We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Travel Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aguinaldo Shrine

Aguinaldo Shrine
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kawit
Attraction details
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Travel Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Aguinaldo Shrine is the national shrine located in the town of Kawit, Cavite where the independence of the Philippines from Spain was declared on June 12, 1898. I've seen this only in pictures several times and passed by this imposing building once when I went to the other parts of Cavite several years back. Now I had the chance of unlimited time to visit this historical place which turned out to be a time travel back to the 19th century. The Aguinaldo Mansion which covers 14,000 square feet in floor area, is the focus of the Shrine. It houses the Museum at the ground floor and a setting of an affluent Filipino home containing old furniture and nationalistic symbols at the second floor. One thing which amazes anyone would be the secret doors and hiding places which used to contain documents and weapons connected with the revolution against the Spanish authorities and the famous balcony where the flag of the Philippines was waved by General Emilio Aguinaldo, the first president of the country. Other interesting features are the water heater, large medicine cabinet, bowling alley and swimming pool. Outside the mansion is the marble tomb of General Aguinaldo, lush greenery, a souvenir shop and Aguinaldo's car, a 1924 Packard limousine. Two more plus : its free admission and guided tour around the mansion

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank csaramir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must for history lovers!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I very much enjoyed it, the very place where independance. was signed, but it was also the home of General Emilio Aguinaldo, who was also the first president of the philippines, from the 1890s all the way to the 1960s. There are alot of secret passageways and if you ask the right person you might get to go all the way up to the watch tower which isn't part of the tour like we did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Best Historical Tour in the Philippines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went there once. I went back to show it to friends.

The Aguinaldo Shrine in Kawit, Cavite, Philippines is one-of-a-kind. It is a mansion made of wood and concrete, and was the home of the first President of the Philippine Republic, General Emilio Aguinaldo, I have always described the mansion as a military tactician's house. If it were built in modern times, one might say James Bond must have lived here. There are escape routes - - - via a wall panel that leads to the ceiling and onto a boat on the river ready to take Aguinaldo to sea, and a stunning underground tunnel (not viewed) accessed by moving a very heavy dining table, where the general can escape via a tunnel that leads to the nearby church. And many more surprises that the guide Antolin Bolivar can tell you of.

There are much too many rooms on the many levels of the house. Try to get to the top level, the tower. The receiving halls are wide and well appointed. The ceiling has a map of the Philippines. I also loved how a "washing machine" was built in those days.

The place is historic, and top government officials lead in raising the Philippine flag from its balcony during Independence Day, for it was on this balcony that Philippine Independence was proclaimed.

While there have been many debates on Emilio Aguinaldo's hero title (rabid Andres Bonifacio believers think Aguinaldo did him in), one can set aside the politics in those days and learn a thing or two about architecture. And of the country's history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Angelito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipa, Batangas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“revisiting the past while enjoying the present...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

my family and I visited the Gen Emilio Aguinaldo Shrine last January 5. It was our way of maximizing the Christmas break by having an "educational trip". the shrine itself sits along the road and its magnificent facade is already a feast to the eye. parking was not a problem as well as the restrooms. there are tour guides to welcome guests...and boy, they sounded like History Teachers!!!...the mansion, which is actually the ancestral house of Aguinaldo offers good architectural visual. I love the way it was constructed with all the "secret" passages between and among rooms. one can definitely feel what kind of people lived in this house -- bowling lanes and swimming pool at the basement, watch tower on the 7th floor, maids' quarter at the attic, a secret "butiki", ice cooler at the kitchen where there is an 8-burner stove ready to cook one entire buffet set up! I was amazed at the ceiling with imprints of the Philippine map and the wood floors that depicted the Philippine flag...too bad we were not able to reenact the raising of the flag at the balcony because the area was restricted... but that's too minute compared to the magnificence of the entire tour. Our last stop was his tomb located at the back, overlooking his car and the manual washing tub and the "chico" tree which the general planted himself. For a FREE ENTRANCE tour of this house, excellent trip is an understatement. Just don't forget to wear comfortable clothes and shoes to make the walking tour worthwhile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriedPretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well maintained historical landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and my friends were just passing thru Kawit area when we decided to check out this shrine. We never thought that it would have an amazing time. This is the ancestral home of the first Filipino president, Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo. This is the site of the first hoisting of the Philippine flag. They have a museum on the ground floor as well as displays of a number of memorabilia of the former president (including his vintage car). The museum is a journey to the Philippines past during our struggle for independence. The second floor is a tour inside the house--the daughter's rooms, secret passages (a number of them), innovative interior designs during that time, the amazing hardwood furnitures, etc.

All I can say is that it is worth a visit and it's FREE! No entrance fees, free tour guides inside the house, etc. If you are passing by the area, please take time to visit it and know our history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank kleomarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aguinaldo Shrine also viewed

Cavite City, Cavite Province
General Emilio Aguinaldo, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Aguinaldo Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing