We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, great location”
Review of Back In Thyme B&B

Back In Thyme B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheet Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back In Thyme B&B
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, great location”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived a little earlier than expected but received a very warm welcome. Coffee was immediately offered and we were invited to relax in the homely comfortable family lounge where we enjoyed convivial conversation with Jeff, Julie and their friends. We had the Apple Blossom room which was very comfortable and the shared bathroom was superbly equipped. The Apple Blossom room is accessed by steep stairs so anyone having problems with stairs should book the Rose Room downstairs which has an en suite. The property, built in the late 1800's is quirky and charming and located right by the East River. Although there is a main road adjacent there is not much traffic and we certainly slept extremely well. We would thoroughly recommend Back in Thyme as a lovely place to stay on the Eastern Shore with hosts who do everything to make you feel at home.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnO_13503828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one night at Back in Thyme whilst travelling around Nova Scotia , and were delighted with the warmth and friendliness of our welcome.
Our en-suite room was on the ground floor and very comfortable. The bathroom was not large, but perfectly adequate.
We spent part of the evening socialising with Julie, Jeff and Matthew, and thoroughly enjoyed their company.
We slept very well in very peaceful surroundings, and were treated to a wonderful omelette created by Jeff for breakfast. A really great start to the day.
If we ever have the opportunity to return to the area, we would certainly be looking to stay at Back In Thyme again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvillecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Room while in Sheet Harbour for a wedding. Our stay at Back in Thyme was excellent. The omlette was the best I ever tasted, our hosts could recommend plenty of activities whenever we needed information, the room was charming, clean, and had a good view of the backyard and nearby river. The day after the wedding our hosts (going above and beyond the call of duty in my book) drove us to the reception hall so we could pick up our vehicle. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to explore east Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: Choose the Rose Room if you are an early riser. It is conveniently located next to the breakfast ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasquatch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had one of the upstairs bedrooms which has a shared bathroom, but Julie explained that she only rents both bedrooms out when 2 couples are travelling together. She has a larger downstairs bedroom but it was not available. We had access to a wide range of DVD's and a very comfortable room. Breakfast was an excellent omelette. House has lots of history in Sheet Harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarniabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay with Jeff and Julie. They were so welcoming and friendly, interested in our trip, ready to help with advice for an evening meal and just letting us treat their house like our home. We slept well and enjoyed a nice home cooked breakfast, for a very reasonable rate. Sheet Harbour is a great location for a one night stop along the beautiful Eastern Shore, with several choices to eat out at evening; on our hosts' recommendation we dined at Henley's on the patio overlooking the water. The thai maple curry was delicious and very nicely washed down with a couple of draught Keith's pale ales. Its a 2 minute drive but we enjoyed the 30 min walk in the evening sunshine. Would stay there again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra_Grindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This B&B was great, it was a last minute decision that was perfect Hosts Jeff and Julie were the pertfect hosts and so friendly. The included breakfast was a real treat and could not have been better. We love B&B,s and have visited a lot around the country and "Back in Tyme" is one we'd gladly use again. George and Judy, Plymouth/Weymouth, MA, USA

Room Tip: Just two rooms. possible 3rd all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great hospitality, very comfortable, breakfast was great. We would recommend Back In Thyme as a good place to stay with geniune Nova Scotia hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheet Harbour
21.3 mi away
Liscombe Lodge Resort and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Sheet Harbour
27 reviews
23.5 mi away
No photo provided
E&F Webber's Lakeside Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Charlotte
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back In Thyme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back In Thyme B&B

Property: Back In Thyme B&B
Address: 22960 Hwy #7, Sheet Harbour, Nova Scotia BOJ 3BO, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Sheet Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheet Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming century home in the heart of the Eastern Shore of Nova Scotia, surrounded by miles of scenic coastline. Enjoy swimming, hiking, and bird watching or admiring the beautiful sunsets. The location is an ideal stopover point between Halifax and Cape Breton with an availability of restaurants and other activities such as hiking at Taylor's Head Provincial Park which guests have claimed to be a hidden gem. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing