We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punchy pricing”
Review of Camden Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Punchy pricing”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms attached to very decent pub serving good reasonably priced food. The cleanliness was lacking with little attention to detail which makes all the difference. Excellent breakfast and welcoming hosts. Cannot help but think £98 for a mid week October room is extremely punchy and probably £15 too much unless there is better quality of cleaning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    87
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
130
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rosslare, Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Carol and John put us up after being let down by so many hotels, I am paraplegic and permanent wheelchair user, who needs a wheel in shower, They took us in even though the room was booked , they went out of their way to help us, will be staying there in the very near future, first class and the only totally wheelchair accessible hotel in all of Tunbridge wells. 5 *
Nick & Michelle maltby.

Room Tip: The disabled room Ideal for anyone in a power chair or manual chair, carol and John will make yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickmaltby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with my brother and his wife, after a family gathering in Speldhurst, We arranged
to meet other relatives here for a meal in the evening and were more than pleasantly served
from an excellent menu. The rooms were very well appointed with ,as far as I could see,
everything you could want, perhaps except a land line 'phone - but then nearly everyone has 'a
mobile' these days !
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby and needed to get access to room early to change following lengthy road trip that morning. Staff were helpful and made sure our room was vacated and cleaned in time for our early arrival - very useful.
Stayed in No 8 room on ground floor extension. Good size room, four poster and shower room. Clean and comfortable with all the facilities you'd need - hair drier, TV, wireless internet, extra pillows. Room was quite and free private parking immediately outside. Considered it good value for money for the two of us at £125 inc. English breakfast.

Room Tip: We found room 8 on the ground floor comfortable, quiet and close to private car park exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel overnight post family gathering. Rooms were fine with reasonable amount of space, standard LCD tv, small bathroom but big shower, usual mod cons. Bed comfortable enough.

Breakfast was the highlight. Great full English and continental options self service with small deli section. And a range of newspapers and helpful staff.

Restaurant I am sure serves good food off the a la carte. Food as part of a function ie mass catering which is what we had (25 people so no a la carte option, had to be pre ordered), not the best quality and bit over priced. Seemed like microwaved food to me.

On the whole staff were excellent, and hotel is decent enough for a night. However it is a bit overpriced and should be more like £70 a night max.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pughio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire,england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a wedding reception.we found the hotel room very comfortable,quite spacious,very clean and the breakfast was buffet style,lovely food.The only reason I gave a four and not a five was the price which I thought a little overpriced but then I do come from the midlands where the same standard of room would be considerably cheaper.The hotel staff were also very helpful and pleasant.I would recommend this hotel if you can afford it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here on a family visit.
My parents had a disabled facilities twin room at the start f the corridor and were very impressed with the wet room facilities.
I found the rooms quite dark including the furniture and the heavy doors ... However everything was provided and very comfortable.
Breakfast was adequate ... I had the porridge and my parents had a very small cooked breakfast. I would have liked a poached egg ...but it was not offered only fried or boiled!
Staff were all very friendly.
We had a family lunch and the service was exemplary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
0.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
857 reviews
3.2 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
274 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Arms Hotel

Property: Camden Arms Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the beautiful village of Pembury, near Royal Tunbridge wells in Kent. Each room has en-suite facilities, and is furnished with top quality bespoke furniture. A warm welcome at our family run hotel is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Camden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Camden Arms
Camden Arms Hotel Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing