknafjordur
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Latrabjarg
Hotel Latrabjarg
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjordur
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radagerdi
Radagerdi
#2 of 5 in Patreksfjordur
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bjarkarholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bjarkarholt

Property: Guesthouse Bjarkarholt
Address: Bardastroend | Patreksfjordur, Patreksfjordur 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjordur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Patreksfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing