We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Great Food”
Review of Camden Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Great Food”
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Stayed one night at the hotel with wife and 2 children (aged 10 & 7). Greeted by member of management who thoroughly explained about facilities.
Shown to family room with 1 double, 1 single and 1 camp bed. Very spacious room , very clean and tidy. En suite included Power Shower.
Ate meal in restaurant. Excellent Food and service
Continental breakfast included in stay (could have had full english for a supplement) . Help yourself which meant we could fill up before our long journey home.
All members of staff were extremely polite and were excellent with the children

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyRam68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    85
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
127
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herts
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel may not look the smartest from the outside, but they certainly make up for it on the inside. All the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The restuarant served a large variety of very good meals with excellent service. The hotel accommodation was new, very clean and provided everything you might expect of a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This was our second visit to the Camden Arms, we first stayed here in October 2007, less than 6 months after it had been refurbished and I think we we paid £80 per night for a 4-poster room. It may have been £75. This time it cost £85 per night for a standard room, which was comfortable and clean but smaller, and rather dark, with a less than ideal view over a rubbish skip. In fact it seems we may have got a bargain rate because the Camden Arms website rate is £95 per night just for a standard room, which we thought was excessive for what is really just a pub with rooms. So the guide rate of £80 on this website is very misleading! I'm quite happy not to have a full English breakfast but for this price it really should be included, but it's £6 extra per person and has to be ordered the night before. Last time we stayed I thought the breakfast was fine for the price we paid, lots of cold meats, cheese, eggs, croissants, but this time there seemed to be less of it - eg grapefruit had run out the second morning, no-one was around to replenish it when we first arrived; the water in the egg boiler was not boiling, we were told it didn't have to boil to cook the egg which is news to me, my boiled egg was too runny even after 5 minutes and I couldn't eat it.

The evening meal was good, very extensive menu, service friendly and quite efficient, I had a bit of an issue with the wine is put on the table and you have to pour it yourself, not invited to taste it which is unusual.

We had problems with the WiFi connection when we arrived, and I see that previous guests have had problems too, but the owner (female half) wasn't very helpful about this. My husband is a systems analyst and he realised it was a technical problem at their end, he managed to sort it for us, but a 'layman' certainly couldn't have done so and I assume other guests will have the same problem. We mentioned it when we paid the bill at the end but again they didn't seem too bothered, and although the staff were friendly enough we weren't asked if we'd enjoyed our stay.

So in conclusion, we had a very pleasant stay but we probably won't stay here again because it's too expensive. I think they're charging hotel prices but are not up to hotel standard. I would recommend it but with reservations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian in Scotland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The hotel is in a separate building to the pub and the rooms are new and very well furnished with very clean modern bathrooms, power showers, fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries.
We stayed for four nights and were very well looked after by the lovely owners and their staff.
The Camden Arms has all the best of a traditional pub and we enjoyed well priced delicious food and wine.
It has a large car park and is a couple of miles to the centre of TW, also great access to explore the surrounding areas.
We have stayed in TW many times before and I'm sorry I hadn't found this hotel sooner, possibly missing it because of the pub name imagining tired bed rooms and creaky bathrooms, none of that here, just first class accommodation!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We only had an overnight stay but wish it could have been longer. The room was clean, nicely furnished and warm on a cold night. The shower room was lovely (power shower), the bed comfortable.

We had our evening meal in the bar - the food was excellent as was the service. We did not wait long for our order even though there was a very large party dining at the same time as us.

The accommodation was quiet and peaceful, there was no audible sound from the bar and certainly no sign or sound of the noisy rottweillers other reviewers have mentioned.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast delicious with lots of choice (we didn't order a cooked breakfast as we were having an early lunch).

The only thing that could have been better was the view from our room. We looked out onto an unkempt garden/yard area which was rather shabby. Wouldn't stop us coming back though! Highly recommended and perfect base for touring the area.

  • Liked — The comfortable room and the location.
  • Disliked — The view from our room.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank QueenieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorodao
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Camden Arms was a terrific stay. We particularly loved the pub - the welcoming fireplace, friendly people and great food. Don't worry about not getting a 'cooked breakfast' - the continental was very complete and included boiled eggs, cheese, meat, and just about anything you could wish for. The rooms are simple and clean. The people were VERY helpful and kind. I think this is a great value for the money. At first we thought - we'd rather be in Tumbridge Wells - but after visiting there and all the hustle/bustle - we just wanted to come home to the Camden Arms and sit by the fire.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank tripdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

To be woken up by a couple of rowdy Rottweilers storming round the garden outside my room at 7-30am didn't impress despite my liking for pets.
Also, like other visitors, I didn't realise until I arrived, that cooked breakfast cost another six quid and had to be ordered the night before ???
The free wi-fi was tempered by it being a very weak slow signal, but on the plus side, the pillows were soft, the reception friendly, and the continental breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
652 reviews
2.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.2 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
271 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Arms Hotel

Property: Camden Arms Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the beautiful village of Pembury, near Royal Tunbridge wells in Kent. Each room has en-suite facilities, and is furnished with top quality bespoke furniture. A warm welcome at our family run hotel is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Camden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Arms
Camden Arms Hotel Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing